We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature Couple from Australia” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Amelie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B Amelie to your Saves list
B&B Amelie
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Principe di Belmonte, 94, Palermo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 319 Palermo B&B and Inns
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mature Couple from Australia”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at the Amelia in Sept 12. It was extremely difficult to find, and we were disappointed that Angela was not prepared to leave the B&B to assist. The en suite double room we booked was just adequate, but the pillows on the bed should have been thrown out years ago ((they were worse than awful) bath towels also needed replacing as they were like sandpaper. Apart from the coffee breakfast was extremely poor. The only positive comments we can offer is its excellant situation and Angela's knowledge of the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freundina, Direttore at B&B Amelie, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear tiger46, as I work alone it's not easy for me to leave the Bnb, especially if I know that other guests are arriving. Even if your descriptions of my services are a bit rude (more than an adequate right of critics), I'll accept your suggestions as a way to make my activity better.


I hope to host you again soon.

Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
93
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton , Somerset
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Amelie.The location was very convenient and near the local buses and Angela was really helpful in choosing places to go and to eat. Best things we did were the trip to Cefalu and the Monreale Duomo. Nice gelataria just near the B and B

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It's location on a pedestrianised street is ideal, its close to the the bus stop from the airport and to the main sites in Palermo. The rooms are decorated well, although the view wasn't amazing. Altogether it was a very comfortable stay and the host, Angela, was lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone wanting to stay in Palermo. I stayed in a lot of hotels during my recent holiday to Italy, they were all great places but this one was the best.
Angela is a fantastic host. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean, the breakfast is simple but very tasty and the location is just where you would want to be to get around Palermo. I am certainly going to return. Thank you Angela for making my stay in Palermo such a lovely one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

B&B Amelie was perfect. It is located close to a beautiful flower shop near the main street. It is quiet and the rooms clean and spacious. Breakfast is great including Angela's home made jam.
Angela is sweet and very thoughtful. She spoke to us in Italian because we wanted to, not because our Italian was better than her English. She also speaks Spanish and German!
Her recommendations for dinner were sensational! Take her advice.
We cannot believe there is a better place in Palermo to stay.

Room Tip: Not every room has a private bath. Reserve your room early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Simply Amazing, First time in Palermo (and first trip away with my girlfriend) and very worried about where to stay and if it was central, safe etc.
Thank you Trip Advisor, I stayed here based purely on the excellent reviews and almost thought they were too good, but trust me they dont do it justice. The place is fantastic, rooms very spacious and immaculately clean, location is excellent, incredibly central, two minutes from piatza politeama which is where everything happens - but the best of all is Angela the owner - a genuine, caring lady who has put her heart and soul into the place and cares so much about what she does and it shows. From the moment I enquired by email I knew I was in good hands as she replied a detailed email within minutes and even offered to pick us up at the bus stop if we were lost. Angela is a great help in advising what to do and where to go, what restaurants etc.. and her advice was spot on (try Casa Rosa restaurant, you wont be disappointed) and she cooks the most beautiful Sicilian breakfasts, with home made products. I could not recemmond this hotel or indeed this beautiful city more highly and I will most definitely return. Thank you Trip Advisor, thank you Palermo and most importantly thank you Angela.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and dont be put off if they are not en suite. You still have your own indivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This B&B is an excellent choice for your visit to Palermo. Our room was large and had a balcony. The place is clean and well-run, and the proprietor is a delightful and helpful woman. The only issue we had was the fact that our private bathroom was across the hall, and not en suite, which bothered my wife.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Amelie

Address: Via Principe di Belmonte, 94, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Amelie 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a b&b in Palermo? If what you need is a central b&b (Amélie is located in the only pedestrian street of the city), a spotless clean b&b where every day is served authentic italian breakfast this b&b is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your B&B Amelie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Amelie Palermo, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Amelie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.