We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Hate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Delfino

Il Delfino
Via Torretta, 80, 90147 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 091 530282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #313 of 1,169 Restaurants in Palermo
Price range: $0 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love Hate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

People either love this place, or hate it... or sometimes both. If you are into heaping amounts of seafood brought to your table without ceremony, then you will go away happy. If on the other hand, you prefer quality seafood, prepared with care, you might prefer one of the many alacart places along the strip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    202
    125
    47
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monza
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pantagruelian!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

As someone has already written, this "only fish restaurant" offers an endless menu, at a very interesting rate (27 € including wine & water, incredible!!), with excellent quality.

Different kind of entrèes, including prawns, fried calamari, and "sarde alla beccafico" (tipical southern dish, with sardines & raisins); three first courses, two main courses (fish "catch of the day", and steamed lobster), and lemon sorbetto as closure.

The only flaw I found it's about the service: all the people were very kind, but a little bit too fast: with all those excellent things to eat, you need much more time (but you should even pay much more, indeed).

I think it sholud be a must for a tourist visitng palermo (it's located in a small village on the surroundings of Palermo, something like 15 minutes from downtown).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It just keeps coming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The most amazing meal we had in Sicily. We stopped on our way back from Cefalu to Palermo, seven people we somehow managed to get a table as there were people lined up out the door for lunch. As soon as we sat down, they brought out bread and olive oil, big mistake, do not eat this as then came 2 platters of calamari (real ones), 2 platters of prawn salad, cuttlefish salad, a few bottles of wine and endless bottle water. We thought we were done, but no, then came fresh prawns, mussels & sardines. Then we realised that you don't actually order at this place, you get what you are given and what is fresh from the local area. So after a sorbet to cleanse the mouth, out came 3 different types of seafood pastas, linguine with vongoli, cavetelli marinara and risotto gamberi and more wine, amazing! Just when we thought we were done and had to get up to have a little walk around, we sit down to a platter of swordfish and a platter of lobster tails!!!! Surely this was going to cost at least $100 per head so we get up to pay and it works out to 27 euro per person. Staff were great and making fun of us as we couldn't eat anymore. Great place to visit and be blown away from the amazing food you can find in Sicily. Sferracavallo is about 20 minutes from Palermo so if you are in the area, give this place a try, it's opened for lunch and then closes to re-open for dinner.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quantity But Not Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Il Delfino was recommended to us by the cab driver who picked us up at the airport and delivered us to our Hotel in Palermo. Following our tour of Sicily, we made reservations on our last night in Sicily. The restaurant has a nice view of the waterfront; however, I felt we were rushed in and out because the place has a high volume of clients. The waiter did not explain what was being served so I kind of got full on the first delivery of antipasto dishes. We knew it was a set menu but did not realize how many dishes were actually served. Consequently, by the time the signature dishes arrived with authentic Sicilian cuisine, I did not really enjoy them because I was full. Personally, I prefer less of a selection with maybe better quality. All the fish dishes were fresh but I can't really say they were the tastiest! However, for the price, it was good. We enjoyed a nice evening stroll along the lakeshore following dinner.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Amazing food....Outstanding quality...Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

OMG...one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. The all inclusive menu with ENDLESS platters of fish (including lobster tails), pasta and sides served to you hot and extraordinarily delicious was a like a dream to a foodie like me. Did I mention there was an abundant amount of wine and bottled water included in the price per person...28 euros...what a steal. Many people had made mention of this great resto over the past few years and I was a little concerned that these same people were perhaps exaggerating their experience...I WAS WRONG AND THEY WERE ALL RIGHT!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Delfino also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Il Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Delfino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.