We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Porta Felice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 98 hotels in Palermo
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is small and friendly. The staff are nice and helpful.
Location is great and you can walk anywhere. We had a car and it was easy to find parking in the area. You can manage with a car in Palermo even though some say you can't.
The room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    178
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
49
243
17
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend really enjoyed our few days in this hotel. Location is perfect - walking distance to all the sightseeing. Room was amazingly decorated and really big. Bed was enormous and very comfortable. Breakfasts were really tasty, typical choice of swedish table. Staff that is working over there treated us as if we were in a 5 star hotel ! Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room was very big and comfortable, the room service was delicious, the service was very warm. I would definitely come back. We arrived late in the evening and the hotel went out of their way to make our stay (with an 8-month-old baby) very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staff is helpful and friendly but not assertive at all. Rooms are spacious and decorated with taste. The best part was to have your glass of wine on the rooftop terrace under lemon trees. Breakfast was also exeptional

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILANO
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Porta Felice and it met or exceeded every one of my expectations. They are absolutely deserving of the five star review. The staff is welcoming, friendly and extremely accommodating. Roof garden breakfast was not only scenic but quite good. Other than that, the decor was gorgeous and the room was very clean. Try the spa as well....it is really a dream time to visit this spa and you will leave feeling totally refreshed..... enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Recently stayed here for 4 nights. The facilities of the hotel are very good, although I did not realise that there is a charge of 15 euro per person to use the spa facilities for 1 hour. This came as a bit a shock. The breakfast is ok - but not the best ever. The restaurant food is excellent but a little overpriced - if you go to the local piazza (5 minutes walk) you will find a selection of excellent restaurants where you can enjoy an equally good meal for 20 euro less per couple. The service that the staff provide is excellent however, and they gave perfect directions on how to find the buses we needed for our day trips. The hotel being located about 10 minute walk out of the main city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great choice for a hotel in Palermo, nice modern feel, beautifully decorated and not at all crowded. The location in the old part of the port town is within short walking distance to all the major sights The actual area is a bit seedy and run down but didn't feel unsafe when out at night. There are several great restaurants located nearby and the hotel staff were very helpful in their dining recommendations and making reservations for us. Stayed 3 nights as part of a month long tour of Italy and this was by far the cheapest hotel we stayed in. We booked a suite which was very spacious and well appointed. Everything was exceptionally clean, comfy bed and pillows, well serviced, extremely quiet and no complaints apart from the complicated lighting system which proved impossible to operate. Also on one occasion we returned to find the air conditioning had been turned off (it's controlled by the front desk) however after speaking with them it was immediately turned back on & remained that way for the duration of our stay. The twin balconies (overlooking a back street) weren't really functional as they were far too small to sit out however it didn't matter as we preferred the top floor terrace restaurant for a pre-dinner drink drink which afforded great views over the whole of Palermo. This also doubled as their dining room where we took daily breakfasts - OK but not outstanding. The front desk staff we cannot praise highly enough - they were fantastic. They did everything from handling our reservation personally, providing a concierge service, helping us plan our day trips & making restaurant bookings. They also organised offsite parking for our car and valet service whenever we needed it. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Palermo. The city itself is rich in history, has some great sights especially the cathedral and whilst in the area do visit, Monreale, Segesta, and Erice if you can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#5 Business Hotel in Palermo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele.It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, internet connection, telephone, safe and mini bar.Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments and massages.For meetings there are 2 rooms up to 20 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.