We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Principe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Il Principe Hotel to your Saves list
Il Principe Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Catania
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very well situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel was lovely - helpful staff, lovely room, good breakfast, and ideally situated for exploring Catania. Two nights spent here and we ate outside at the local bar just up the steps from the hotel on the left hand side. The girl there helped us choose authentic Italian dishes and good local wine and we were the only 'foreign' people there as so busy with the local clientele. A lovely experience eating drinking and people watching!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    228
    64
    15
    9
See reviews for
76
304
30
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before returning home to the US. We had read the recommendations on Trip Advisor and chose Il Principe. It lived up to all the praise I read about it. From the very start when we arrived, a man named Antonio helped us with parking and bags..a lovely man who understood that we were a bit rattled by our experience of driving in Catania.
The room itself was beautifully appointed. Their decorators have great taste. Even though our room faced the street, it was quiet. they obviously did a good job of soundproofing.

The front desk staff could not have been more helpful. They gave us restaurant recommendations, directions and other information. Laura in particular was very kind. She saw I was reading a book by the Mystery writer Andrea Camilleri, a Sicilian. She shared my enthusiasm and even gave me one of his novels that she had read that was written in English. This is above and beyond.

I liked everything about the hotel, including it's location. I'd have to stay here fand when I come back to Catania.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Clean, central location, but the room was not worth the price. It was a "suite" and as such was large with a separate bedroom, but it was very bland. There was no view except into other rooms and there was no personality or charm to the room. Could have been a chain hotel. Staff was very nice though.

Room Tip: Maybe there are rooms with more character, so would be worth asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights and we have an excellent time. Everything inside the hotel looks pretty new, clean and the staff is allways very helpfull in any problem. Our room, on the 3th floor had a small balcony and we remaked the good job done by the roommaide everyday.
The breakfast was very good quality, variated ham, cheese, prosciuto, eggs, pastry, juice and, what i never seen until now, 2 kinds of fresh juice. They have a coffe mashine, but they also do italian espresso or cappuccino if you ask.
A lot of good restaurants near hotel for the dinner.
Piazza del Duomo is just 2 min from the hotel, and also there you will find, in the morning, La Pescheria, the fish market that you should not missed while in Catania.
Near Ptza Duomo you will also find the bus station and I suggest you to use the bus to Taormina or Siracusa.
We arrive at Il Principe from the airport by taxi, we take it from outside the airport, asked befor the price and the driver said 20-25 eur. It was 25. From the hotel, the staff called a taxi for us and it was also 25 to the airport, but a larger car, the kind used for transfers.
I think we will come back in Catania and definitely will stay at Il Principe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I did not see any hotel that looked nicer than this hotel in central Catania (the historic center). We got a great room on the 4th floor with a private terrace (there was hallway access and a fire escape around the back, but no one has any reason to be out there and we didn't notice any other humans on our floor of the hotel). The room very clean and quiet. The bathroom was tiled nicely in mosaic tile and the shower did NOT leak (the first and only on our Italian holiday). Staff very nice, mostly very good English speakers. Breakfast buffet more than adequate. I would definitely stay here a second time if I need to fly into Catania again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and I must say that it definitely exceeded my expectations. The receptionists are extremely cordial and are always ready to go that extra mile to solve any issues or questions which you might have. In terms of cleanliness, the hotel was top notch and the same can also be said regarding the politeness of all the staff involved. The cherry on top is its location since it is situated right in the middle of Catania's historic and cultural centre, with very easy access to Piazza Duomo, good restaurants and other landmarks.

The only negative comment is that the receptionists weren't that informed about the cultural landmarks in the city (e.g. il Museo del Cinema situated right in the hub of Catania's cultural and economic centre).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just one night, before catching our flight back home the next morning. Anyway, our impression was good, the room where we stayed appeared to be brand new and very clean. It was on the inside of the hotel, overlooking a courtyard, so rather dark and not much of a view. If we would have stayed longer we might have requested a different view, but because it was just for one night it wasn't an issue for us. Also, the room was very quiet, even though this hotel is located right in the middle of Catania in a lively neighbourhood with lots of cafés and restaurants. Summarizing, a good experience, and we would book this hotel again if we were back in Catania. One minor remark: the shower was located inside the bath, which was slippery - we always put down a towel in such cases. We prefer a separate shower. But this is a very minor issue!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Principe Hotel

Address: Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#4 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#4 Business Hotel in Catania
#5 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Principe Hotel is surrounded by baroque architecture in Catania's historic centre. Located on the Alessi Steps between Via Etnea and Via Crociferi, it offers free Wi-Fi. The rooms at Il Principe Hotel Catania all have parquet floors and elegant furnishings. Each room includes satellite TV and a private bathroom. A continental buffet breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Guests can also relax in the hotel's American piano bar. Il Principe Hotel lies 1.5 Km from Catania Centrale Train Station. The airport is a 12-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Il Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Principe Catania
Hotel Il Principe
Il Principe Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Principe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.