We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Domus Hotel to your Saves list
Domus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea, 270, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Catania
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights.
GOOD: The location was excellent, the room clean and big and the staff very friendly and helpful, especially Valeria and Alexandra.

BAD: selection for breakfast was very poor: the savory option only included one type of cheese and one type of salame. One day there was only cheese. The coffee from a machine was disappointing for Italian coffee. The fruit salad bowl had many fruit flies floating in it and flying around it...there was only one elderly man eating it..probably forgot his glasses...
The holder for the shower was broken and as soon as you touched it it fell. The light above the mirror in the bathroom was not working. While we were there an other customer complained about a broken light and we read this in the reviews, so they should really do some maintenance! This place could be great if they fixed these things.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvoCarluccio, Proprietario at Domus Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Dear Bettina69,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Domus Hotel Catania.

Regarding your comments I have shared them with my staff.

I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With warmest regards,

Salvo Carluccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night, as part of an organised group walking holiday. The location was very convenient, and other good points were the large size of the room, balcony and courtyard view, and a very comfortable bed.
Downsides were mostly minor, and since it was a group trip I have no idea of what we were being charged for the room. They included, no sink plug, bare wires in the bathroom, and in the corridor, and when we arrived for breakfast the choice was limited, with staff slow to replenish items when requested. When one of our group mentioned the rolls seemed stale the response was 'it's Sunday'. Staff didn't seemed generally disinterested. I wouldn't say don't stay here, but I wouldn't have particularly high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvoCarluccio, Proprietario at Domus Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Dear Wbeetle6,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Domus Hotel Catania.

Regarding your comments I have shared them with my staff.

I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With warmest regards,
Salvo Carluccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Just spent a week at the Domus Hotel... catching up with friends. Perfect central location on Via Etnea. The staff were lovely and very helpful.. especially Valeria. the room was bright and quiet [ at the back] very clean, fresh sheets / towels every other day. There are mozzies but we had a plug in and that helped. breakfast was fine, warm pastries, juice, coffee, fruit. Will most certainly stay again!...

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvoCarluccio, Proprietario at Domus Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Dear Lindylou,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Domus Hotel Catania.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With warmest regards,
Salvo Carluccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is kept clean and apart from pastries it offers cereals and toast with salami and cheese for breakfast. The air-conditioner works perfectly. Although on a very busy road traffic noise is negligible. The location is amazing, in the centre of via Etnea near villa Bellini and opposite the stop of bus 457 from the airport. Price quality ratio, this hotel is worth every penny. Besides Free Wifi internet, enough said. Will book again.

Room Tip: We where located near the reception, however, i think that the hotel has recently refurbish level tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvoCarluccio, Proprietario at Domus Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Sulina_Ma,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Domus Hotel Catania.

It is our goal to consistently provide customer satisfaction and your comments are very important to us.

The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to keep up the good work.

I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With warmest regards,
Salvo Carluccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

When we first arrived in our hotel room, there was Mosquitos everywhere and not enough pillows on the bed. In the description of this hotel it mentions a minibar. We did not get this, instead there was a mini fridge which was not even plugged in and empty! What annoyed us the most is the lack of toilet paper in our room. When we first arrived, there was half a roll of paper on the holder which is not enough for 2 people for 3 days. The amount of times we had to ask for toilet paper was ridiculous.
Having said all that, the view from our balcony as nice as you can see Mt Etnea, great location and the staff were nice. I recommend you try the cafe just outside the hotel called Spinella, the most amazing cannoli and arancini you will ever eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvoCarluccio, Owner at Domus Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Natalie V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Domus Hotel Catania.

Regarding toilette paper and mini bar I have shared your comments with my staff.

I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With warmest regards,
Salvo Carluccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Domus is a good budget choose for Catania. The 457 bus from the airport stops just opposite, the Cathedral area is only 5 minute walk and the extensive market only a couple of streets away. The hotel is a little hidden, on the third floor, through an archway.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the simple rooms very clean. Very basic furniture and small bathroom. No in-rom facilities like safe etc but the wifi (free) did work, albeit slowly at times. Our room was over the front, overlooking Via Etnea, the Main Street, so very noisy. Insist on a rear-facing room if you like your sleep.

Breakfast best described as pathetic.

At first sight Catania appears run down, but there is a lot to see and it is kept clean and safe. Overall an interesting short city break on a budget.

Room Tip: Go to the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusCataniaHotel, Owner at Domus Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Peter M G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at Domus Hotel Catania.

Your valued advice and suggestions will be of great help for future guests in order to get more familiar with location, connections and our facilities.

Regarding breakfast I have shared your comments with my staff.

I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

With warmest regards,
Salvo Carluccio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Hotel

Address: Via Etnea, 270, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Domus Hotel is a new and welcoming hotel, located in the heart of Catania, on the high main street Via Etnea. Thanks to its location, the Domus Hotel has a beautiful view of the sumptuous Baroque architecture, of the imposing and ancient Palazzo delle Poste, of the magnificent Public Garden Villa Bellini. Domus Hotel provides 18 comfortable rooms, furnished with care and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.