We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porta Felice

Save Saved
You added Hotel Porta Felice to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porta Felice
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed there for 6 nights. It is very close to one of the main streets and is located in the old Palermo (with many nice buildings around). Walking distance (20-30mins) to train station; Palermo Cathedral, Teatro Massimo etc. Hotel staff speak great English (majority of people in Palermo don't speak English...) and are helpful to direct us to the desirable tourism spots. I also have to mention that the hotel provides guests an excellent detailed map for free. The parts that I am not fully satisfied are the free breakfast (which is very very basic) and the cleaningness of the room (no horrible! I give it 75% -- cleaningness of some spots in the washroom are not completely up to my standard).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    186
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
50
251
18
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gulf shores
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Palermo at the end of our three week trip to Italy. The hotel's front entrance is on a back street. Not a problem for us because we were dropped off by a private car. The hotel offeres no parking for rental cars. Once again not a problem for us because of our private car. The lobby and check in was smooth. We booked a suite which was nice. Good bed, auir conditioning, chais, bath, etc. The breakfast is good and is served on a balcony overlooking a city block. It is nice to sit outside and enjoy your breakfast. We ate lunch there one day and the food was good and the view very nice. There are some old buildings in view from the deck and our waiter pointed out that they were old buildings bombed during world war two. I found that to be interesting. I realize that I am reviewing only this hotel but I will say this. This hotel would be great if it was anywhere other than Palermo. There is simply no reason for any tourist to be in Palermo. We were there solely to catch a flight back to Rome and then back to Alabama. Roll Tide.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

After spending more than 2.5 weeks in many places around Italy and Sicily, my wife and I were very impressed with Hotel Porta Felice. If you have spent time in Italy, you know that sometimes finding places is hard. This hotel has many signs on the roads guiding you in, which was a big help. The staff was very friendly and provided many great recommendations of fabulous places to eat. But, a little secret we found was that the hotel's very own roof top restaurant was one of the best places we had dinner. Don't under estimate it. Also, the breakfast spread at this same roof top hotel was great. The rooms are clean and spacious, and very modern for such an old city. Old Palermo is a very dirty city with a somewhat uneasy feeling to walk around in at night, albeit nobody bothered us. It certainly was nice to come back to a nice hotel every night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was the first hotel that we stayed in for one night on our 8-days trip around Sicily. We chose it based on the price and location and were very pleasantly surprised by what we saw.

We were travelling with our friends, overall two married couples. The hotel is located right by the port and close to the churches and oratories of Palermo. It doesn’t offer parking spaces so we had to find parking on the veeery narrow streets around it.

We were given an upgrade but strangely just for 1 room, which was a bit on a downside since there were four of us and we had to choose who gets a better room. My husband and I ended up in a standard room that we originally booked and our friends got a suite.

The rooms were very clean, spacious and modern which is exactly how we like it. Bathroom was also spacious which is convenient. However, there was a bit of mould on the bathtub and no slippers or bathrobes offered.
Another couple of things that bothered us a bit were little or almost no sound proof and air conditioning that was impossible to adjust to maintain the same temperature.
Restaurant on the top floor was cosy but the food that we tried was quite average. There’s a good restaurant next door though.

Overall, we liked the hotel. Staff was very friendly and price-value ratio was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Based on previous reviews we opted for a superior room. It was modern, very spacious and comfortable. Everything is spotlessly clean and there is free wifi. The staff are also very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fine, nothing special.

The hotel is conveniently located, about a 5 min taxi drive (around EUR20 believe it or not) from the central railway station on a quiet street. There are some good restaurants just around the corner in Piazza Marina. The waterfront is also very close although touristy, not particularly attractive and not necessarily great value for money. Attractions such as the Capella Palatina (a must see, but plan your trip as it closes for a few hours during the middle of the day and there are queues to get in) are around a 25 min walk.

Don't even think about taking a car there. Driving is a particular challenge in Palermo and car parking is at a premium.


Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is nicely located in the old part of the town near the old fish market. If you arrive in Palermo by bus, it is only 5 minuts from the central station. It is a new, modern building (or recently renovated) with nice rooms, quite and very convenient.
The staff is very helpful and polite (whereas locals turned out to be very impolite at some cases).
Breakfast is nicely served at the terrace, is quite tasteful, not always the same and they offer local treats.
You have to visit the spa: The best rain showers ever, very relaxing and they offer great massage service!
Overall impression: Very nice hotel, would definitely stay again (but probably would not visit Palermo twice)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Modern hotel near the harbour and in the old quarter of the Kalsa. If you don't like local people and atmosphere: look for another place. But if you like a very good hotel, with all the modern comfort and located in the real Palermo, you're at the right place.
Lovely rooms with balcony, very large bed with pillow choice, well equipped bathroom and a very friendly and helpful staff. Very quiet rooms with a very good sound isolation.
Breakfast is served on the top floor and is okay altough it's typically Italian: a lot of sweet things.
It's lovely to have a drink here (it serves as bar in the evening) before going into town for supper.
Nearby is the Piazza Marina, where you can find some decent restaurants.
Most of the things to see are on walking distance and strolling trough the narrow streets is a real discovery: don't miss the Vucciria market nearby and go back to the 19th century. If you're not afraid, you can try the street food altough sometimes it may look (and taste) disgusting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porta Felice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Felice

Address: Via Butera, 35/47, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Palermo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#10 Business Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porta Felice 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Palermo, in the historical city centre, a few metres from Foro Italico gardens, Piazza Marina, via Alloro and Corso Vittorio Emanuele.It is elegant and welcoming. It was built on the foundations of a XVIII century building and has been completely reconstructed. There are 30 rooms and 3 suites all equipped with satellite tv, internet connection, telephone, safe and mini bar.Breakfast and bar services are located on the top floor on a panoramic terrace from where it is possible to admire the walls of Palazzo Steri and Piazza Marina. The Wellness club, on the ground floor, offers a wide range of relaxing services from a sauna, steam bath, small pool with hydro massage, emotional showers and also many personalized beauty treatments and massages.For meetings there are 2 rooms up to 20 persons and also, on request, there is a guarded parking area nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Porta Felice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Felice Hotel
Hotel Porta Felice Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porta Felice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.