We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventures in Sicily” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ai Vecchietti di Minchiapititto

Ai Vecchietti di Minchiapititto
Piazza S.Oliva 10, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Politeama)
+39 91 58 5606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #669 of 1,255 Restaurants in Palermo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Politeama
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Adventures in Sicily”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were recommended this place but were very disappointed. The food was average, over cooked and dry, service slow and a question re the bill asked nicely brought aggression. Not recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    97
    86
    50
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bluff, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ai Vecchietti di Minchiapititto - Palermo, Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Amazing Sicilian food. This so much reminded us of our mother's cooking. The flavors were outstanding---service terrific!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great 3 course Sicilian dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We went here on the recommendation of our B&B and loved everything about this restaurant. The service was friendly and understanding of our inability to speak Italian. The food was even better, nice displayed and very tasty. The swordfish rolls were particularly delicious, I would highly recommend them. We finished the dinner with a great, authentic cheesecake. Overall the prices are very reasonable with each plate priced around 8-13 euros.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service, terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

First night in Palermo. Our hotel recommended this restaurant and it was also mentioned in the guide. All the four of us travelling got so sick after eating there, we could not recover for the next 4 days. The service was slow and inattentive, to say the least, the waiting time was unusually long, they brought the antipasti after they brought the main courses. My husband and I ordered different dishes but were brought the same dish, mixed fried fish and gamberi, which looked like they had been fried way before it was served, though we waited quite some time. We had been to Sicily before and had had the most fabulous see food, in different restaurants in Palermo and elsewhere and in the Vucchiria Market. The food at this restaurant kept us away from eating fish almost the entire trip, beyond the 4 days that we were sick, until towards the end of our 11 day trip, when the food at a restaurant by the sea, near Agrigento, saved us from leaving Sicily without eating exqusitely prepared Sicilian food. If you visit Agrigento check out Marco Polo restaurant. Great fish, wonderful pizza, fast and friendly service. Memorable.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Ended up here for Sunday lunch before flight home based on recommendation in Eyewitness guide. Frequented by locals, service and food was good and reasonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Vecchietti di Minchiapititto also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Ai Vecchietti di Minchiapititto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ai Vecchietti di Minchiapititto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.