We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair restaurant in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cambusa

La Cambusa
Piazza Marina 16, 90133 Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Tribunali)
+39 091 584574
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 1,150 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tribunali
Description: La Trattoria "The Pantry" was founded in 1988 and is a family-run trattoria, born from the idea of ​​"Mamma Oriana and Pino," which opened in the heart of Palermo, Piazza Marina, a trattoria with a clear idea: offer tourists and Palermo the dishes and traditional Sicilian expressed and made with fresh fish put on display. Among the dishes that you can enjoy the restaurant "The Pantry" we find: swordfish marinated with green pepper, meatballs with meat sauce of sardines, caponata swordfish, scampi risotto and smoked cheese, busiati fresh pasta with artichokes and ricotta rolls swordfish with almonds on tabbouleh vegetables, grilled prawns and more.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“fair restaurant in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you come to this area, it's definitely a good choice. We are there 15mins before opening, they let us in anyways. Meals were very good, service friendly a prices acceptable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    176
    36
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Large portions, good meat dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was surprised to read reviews here mentioning small portions. My girlfriend and I both had a filling first course (pasta & risotto) followed by a relatively large meat dish. Personally I think I'd have done better to order just the second course along with some side dishes or perhaps preceded by antipasti, especially since my pasta with a white meat sauce was a bit drab. My girlfriend's seafood risotto, on the other hand, was quite good, and both our meat dishes were delicious.

The outdoor terrace was quite peaceful (save for the occasional loud scooter passing by) helped by the fact that it isn't flanked immediately by other restaurants - unlike other places in the area. Service could have been a bit more cheery, but was decent, and the food was reasonably priced. Do avoid the red house wine, which is not worth even the €3 you pay for a half litre.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice enough food, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We ate in the outside terrace on a balmy September evening, The restaurant was busy but not full. The pasta dish was huge and very filling, one of our party had cozze and vongole starter which they thoroughly enjoyed. Both people who ordered a meat dish ( lamb and rabbit) raved about it and the salalds and grilled vegetables were very good.
All in all a perfectly decent meal at a reasonable price.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not impressive but anyway ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nice location.
Food is generically ok and service is fast but not accurate. We were not impressed, considering the cost and alternatives.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

the food was very nice
the service quite good
we had better food in Italy but Palermo is not the number one food city so OK

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cambusa also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to La Cambusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cambusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.