We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location but not amazing food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellini

Bellini
Piazza Bellini 6, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
091-6165691
Improve this listing
Ranked #627 of 1,169 Restaurants in Palermo
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location but not amazing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The food here really wasn't typical of the culinary delights we experienced throughout the rest of Sicily. I have to agree with some other reviewers on here and say that it felt like a bit of a tourist trap due to its amazing location on the gorgeous Piazza Bellini. The service was slow and they forgot to bring our wine and bread (which you get charged for btw - 'cover charge'), this really wasn't much of a problem as we weren't in a rush and they seemed friendly enough. The food however was not good unfortunately. I had the squid which was so dry, I fed half of it to the cat sat at my feet with begging eyes... he seemed to enjoy it! My boyfriend had swordfish which was again really dry and in a very salty sauce, I like salt but this really was too much. Chips were very average. There are so many amazing places to eat in Palermo, I would give this a wide berth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    42
    32
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We ate here twice in the evening and once during the day and were pleased with the service and food every time. The house wine is the best we had during our stay in Palermo and well priced. During lunch on our last day we were also entertained by the wedding taking place in the church in the square.
A very good choice - do not miss it !.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't bother if you're not Italian: tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went there because it was close to our hotel, we wanted something nice and cheap, and the hotel recommended it.
In the end, we were really disappointed:
the other tourist looked like they had to wait a long time, although a couple of Italians who arrived 20min before us managed to have a drink, a main and a dessert while we were still on our main!
We had to wait ages for any request.
The food was average (but on that front, it's hard to be disappointed in Sicily), although the waiter did not clarify that "fish" (pesce) actually meant "sea food" (frutti di mare). Maybe our Italian is poor, however it was quite visible that one of us was pregnant and could not have this kind of food.
In the end, place is not recommended at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Enjoyed this restaurant, busy with a very Sicilian family christening and sea food pizza was work of art. waiter very jolly despite running because another waiter off sick.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't bother eating here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Don't bother eating here unless you are Italian. We waited an hour for a plate of cold pasta; all the other italians were served before us whilst we were waiting. Service was awful; the food not much better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellini also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Bellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.