We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Porta Felice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 hotels in Palermo
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We looked for a boutique hotel style and this got it. Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms were very nicely done, nothing bad to say at all. Breakfast was very good, as one can expect in Italy, warm cakes etc, and everything else in a very nice breakfast area on the top floor. Location of the hotel was very good, not far from the centre, not far from the seaside. Staff were very good with the exception of the luggage boy who showed us the room, saw our key card didn't work, used his and did not make an attempt to correct it (change it). Didn't bother to complain but these are details that good staff should look at. Bit noisy at the backside, still don't know if were seagulls or cats in love but nothing the hotel could have avoided. We asked for a room change which was granted.

Room Tip: Take rooms as high as you can for less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    183
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
50
248
18
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff were fantastic, most notably Rjo, Alexandra, Paolo and Fabrizio. We didn't use the spa, but the small roof terrace was nice for relaxing, breakfast was average. There was free wi-fi, but we could only get it on the roof terrace, not in the room. The bed mattress was the hardest we have ever experienced, very uncomfortable! No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and none available after midnight anywhere in the hotel. Good location for walking to nearby attractions. We booked a week in Palermo, but would suggest 3 day stay is enough to see the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

we booked our 4 night stay at Hotel Porta Felice based on the excellent reviews on TA. We were deeply disappointed. Upon our arrival, we were informed that we had to stay our first night at a nearby hotel due to an unexpected incident which made rooms on the 2nd floor not available. Subsequently we found out that we were bumped out in order to accommodate a large tour group. The reception person expressed hotel's desire to compensate for our inconvenience, but declined to offer us the complimentary massage we requested. We expressed displeasure, but the manager never responded to our complaints during the time we stayed at the hotel. The room is large with functional AC and a comfy bed. The bathroom has good shower with plenty of hot water. However, the hotel facility is not up to the standards of a 4 star. During the 3 nights we stayed, one elevator was under repair and the other was malfunctioning. Fortunately we were able to get out of the elevator unharmed. Breakfast was poor, with very limited and basic selection of choices and served in a rather shabby and cramped space. Very slow wifi. Staff at reception was helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela F, Direttore at Hotel Porta Felice, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,
I'm very sorry about these troubles with your stay.
Unfortunately we had a very bad idraulic problem in some rooms, and this is the reason why we moved you in another hotel for one night.
We payed you the taxi transfer to the other 4 stars hotel in order to reduce your inconvenience and I personally offered you (free of charge) a wellness trail of two hours in our wellness club for all of you, and it was a pity that you refused them.
I'm really sorry that you didn't like our panoramic terrace where the breakfast is served every morning.
We're a good and well- reviewed hotel, but we're not perfect !
Please forgive us again for all inconveniences and have a very pleasant return journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We took two double rooms for 3 nights. Helpful staff. Pleasant place for breakfast on the last floor. Nice choice for breakfast, fresh food. Very comfortable beds. Clean, quite spacious rooms. Bathroom with bidet. I would chose exactly same hotel if I go second time :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is small and friendly. The staff are nice and helpful.
Location is great and you can walk anywhere. We had a car and it was easy to find parking in the area. You can manage with a car in Palermo even though some say you can't.
The room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend really enjoyed our few days in this hotel. Location is perfect - walking distance to all the sightseeing. Room was amazingly decorated and really big. Bed was enormous and very comfortable. Breakfasts were really tasty, typical choice of swedish table. Staff that is working over there treated us as if we were in a 5 star hotel ! Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room was very big and comfortable, the room service was delicious, the service was very warm. I would definitely come back. We arrived late in the evening and the hotel went out of their way to make our stay (with an 8-month-old baby) very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#5 Family Hotel in Palermo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele.It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, internet connection, telephone, safe and mini bar.Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments and massages.For meetings there are 2 rooms up to 20 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.