We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and secure.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Verde Hotel

Save Saved
You added Borgo Verde Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Borgo Verde Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S Nullo 5 / R, 95125 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 103 hotels in Catania
Northants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and secure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The reception staff at the hotel were excellent and helpful in every conceivable way! The hotel is set in its garden and extremely peaceful.As other guests seemed to be on business, there was often no-one else around in the week we spent there. It is some distance out of the centre in an entirely residential area and as it does not offer evening meals, you need to go into Catania. There is a bus stop by the hotel and the service is frequent if not always predictable. Breakfast was of an acceptable standard and very relaxing also. The room and all facilities were clean and the balcony a definite bonus. All in all, a haven of peace with Catania's facilities about 3 miles away. Highly recommended. Ask the hotel to get a taxi back to the airport if you need one-it was half the price we paid to get there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
18
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

We spent a week at Borgo Verde and were completely satisfied with our stay. The hotel is clean and well maintained with comfortable and well-appointed rooms, in keeping with a 3* standard. The bed was in my opinion extremely comfortable and the shower was powerful. The tv channels were all in Italian and some weren't working but this was not an issue for us. My bedside light bulb went on the second night. I reported it the next day and it was fixed immediately, which was appreciated.

The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and spoke great English. Moira was especially good and really made an effort to help us wherever possible. 

The bus stop is just outside the hotel. The bus journey into town is about 20mins, however the bus doesn't really come at regular intervals so you could be waiting at the bus stop a long time. We decided to walk into town one day and this took about 45mins. I wouldn't advise this as there are many parts where there are no pavements, with cars speeding along narrow roads. My advice would be to walk from the hotel to the bus stop after the hotel (towards town) as this betters your chances of catching the bus as there are two that stop there as opposed to just one at the other bus stop.  

All in all a pleasant and relaxing stay. I would recommend this hotel as a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, as long as you are happy to do the short commute between the hotel and the city centre. 

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The hotel is located not in the central city but has a bus stop in front of the hotel for an easy commute to downtown. The hotel is like an oasis with a garden area and a swimming pool. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Fantastic hotel in a wonderful environment. Located a bus ride from downtown Catania, this hotel offers a quiet setting with a pool and garden. The staff were very professional and did everything to make this stay perfect. Took the bus downtown which you get right at the entrance of the hotel. The bus runs until 11:30 PM.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brcko, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed at Borgo Verde three days. What a friendly staff, they greeted us warmly when we arrived the hotel, took our luggege inside, checked us in quickly, very known of information. They cleaned our room well, kept it in good condition always. Very good hotel that I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I contacted the hotel directly about bookings, rates, availability and my email was responded to promptly and in English. You can check the hotel's website yourself - www.hotelborgoverde.it/eng/home.

We (myself, mother and my two sisters) arrived at Catania airport late, we took a bus from the airport to Catania's main train station and then got a taxi from there. This was as the hotel was unable to arrange for a taxi to meet us at the airport. However, the hotel had given us the telephone number for a local mini cab firm but none of the telephones at the airport seemed to work. The whole journey was around 25 minutes. We also noted that many buses to and from other cities such as Interbus and SAIS Trasporti also call at the airport; to or from Catania's main train station, very cheap, worth considering.

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly and hospitable gentleman, unfortunately, we did not take his name. We saw him on a number of evenings and he was always very friendly and helpful. In the mornings, we had Moira at reception. She was exceptionally helpful, very friendly and spoke excellent English (although she encouraged us to practise our Italian with her!).

The rooms (we had two twin rooms) were very comfortable and kept clean with daily maid service, fresh towels provided as and when needed, TV (only Italian stations), electronic safe, mini bar and both rooms had a balcony with table and chairs.

The hotel has a beautiful garden, which contains a swimming pool but this is permanently closed off, there are sun loungers to sit around it though. In the reception area, breakfast is served from 7am - 10am. Coffee is freshly made to order by the barista - another very friendly girl, not sure if she spoke English as we only spoke to her in Italian. Breakfast was excellent - though it looks small - there are choices of cereal, bread rolls, ham and cheese, croissants and pastries, and fruit. If you come to breakfast around 9am, a lot of food maybe gone, but don't worry, fresh food will be brought out. Eat as much as you like. You can eat inside or outside.

As for the location, it is a little way out of town. During our stay, there were roadworks in progress which meant that the bus stop outside the hotel was closed. So in order to get to town we had to walk down the hill, Via San Nullo and cross a roundabout. The fermata (bus stop) is just after the roundabout. Its about a 15 - 20 minute ride into town depending on traffic! Also there is the Ferroviacircumetnea (FCE) - its a train, which runs around the base of mount Etna. It's an excellent way to see Mount Etna and is just a bit further on from the bus stop. Also in this area are shops, local supermarket, tabaccheria (kind of like a newsagent in the UK), they usually sell bus and train tickets, stamps, postcodes, soft drinks, sweets.

Overall, this is a great place to stay, the main place in Catania is centred around Via Etnea, this area can get very busy and noisy, so staying a little way out is a nice place to relax and the road the hotel is on is very quite. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

My only negative would be about when we left. We had decided to take a bus into town and then to get either an Interbus or SAIS bus to the airport, as we had used Interbus to travel to Siracusa, it had only taken 15 minutes to get to the airport from the main train station, however the hotel had convinced us to take a taxi, with the company they had suggested we call on arrival in Catania; they said that the cost would be 24 Euros. Although more expensive than taking the bus, taking a taxi was more convenient however, when we arrived at the airport the driver stated that the fare was 34 Euros because he had to take the "tangenziale" a bypass, and the journey took twice as long as the bus.

I would also like to add that we visited the town of Randazzo, a small town with great views of Mount Etna, we meet some really nice people who advised us to eat at a restaurant called Etna Quota Mille - www.etnaquotamille.it/en/home - I throughly recommend it. Great restaurant, amazing prices, and stunning views of Etna and the surronding area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

This hotel lived up to the expectations I had by consulting its website. It is on the ring road of Catania, which is great if you do not want to have to enter the city centre; it is well located to go to the Etna. They have a beautiful garden, although slightly on the small side. They also have a pool but it seems permanently shut (they actually did not advertise it when I booked) for some reason I do not know. The breakfast is slightly on the light side compared to other 3 star hotels I have been to in Sicily, but having a room with a big balcony makes up for that. Important thing to note is that they don't have a restaurant, and there aren't many in the surroundings, so be prepared to drive to grab a bite. Wi-fi was free in the lobby area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Verde Hotel

Address: Via S Nullo 5 / R, 95125 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 103 hotels in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Verde Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Borgo Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Verde
Borgo Verde Catania
Borgo Verde Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Verde Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.