We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Palace to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Attard, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

the staff were great. the receptionists were very friendly and helped us with our tours and taxis

the rooms were perfect and very clean.
the breakfast was great
the view on top was amazing

highly recommend and very romantic

the only thing is that you only get 1hr free wifi

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    378
    68
    10
    6
See reviews for
161
404
40
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ornex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

In the best location of the town, it well matches a 4 stars standard which is not always obvious in Italy. The personnel is friendly and helpful, the restaurant on the roof (you need to reserve a couple of hours before for getting a table outdoor) serves excellent food at reasonable price, in a nice environment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We have recently had a four night stay at the lovely Una Palace. This was booked through their website after spending literally hours looking at many, many Sicilian hotels. We had a lovely stay and it is a haven of quality, peace and quiet after the traffic in Catania. The staff were delightful and always eager to help. We daily dropped our car at the front door and it was moved for us to the garage and then returned without delay when we wanted it. The executive rooms were worth the extra (free mini bar (no spirits) re stocked daily) and being on the fifth floor we had little traffic noise even though we were on the road side of the building. They were very clean and comfortable and well serviced each day. We had breakfast in the restaurant on the second floor, which was well managed, staffed, clean and the numerous buffet items were constantly being refilled. We had all our drinks on the super roof terrace with spectacular views of Mt Etna after having our evening meal in town.
As much as possible I use hotels recommended by T A members so the majority of my reviews are positive and this is no exception.
We did have a small issue over what I thought was an overpayment which dragged on but I am pleased that this was eventually satisfactorily resolved and a refund was returned to our credit card.
Certainly if we went back to Catania,which we won't (as Andy Williams sang there is such a lot of world to see) we would seriously consider and most probably would use the Una Palace again.

Room Tip: The higher the better to avoid the traffic noise. Executive rooms worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We only had 2 nights to spend in Catania and found the Una Palace Hotel to be a terrific location. Reasonably priced and very helpful staff. Only negative was that the tours they arranged (albeit on short notice) were mixed. Rooms were very nice, view from the roof restaurant/bar are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very nice hotel with gorgeous interior, the roof top bar is the best part though with a fantastic view of Mt Etnea. The cocktails and mini tapas is very nice, especially at happy hour. Relaxing place and very pleasant staff. The rooms could do with a lick of paint here and there but apart from that we were very happy with our exec room and free mini bar and wifi. The mini bar included at least 4 drinks each including one beer and a couple of snacks. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had an Exec room which included free mini bar and wifi which i would recommend. We didn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked this place for one night due to its central location and the inclusion in its executive rate of a breakfast.

PROS : Clean and central. The executive room we booked was nicely designed and the bathroom spacious and luxurious. We appreciated the balcony with a view of the main street and Mount Etna. The rooftop bar was a pleasant place to unwind in to have a quiet drink at the end of a long day. Taxis to the airport arrive within minutes to the hotel (booked by the receptionist) and are only 20 Euro (fixed rate). It takes only half an hour to the airport.

CONS :

1. The UNA Palace website fails to mention that there is a bus stop right outside it. We were stuck at the railway station and there were no taxis around yet we were right next to a huge bus station. When a taxi did arrive we were charged 20 euro to travel for 3 minutes. A bit excessive! On getting out of the taxi we noticed a bus stop near to the hotel entrance and many buses going down this road. This information should be placed on the hotel website.
2. Checking in . My online booking receipt did not mention the checking in time, nor does the website. We arrived at noon (two hours early) and were asked to dump our luggage in the public space next to the receptionist desk and they would be taken to our rooms for us. We asked them (twice) to put them behind the desk so that they would be safe and were assured that they would be. They did not do this. The cases were in the public area when we returned from lunch in the city and we took them to the rooms ourselves. If something had been stolen, who would have been responsible? There needs to be better provision for people who check in early considering their check in information is not made clear.
3. The breakfast on the first floor is only bearable if you are fond of white rolls, American coffee, pastries and unhealthy boxes of processed cereals. Personally I love a hot breakfast with well made omelettes . There was a hot food area in the breakfast buffet section which offered a tureen of limp unhealthy processed meats next to a container of neon yellow (!) sludge and another container of processed frankfurters and overly smoked, extremely fatty bacon. Next to this was a bowl of dry tasting hard boiled eggs. I have to say, I was hugely disappointed by this offering and did not feel set up for the day. As someone who avoids wheat, I had to make do with yoghurt and fruit because the neon yellow sludge was inedible as were the hard boiled eggs. What on earth do they add to the sludge to make it that alarmingly neon yellow colour, I wonder?
4. The Rooftop bar terrace limitations : We would have liked to have sat outside for our evening drink but unfortunately, as is so often the case, the outside area was mainly taken up by smokers, and the area was unbearably smoke-infested. We poor oppressed non-smokers often have to retreat indoors because of this. It is a great shame that people with asthma or who are pregnant cannot enjoy the evening fresh air on the rooftop in the hotel area and smokers (indulged by hotel policy) are allowed to rule the roost. Smoke does not dissipate easily (if at all) in a small open space on hot, stuffy nights!

This hotel has a lot of potential. If it works on improving on its website information, check in procedure, and the quality of its cooked breakfast on the first floor then it would be a more pleasant experience for guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you first for considering our hotel with a lot of potential and for your advices as well your detailed feedback, which represents a source of information helping us to monitor the service’s quality that we provide to our guests, who, as you noticed, can enjoy and well stylish design rooms and exclusive locations, like our panoramic Etnea Roof garden.

At the same time, we are really sorry to read that you did not like our continental buffet breakfast, whose fresh variety of sweet and savoury products, is well appreciated but our guests, but it depends on personal tastes and preferences and as you said you love more hot breakfast. And for guests like you who have this preference we usually suggest our Etnea Roof breakfast, where only with a little supplement you can also eat and enjoy typical Sicilian specialities from a menù à la carte, which are made at the moment by our chef the cuisine.
Concerning your web site reservation we invite next time that will have the pleasure to host you to book directly on our website where you will find and get all the details and info that you need about check in time, transportation, connections, tours, external city services because there is a special section through which you can contact us directly and we will be happy to assist and reply to your requests and answer to all your doubts.

Our main priority is to satisfy our guests needs as per your preferences and we really apologize if during a huge concentration of demand probably due to only a misunderstanding you bags were kept apart behind front desk area anyway well controlled because there are cams and monitors but of course it would have been suitable to find then inside your room as always, that is why we have already talked to the personnel on duty for luggage moving and delivery.

We were pleased that you pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards. Your comments give us the opportunity to continue to improve our services
in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you choose to stay at UNA Hotel Palace.

Kindest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Probably the only luxury hotel option in CTA.

Positives:
1) Location
2) Staff
3) Breakfast
4) Rooftop view
5) Value

Negatives:
1) Bathroom layout was a little cramped (normal for Europe)
2) Most uncomfortable bed I've ever experienced. Despite the 'pillow menu' - absolute pain.
3) While the view was a 10/10, the food on the rooftop was awful.

Overall, despite the uncomfortable bed, I'd give them a B+/A-.

Would return.

Room Tip: Get a room w/ an Etna view. I think they call these Executive Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.