We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean modern, quiet & great pillows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porta Felice to your Saves list
Hotel Porta Felice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Palermo
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean modern, quiet & great pillows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the end of our trip of sicily before flying back the hotel was very clean and modern really to come back to after the hustle and bustle of the city. We paid the €15 to use the spa for an hour it's nothing amazing if you're used to sparing but a nice treat if you have a spare hour. Location is fine short walk to all historic city stuff, lots of helpful touristy leaflets and guide books inthe room, and extensive Italian breakfast. Hotel staff were helpful, however one think we learned during our stay in sicily is that they are quite relaxed with timings and prices when you ask how long how far a taxi/bus will take, our taxi to the airport was €52 which although only €7 euro more than the hotel said it would be we only had €60 euros left on us so got a bit anxious watching the fare tick up! Would stay here again if we were in Palermo very clean and modern!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    196
    39
    8
    6
See reviews for
51
264
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

A modern sleek room w modern comfort in the old part of town. Geat breakfast on the top floor. Free wifi but in my room 302 the signal was weak. Very close to the water for nice walk. A bit out of way of touristic convenience but the nice clean room beautifully destined is worth a few more min of walk to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We started our May 2013 Sicily trip in Palermo. This hotel was perfect for our needs. Our deluxe room had a very comfortable bed, pillows, soft sheets, big bathroom, high ceilings.....and most important, it was quiet, none of the hustle bustle of downtown Palermo, but close enough to walk to the main streets, shopping. Great staff. Super massage/spa, which we had after the long flight from california. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great 1 night stay at this hotel. It's conveniently located right at the edge of the centre of Palermo, and yet there was plenty of free parking where we could leave our car. The hotel looks really new, it's sleek and clean, and the same can be said for the room which was quite spacious and comfortable. The wardrobe was probably the largest I have seen in a hotel of this range, and the toilet was great too, with a nice powerful shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We drove from the Palermo Airport to the hotel and, with some help from GPS, had little difficulty in locating Porta Felice. They offer street parking, but, we opted to pay for parking. Room was spacious and modern, with WiFi, though, this worked better in the restaurant. It took some getting used to their security and energy saving system, but, only a small annoyance. Breakfast was standard fare and dinner was very good. Room views from the back of the hotel are non-existent. Noise from cats and birds forced us to keep the windows closed and run the A/C; even then, they can wake you at night. Staff was very helpful and, in particular, Alessandra, who tried to help us locate the birth certificate for my wife's grandfather (born near Palermo). She seemed to take it as a personal challenge, but, unfortunately, we hit a wall without an actual day and month. We were also impressed at her ability to continue helping others, while waiting for assistance on the phone to the Office of Records. Hotel location is very accessible to all sites and restaurants, so, we never used the car until we left for Catania. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location for the night life. The rooms are good and the restaurant has nice food and a good view. Don't bother with the bar, its just the restaurant and it closes early. We had a room facing onto the street but there was no problem with noise as the windows are well insulated. Would go back again.

Room Tip: Head out the door and turn right and go for two blocks to Trattoria Torremuzza for a super Palermo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We looked for a boutique hotel style and this got it. Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms were very nicely done, nothing bad to say at all. Breakfast was very good, as one can expect in Italy, warm cakes etc, and everything else in a very nice breakfast area on the top floor. Location of the hotel was very good, not far from the centre, not far from the seaside. Staff were very good with the exception of the luggage boy who showed us the room, saw our key card didn't work, used his and did not make an attempt to correct it (change it). Didn't bother to complain but these are details that good staff should look at. Bit noisy at the backside, still don't know if were seagulls or cats in love but nothing the hotel could have avoided. We asked for a room change which was granted.

Room Tip: Take rooms as high as you can for less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#9 Business Hotel in Palermo
#11 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele.It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, internet connection, telephone, safe and mini bar.Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments and massages.For meetings there are 2 rooms up to 20 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.