We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giardino Inglese

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giardino Inglese to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giardino Inglese
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale della Liberta 63, 90143 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Politeama)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 98 hotels in Palermo
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I made the right choice by booking this hotel not knowing what to expect with Palermo. It is located along the airport express bus stop route (literally steps away from the entrance) and minutes away from the city center so it's very quiet. The room I reserved was a "garden room" (1st floor) so I had it all to myself since no other guests were staying next to me + it was a big room. The staff is great and very accommodating, breakfast was good and the neighborhood felt safe even though I received tips to watch out for pickpockets (just be smart where ever you're at).
Took a bus to Mondello Beach since it's only about 25 minutes away from the city, caught the local bus which was steps away from the hotel.
Will definitely stay here again. Thanks again to the hotel staff, Franchesco, Maria and the Filipino man (morning shift/sorry I forgot your name) for your help and making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Garden room for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    73
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
71
5
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have just spent one night at the above Hotel prior to taking a tour of Sicily late September 2013. I was a little unsure of what to expect, however all fears were unfounded. It is a delightful hotel, fresh roomy with plenty of facilities and an excellent location. Airport express bus stop only a few meters down the road. A very pleasant location backing onto the Inglese Gardens, which are well worth a walk through. The hotel is a good walk to the main square and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Bedroom was excellent and nicely furnished. Breakfast was of a good standard and after travelling all through Italy I found this hotel to be good value for money. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A pleasant friendly small hotel within easy walking distance to the main shopping area and good access to buses to other parts of the city and the airport. Nice, comfortable spacious room with good amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I think Carl G's review below is spot on. This hotel is fine, but surely there must be other better ones in this town? We stayed here for 3 nights. Positives: it's clean, located quite conveniently for some upscale shopping, many of the rooms overlook the park, the rooms are large, nice & clean, soundproofing is good, AC works well, there's a nice outside bar area on the side facing the street, and the staff is mostly very friendly. The drawbacks: a rather uninspired breakfast, a bit of a walk from the old town, and the usual hard Italian beds. Too bad also that they don't make more out of the rooftop terrace, which has some potential. All in all, it offers a pleasant stay but don't be misled by the #1 ranking on TripAdvisor.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very modern, extremely clean hotel. Easy walk to all the major sites in the city. I also liked the park next to the hotel, which is nice for an afternoon break from the hustle and bustle of Palermo.

Great breakfast, excellent wifi coverage.

I also stayed on my return to Palermo, and would happily return.

There are some excellent trattorias within 1km of the hotel as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

one of the best hotels i ever been the staff
is just perfect
they try to do their best
i wanted bus tickets they gave me for free
i wanted to rent a car they help to do with my way
just friendly and helpfull
the room was big enough space for 4
if you have young kids there is the public park behind realy big and beautiful for every one
try the room with park view is more quite
the bus stop is just few meter away
lot of free space-parks around
a park behind and another small just 30m away wiht awesome gellateria
the bar is not open late but the staf try not to be unsatisfied
very clean
breakfast with big variety of thinks you can order you coffee included not just american
the pies- cakes where perfect

Room Tip: try it one of the best hotel in palermo
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As regular visitors, when we found this hotel rated here as Palermo's best, we thought we would try it. It was a little disappointing -- this is an average hotel, with a number of good points, but it is not in the top class. Views over the quiet Giardini Inglese are a plus and it is well located for shopping on Liberta. But in hot weather, it is simply too far out from the historic centre for comfort, if you want to walk to the main sites. Rooms are averagely sized but the decor is dull; service is good, with a friendly, helpful reception (Giuseppe) but the breakfast is only average. Both bars are unprepossessing and uninviting. There are a number of hotels in Palermo at around the same price (120 Euros per double room) that we much prefer)

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the Giardini Inglese.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giardino Inglese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino Inglese

Address: Viale della Liberta 63, 90143 Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Palermo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giardino Inglese 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Giardino Inglese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giardino Inglese Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giardino Inglese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.