We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Palace to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a 2 night stay in Una palace hotel. It is centrally located, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and the rooms are extremely comfortable! We chose to upgrade for an extra €15 a night - the upgrade was for a balcony, mini bar and unlimited wifi. Our balcony was in the front of the hotel so we had a lovely view of Etna in the morning! We didn't use the mini bar (very expensive!) and the internet was good. The bed was very comfortable and the temperature of the room was very warm - which we loved!
The breakfast included in room price was excellent - a full continental buffet with meats, cheeses sweets etc, very comprehensive.
There is a small fitness room and a sauna on the 6th floor which was empty when we went and was nice.
All in all we had a delightful romantic weekend here and would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Our 5th floor room with a balcony on the front of the building had a nice view of Etna and was surpr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    367
    63
    9
    5
See reviews for
157
381
37
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hotel which we will be returning to! The staff are excellent! The room was excellent 5th floor with views of Etna from the small balcony! for the price one pays it is top value for money! Cannot recommend to more! It also has a garage with valet parking - just brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate north yorkshire
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a duplex suite which was perfect for a couple with a teenage daughter. The downstairs seating area was large and well equiped and this became my daughters bedroom. A toilet and basin were also provided along with a TV and a free minibar that was restocked daily with beer soft drinks water and fruit juice. Upstairs the bedroom was compact but it had a fabulous huge bathroom and a seperate dressing area and a balcony. The toiletries provided were oppulant and a very generous selection. We enjoyed the cocktail happy hour in the stunning rooftop bar. For 12 euros you could enjoy any 9 euro cocktail and a varied and delicious buffet. The happy hour is 7.30 until 10.pm and the buffet was continually replenished. We enjoyed the breakfast served in the restaurant and it had nice touches of fresh squeezed orange and a glass of prosecco. Scrambled eggs bacon and hot dog sausages were the hot selections and I ordered fresh fried eggs. The usual cold meats cheese fruits and yogurts were available along with many sweet treats and breads. The extremely efficient and friendly waitresses gave first class service and would bring you your choice of drinks.
Rita the concierge provided excellent service and advice and she was very friendly and helpful. Everyone we met at Una Palace gave excellent service. The hotel is in a great location on Via Etna and everything is on your doorstep. A taxi to the airport is 20 euro and takes about 20 mins. The view of Etna from the rooftop restaurant is one we will never forget. Thank you Una for treating us so well and for our 25th wedding anniversary gifts of a fruit platter and scented candle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zurrieq, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travelled with my husband and teenage daughter which we all enjoyed our stay at your hotel. We are frequent travellers but it's the first time in this hotel. We were impressed with the service which is usually given in a 5 star hotel not a 4 star. Keep it up. we'll surely recommend your hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After more than ten years of travelling in Italy to Firenze, Bologna, Roma etc, I stayed two nights including the sicilian culinary dinner and breakfast. Everything was beautiful, friendly and delicius. I was relaxed and felt like I was in the heart of Sicilian cooking. The view to Etna from the roof top is fantastic. I was also in the centre of the city of Catania and could see everything by foot. From the airport, the hotel has a fixed price by taxi, alternatively take the Alibus (every half hour) at 4 euro stopping 50 meters outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very posh-looking hotel from the outside, situated about as close to the centre of Catania as it's possible to be. Good welcome from the reception staff and an excellent 5-minute introduction to the sights of Catania. View from the rooftop was spectacular. Room was clean, a good size, and bed was comfortable. The bathroom was pleasant and had a bath with shower rather than just a shower cubicle, which appears to be less common in Sicily.

However, quite a few faults: despite being in a non-smoking room, the room smelled of stale cigarettes, especially in the bathroom area. This smell disappeared during the day, but was replaced by a smell of rotten eggs. Opening the window did help with the smell, but the window looked out over the interior courtyard, which had a loud set of air conditioning ducts at the other end. The room air conditioning didn't seem to work at all, but given the time of year we stayed that wasn't a problem. In retrospect we should have complained, but we were only there for two nights and we had a busy schedule planned. The smells weren't terrible, but it's not something I would have expected of a hotel that claims high standards.

Also, surprisingly shabby in places for an upmarket hotel. Once you looked closer at some of the fixtures and fittings, both in the room and in the public areas, it was clear there were some maintenance issues: scuffs, cracked and flaking paint. Again, not terrible but not the level of attention to detail I'd expect given the image the hotel projects. The chair in the room was clearly spray-painted gold, and had quite a lot of chips and dents, which summed up the impression we got of the hotel as a whole.

Standard buffet breakfast was variable: very good croissants and juice, but we didn't get asked if we wanted a cappuccino as some of the other guests did; the filter coffee from the jug was good though. The scrambled egg was much too rich and greasy for my taste - it tasted like it had been made with cream instead of milk, which made me feel a little unwell later. Didn't repeat that mistake the second day. Hotel tried to upsell breakfast on the rooftop for an additional fee, and perhaps the standard buffet breakfast suffers a little as a result.

Service was mixed: the initial welcome at reception was warm, friendly and informative, but subsequent interaction with the staff was disappointing. Not rude, but the impression we got was they would rather we weren't staying there. Now, we were there out of season, and we'd pre-paid for a discounted room, but none of the other hotels we stayed at in Sicily seemed to have a problem with that. Perhaps we weren't glamorous enough; we were there to look at Etna and looked outdoorsy rather than chic.

The impression we got did put us off spending any extra money with the hotel; we went elsewhere to eat and drink and went to the supermarket around the corner to get ingredients for a packed lunch for our Etna trip.

Overall, it seemed to us like the hotel was concentrating too hard on appearing upmarket rather than getting the hotel basics right. We much preferred the other Catania hotel we stayed in earlier in our trip, even if it didn't have the same view from the rooftop.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the interior courtyard get a lot of air conditioning noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at this Hotel was simply EXCELLENT...the staff at the Hotel were friendly & helpful..and our suite was sooooo sweet-clean and furnished of all the basic needs and plus :) The Hotel is also located in the very center of the city, and with a charge of just twenty euro (€20), one can also park the car in their own private garage, which has a direct access to the Hotel... and the breakfast on the roof top...simply delicious.. I highly recommend this Hotel...thumbs up to the staff, but especially to the staff at the Service Desk (Reception)!! WELL DONE

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Escapio, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.