We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via A. Di Sangiuliano, 337, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Catania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After staying a week we are checking out tomorrow. We have loved our stay in this hotel and have experience no problems with wyfy. The experience we have had as been of complete relaxtion our room has been cleaned to a high stand are and we have had our own courtyard were we have been able to sit and catch the rays of the sun . The staff are friendly and helpful the breakfast buffet has been very filling and appetising my only complaint is I would have liked to have been able to use the jacuzzi that was not working . I would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    131
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
27
172
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just read the previous two negative reviews and felt that I urgently needed to try to uphold the hotel's reputation with the wonderful experience my wife and I had during our week at the Hotel Royal!
The first night we stayed in a wonderful room on the first floor with fantastically decorated ceilings, a large four poster bed with wooden floors (and a strong wi-fi signal ). Unfortunately as a light sleeper I asked to be moved, which Danila responded to immediately and offered me a choice of rooms on the third floor. We chose the Providenzia and we were both delighted with and did not want to leave after our week was up. Again a four poster bed, sea view, separate sitting room and private veranda! Again no problem at all with wi-fi, so not sure why the previous reviewer found it such a problem. Maid service was very good, (fresh milk was delivered free of charge when requested), air conditioning was fine and the room lighting system easy to operate! The breakfast provided was very comprehensive, fresh fruit, meats, gorgeous pastries, variety of breads and juices with hot drinks served at the table by a smiling and friendly waitress! Nothing was to much trouble for the Reception staff, so thanks to Danila, Mansour, Allessandra and another young gentleman. The hotel is very central and close to the main sightseeing attractions, as well as a host of very good restaurants. This is a special hotel and should be congratulated on the welcome it provides. I suggest anyone who experiences any problems please speak to the helpful and professional staff who will resolve any issue! Thank you to everyone involved!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you depend on internet for any reason, go anywhere BUT do not stay here! We travel the world with Mac and PC computers as well as IPhones. I have not encountered worse WIFI connectivity since Pakistan and there they have brown and black outs constantly. It is a shame because this hotel has good bones, interesting interior, a good breakfast and great location for everyone except those who cannot climb a hill. This was once a 4 star hotel but now would fight for a 2 star rating. The lights in the room have controls that require a brief training session, the jacuzzi is empty and there is a fridge that was reported dysfunctional day one and is still on the fritz 4 days later. It is clear that the owner is mining his hotel and it will not be long that its reputation will sink even lower. I have no understanding why the owner is behaving in this grossly neglectful manner. Your decision not to patronize will be the only lesson he needs

Room Tip: get a guarntee of 100% WIFI connectivity or your room will be free. See what they say. There is no p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We arrived at this hotel on our honeymoon, to be led to the smallest and dingiest room i had encountered in Sicily in 4 weeks. And 2 single beds. It is terribly dated and in need of some TLC. The shower didn't run properly and we had no hot water. The mini-fridge wasn't cold and stank like off cheese. The air con was also temperamental at best.

Not the best stay at all.

On a better note, they quickly changed our room when we complained and it is very centrally located on one of the nicest streets in Catania central.

Overall not a complete write off but definitely over priced for what you get - based on Sicily prices overall.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We just returned from our trip to Catania. The Hotel Royal was a great place to stay. The location was great - walking distance to many places. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The rooftop restaurant was great. We ate dinner there one night. It was a little on the pricey side but our waiter, Eliot, was most helpful. The breakfast buffet each morning was delicious! Again, the wait staff was most attentive. The only issue I had was the bed was very hard. However, I slept well every night so may it really wasn't an issue. We had a room facing on the street. The noise from outside never permeated our room - previous reviewers had said this was a problem. We kept the windows shut, so no noise bothered us. The air conditioning worked very well (important during these hot days) and the wi-fi worked with no problems. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I loved this hotel.It was very central and the bedroom was huge with a gigantic four poster bed and a sense of Italian style.Very quirky!! The best thing was the breakfast served on the roof terrace with an amazing selection We had an excellent deal and it was astounding value for money.
The staff were very good and when ordering a bottle of wine in the evening on the roof terrace a selection of wonderful canapés was produced to accompany it.
All in All, we would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent our last 3 days in Sicily in Catania and used Hotel Royal as our home base. They provided off-street parking in the courtyard of the hotel, which is great since street parking is hard to come by. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is in a lovely rooftop location and the choices were perfect. The front desk staff were friendly and always ready to help. We made a last minute decision after dinner to take a tour of Etna and the front desk person quickly got us signed up for the next morning. The restaurant is great for drinks and dinner. Our wonderful waiter, Elliott, provided us with a very enjoyable evening and delicious dinner recommendation. This was a great jumping off spot to tour Etna, travel to Taormina and Siracusa.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the main street....although there was some expected street noise, it really did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Via A. Di Sangiuliano, 337, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#9 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Catania
Hotel Royal Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.