We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel right in the city centre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Principe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Il Principe Hotel to your Saves list
Il Principe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel right in the city centre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a hidden gem right in the city centre of Catania and a must stay for anyone who wants to explore the city in style. My girlfriend and I spent 7 nights @ il Principe Hotel and absolutely loved it. The hotel is located 200m from the historical downtown and in a very safe neighbourhood. We did not want to go through the hassle of a car rental which in fact you are not going to need if you book a room here. Everything is within walking distance. Rooms themselves are decorated to the highest standards and are very quiet. The hotel overall is very clean and new, having gine through refurbishment a couple of years ago. Staff are very helpful and arranged us couple of private tours to the beach and close Taormina, as well as gave us helpful tips on restaurants and shopping. In a nutshell: great charming hotel with plenty of character, great location, excellent customer service at reasonable price. Thank you and we will come back!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    252
    70
    17
    9
See reviews for
86
325
31
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I shifted to this hotel because the rates were similar to the earlier one which was quite a distance from the city center. This one is probably a mini castle converted to a hotel! Big rooms, high ceilings, free wifi that was very fast and an amazing location. The hotel lobbies and passages are very well designed and maintained. The breakfast was good, not great. Front desk staff, fairly helpful and warm. Parking can be a bit of a problem though: it's downtown, but I can't complain. The Duomo is a couple of minutes walk, and great places to eat or shop: very very close by. I enjoyed my stay here and they have a good Etna package: ask for Etna tribe, and for Francesca the guide. She knows her stuff well, and she is a CU grad.

Room Tip: all rooms are good. you will like it. i have seen 3 types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

but it's not there yet. Which is a bit surprising, I visited it a few years ago and gave it a higher rating. Some rooms got a facelift, and the location is great, but it's the staff that brings down the score. We didn't get the room that was booked, it took a bit of arguing to get a simple change done, there were additional problems at the checkout. The breakfast simply doesn't match the rest unless cold green eggs is your favorite morning dish. If the management takes these issues seriously it could become a really nice hotel, in the 4.5* range.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We asked for a quiet room when booking but the pizza restaurant next door decided to have a pathetic and noisy hootenanny that evening - until 2am! The staff were well aware of their neighbor's antics and sympathetically upgraded us to an internal room. So far ok I guess, except for the poor wifi coverage and the multiple little password notes.

The next morning we had a feeble breakfast and the waiter was constantly and rudely interrupting us for name, then room details etc. We gave it a miss thereafter.

When we got home we found that il Principe had overcharged us €100 which they then vehemently denied in their emails. Luckily we had gone through booking.com and had bank statements to hand. Booking.com gently persuaded il Principe that they were in the wrong and helped us through the very laborious process of getting a refund - it eventually took six weeks!

Room Tip: Get an internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Il Principe Hotel for your stay in Catania.
We apologize with you for all the inconvenience occurred during your stay.
First of all the music of the outside local has stopped at midnight, as per our local law and it cannot be amplified by instruments.
We gave you another room and the WiFi inside the room would have to be connected with the new router (simply by searching the strongest signal). If the wifi signal was poor, is because you left the one of the previous room. The password is necessary to avoid outside connections.
Our breakfast has all the typical choice you can need: cold drinks: water, orange juice, mandarin juice, pineapple juice, grapefruit juice, almond milk, hot drinks: water, milk, coffee, american coffee, cappuccino, cioccolate, various type of tea, various type of jams, honey, hazelnut cream, various type of yogurts, various type of cereals, various type of croissants, various type of cakes, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, wurstel, salad, scramble eggs, bacon, bread, toast, rusks, butter, fresh fruit: apple, orange, kiwi, bananas, pears, prunes...and the staff needs your room number to confirm that you is a hotel guest (it's normal in each hotel of the world).
The overcharge was due to an error of the booking dept. and, when you informed us, after two days (the time needed to understand what had happened), we asked for your bank address to refund you. We lost a lot of time, because your bank informations weren't correct. So Booking.com didn't need to persuade us and didn't help you because you didn't need his help. We know that the mistake done by the booking dept. is very serious, and we already proceeded to dismiss those who committed the error, but we are a reliable hotel and we have never been accused of not giving assistance to our Guests.
Best regards

Marco De Pinto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good quiet hotel, close to all the main attractions. The rooms are fairly big and clean. The breakfast was the only let down, in a place with so many fresh products, it was disappointing to have carton juice and mass market products. You can park on one of the main streets a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and give a couple of euros to the guy who looks after the parkings. That will save you some money on the €15 charged by the hotel for valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Il Principe is a friendly, relaxed hotel, very centrally situated, the Duomo is only a couple of minutes awat and Il Crociferi, a street full of baroque churches is seconds away.
The room was clean, comfortable and had an excellent shower. It was a little small, and there was no easy seating, so not somewhere you would want to spend a lot of time.
The breakfast was OK, not very good for vegetarians as the scrambled eggs already had bacon on top, but the pastries were pleasant and the fruit juice was excellent.
The staff were very helpful and made the stay very stress free.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter. Some are a little small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night in the hotel and were amazed by the excellent location. If you want to do some sightseeing in Catania, you can start right in the middle of the main attractions!

Rooms are quite nice and clean, but clearly oldfashioned! Our room had two balconys and a beautiful view on the old town. What we did not like, was the noice caused by the hotel staff. After 8:00am it was almost impossible to sleep! Breakfast was ok!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Il Principe Hotel for your stay in Catania.
We appreciate your words about the location and the accommodation.
We apologize for the noise caused by the hotel staff; we have informed the housekeeper of this incident.
We strive to do our best to offer high standards and your opinions help us to improve everyday the service.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards

Marco De Pinto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Principe Hotel

Address: Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#5 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Principe Hotel is surrounded by baroque architecture in Catania's historic centre. Located on the Alessi Steps between Via Etnea and Via Crociferi, it offers free Wi-Fi. The rooms at Il Principe Hotel Catania all have parquet floors and elegant furnishings. Each room includes satellite TV and a private bathroom. A continental buffet breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Guests can also relax in the hotel's American piano bar. Il Principe Hotel lies 1.5 Km from Catania Centrale Train Station. The airport is a 12-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Il Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Principe Catania
Hotel Il Principe
Il Principe Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Principe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.