We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a detour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria ai Cascinari

Trattoria ai Cascinari
Via D'Ossuna 43-45, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
+39 091 651 9804
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,107 Restaurants in Palermo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Consigliabile la prenotazione.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having seen the reviews on Trip Advisor, we made a special effort to find this restaurant - it is a little away from the main tourist routes. We booked for a Sunday lunch and were glad that we had- from the outside, the restaurant looks like one fairly small room but there are a couple of other rooms behind it. At Sunday lunch , all tables were full and the family atmosphere was excellent. Staff are efficient and cheerful and gave us a very friendly welcome.

We returned for lunch on the last day of our week in Palermo as this was our favourite restaurant of the trip. No need to book for a weekday lunch. Staff remembered us and were very pleased to welcome us back . Most of the clients were business people- but there was still a happy and relaxed atmosphere.

Food is based on traditional Sicilian dishes but the menu changes with the seasons and is slightly innovative - more interesting than in many other Palermo restaurants. There is a well-priced and high quality wine list or house wine by the carafe. This is a good place to sample Sicilian quality wines without an excessive mark-up if you are a wine enthusiast-the owner is pleased to advise .

Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    736
    343
    79
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Most unforgettable eating in nine days in Sicily. Wonderful service. Unique dishes and friendly, even exuberant, spirit. We came early and they treated us like relatives. Mort and Judi Narrowe

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High quality and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had the pleasure of visiting Trattoria ai Cascinari twice in January 2013, during a tour of Sicily. At our first visit for dinner, the restaurant was fully booked for a social function, but we were lucky enough to get the last table in their litte side room. Even though the staff were evidently working hard to accommodate the private party of at least 150 persons, the head waitor remained attentive and helpful throughout our dinner, and we had a lovely meal. The second time we were passing through Palermo at lunchtime, decided to see if the restaurant was open, and discovered to our surprise that even for an ordinary lunch on a Tuesday, their spacious rooms were almost filled by the locals.
The food in Ai Cascinari is very classical Sicilian, but the quality of the produce they use, and the unparalled skill in preparing the single elements in a dish, so they both stand out in themselves, and join with the others in a beautiful harmony, made the rural cuisine take on an extra level of gourmandie, while keeping the simplicity and comfort of the authentic. It is quite impossible to emphasise a single dish, as all the courses we tried on our two visits were splendid in their own right, but if pressed, I'll have to recommend their starter with veal, anchovies, tomatoes and olives, where both the freshness and quality of the produce, and the skill of the chef was recognisable.
They say that three Michelin stars are given for a restaurant, which is worth travelling for. Ai Cascinari is not a Michelin-style restaurant, but in my book our visits there easily made the trip from Denmark to Sicily worth our while in themselves, and I can only give the restaurants my very best recommendations!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the reviews say it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

All the reviews are glowing and they are right. Worth seeking this place out, we had a lovely lunch and they happily gave us a table without a booking and it was late for lunch. Dont go past the antipasta and the house wine is very good. Friendly service and great food. Not to be missed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
1 review
“Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is family ran and everyone is very nice and warming. Hugs and all! Not a lot of space... We were a family of 7 and took up half of the space available. Typical for an Italian place like this. Wasn't the cheapest at 20€ per person. But the 3 course meal and all you can drink wine made up for that in my opinion. Very happy with the atmosphere, food, and hospitality.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria ai Cascinari also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Trattoria ai Cascinari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria ai Cascinari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.