We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent locationvlassic design with modern facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Romeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Romeo to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Romeo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Platamone 8, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Catania
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“excellent locationvlassic design with modern facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

just 5 mins away from the railway station easy to find.room space ok clean.withclassic design within hotel.lovely courtyard filled with plants and fkowers where you can have breakfast in the morning and enjoy the tranquility .if your room is located at that floor,you may go out from the french window.i love that courtyard so muvh,you would forget the traffic ourside

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    111
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
31
119
66
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Not in a particularly pretty part of Catania - we only stayed there because it was close to the station, thinking that we could catch a train to the airport.

Wrong. We were better off just bypassing Catania altogether - catching a train to Catania station from Syracuse and then a cab to the airport.

The staff were extremely rude and unhelpful, the area is extremely dodgy and unsafe, no breakfast, no tea/coffee, no mini fridge and the rooms were old and musty.

AVOID. and avoid Catania.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We first stayed at this hotel last year and decided to go again this year. It didn't fail to impress us again. The rooms are lovely, but the best thing about this hotel is the staff, they are truly wonderful and they should be very proud of their attention to their customers and knowledge of the area. The inner courtyard is a little oasis and as the mini bar is so reasonably priced its so worth a drink before going out to experience the delights of Catania.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which opens onto the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went here with a friend in 2011 for a 5 day stay in Sicily. It is very lovely and confortable. Close to the city centre and 20 min walk from the beach in Catania. The rooms are large and decorated very nice. The bathrooms are not that big. They have this lovely terrace inside the hotel full of flowers that it is soo relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hi everyone, my name is Onofrio..
i i love this little Hotel, is so cute.
This was my fourth time been in this Oasis in Catania.
As always the experience has been just fantastic.
The rooms never fail to impress with their really tasty decor, the tidyness is impeccable. Staff is so friendly that you think you are at home.....they are very well mannered and respectful...still, i felt again like they were my brothers and sisters..

Thank you all, specially this guy, Francesco....you are really nice person, it was a pleasure meeting you....and the others...

Ciao e a presto..

Onofrio

Room Tip: highe rooms, the apartment is fantastic...i stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Excellent location nearby the train and the bus station!
Walking distance from the city center and Bellini Theater.
Very spacious rooms and helpful stuff.
They can arrange excursions to Aetna and nearby locations.
They also gave us gifts and local products when we were leaving.

Room Tip: We preferred the room with vfiew to the interior patio opposite the breakfast room. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

it has been a year since I stayed here, so my review is a bit rusty, in short I found the photos I took of the hotel and thought I would post them up.

I remember that the location was very handy to the station and that was great, because I wanted to see the views along the island, so I took the train from Palermo. Not the prettiest area to be in. But a practical area for transport. Also I was there to see the sights, so was not looking for an upscale hotel, but just somewhere to spend a few nights.

I remember the hotel being pleasant. and my room was much more spacious than I thought it was going to be.I have included a number of pictures. I also had a telephone meeting while I was there, and needed good phone reception and peace and quiet for that. This was no problem. Was quite cheap for what I got, but I have a feeling that I got a free room upgrade, but while the sleeping part of the room was beautiful. the bathroom was quite small and very ugly.
I remember the room was clean.. but don't remember how clean the bathroom was.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Romeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Romeo

Address: Via Platamone 8, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Romeo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former 19th century palace, the hotel offers an elegant fusion of historic architecture and décor with modern comforts, good transport links and a central location.Fully restored with careful attention paid to its history, this 3-star hotel is fully equipped for both leisure and business travellers. In summer months, you can enjoy a relaxing moment on the terrace, with a drink from the bar. Alternatively you can unwind in the peaceful greenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Romeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Catania
Hotel Villa Romeo Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Romeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.