We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNA Hotel Catania” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Save Saved
You added UNA Hotel Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 103 hotels in Catania
Catania
1 review
“UNA Hotel Catania”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent position, in the city Center. Easy access, beautiful view from the roof Restaurant. Rooms are well furnished, but unfortunately no LED TV. We had the sicilian breakfast on the roof top, magnificent view of the Etna and of Catania city center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    298
    46
    5
    4
See reviews for
120
302
30
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wifi really should be part part of standard service these days, and therefore included in the price of stay; especially in a 4-star hotel. And the drinks from the mini bar, as well as on the rooftop terrace, are quite overpriced in our opinion. But apart from that: a great stay, a good first time (and certainly not the last...) in a UNA hotel; and thumbs up for the enjoyable staff at UNA Palace in Catania! Thanx for everything -

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel and very helpful and friendly staff. We had a great room, sadly the air conditioning failed, but they did quickly find us another room to match which was appreciated.
The restaurant on the roof is not cheap, from starter to main, each is around 20-24 Euro BUT the food is very good, something which, surprisingly, the local restaurants are not. That was the one downside of Catania, it's a lovely place, ideal for a long weekend break say 4-5 days, really nice sandy beaches only a 10 minute bus ride away, surprisingly inexpensive, Mount Etna, it's all good but unlike the rest of Italy the restaurants are not up to much. Taormina is worth a visit, train there in 45 minutes, the views are stunning. Overall an enjoyable place to go but if you are staying for a week or more I suggest you hire a car for a few days to explore the East side of Sicily.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was not a bad hotel,since we were in an executive room with free wi-fi and mini bar.It was not as flash as i thought but good enough.Breakfast consists of pastries lots,sparkling wine,juice,loads of bread and hams and more nice and if you need a cappacino just ask.Staff were very helpful never any problems.

There is more cafe's near that sell icecream than real food,but you are in a decent main road so pay attention to all the alley ways because that is where you will find hidden shops and restuarants.

There is a department store opposite the hotel,not bad at all.When you venture further the traffic has no mercy you just have to walk,just watch everyone else,scary.

Food on average i think was pretty cheap especially cake shops and ice cream,not far from the hotel is the market not bad at all and more further looks like the only supermarket called Pronto it is fine.

Oh i forgot happy hour is pretty good pay 10 euro choose a drink and eat traditional food buffet style nice,we had a cocktail not nice at all had to send it back allitle too generous with the fresh ginger.On the roof floor 7 you get nice views of Mt Etna,she smokes alot.

Public transport like the buses are 1 euro one way but the pace of things is slow or does not happen otherwise good.

Not bad place at all more than 3-4 days in Catania is enough.

Room Tip: Get an executive room with free wi-fi and mini bar.The wonderful tv service is not any good and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location ,GREAT BUFFET BREAKFAST , friendly and helpful staff .
room very clean and well decorated ,great aperitif on the roof terrace an ideal start and end of Sicilian tour, do not miss Eolian Islands !

Room Tip: 1 hour wifi ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel offers a modern design in the guest rooms with an interesting style, not what you would expect in this city. The Front Desk staff were very helpful with information and advice on local attractions. The rooftop patio bar/restaurant has a good view of Etna and until it gets dark, I would recommend it for a drink and an appetizer. At night, DO NOT sit outside on the patio unless you want to be blinded by garden-style floodlights!! Note to management: You have a nicely decorated patio, good appetizers and friendly staff - why don't you install some appropriate lighting to maintain the mood after dark? Moving on, the breakfast buffet is good with a fresh orange squeezer for juice. The location is well placed for shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are driving to the hotel, spend some time in advance with a map as the front entrance is on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was staying at Una Palace for 5 nights. The location is perfect as right in the middle of Via Etnea which is the main street for shops and sights. Breakfast was included and was good. All the pastries and naughty stuff you could imagine, Cereal, fruit (although not much fresh...), cheese, meats, Boiled eggs, fresh coffee etc. Definitely good value. Hotel was very clean and modern.

Staff were very helpful with everything !! Always smiling and happy to answer questions

Bad points - Gym and Internet. Gym was terrible. No free weights, mats or balls. Only 3 pieces of equipment - 2 bikes and a treadmill. The multigym was out of order. They really need to add some weights and other gym stuff. I ended up going for a run around Bellini Park which is just up the road. Its not big but you can certainly knock out 3-4 miles doing some laps. Also ran on Sunday morning at 7am so the roads were quieter so ran down Via Etnea.

Internet - not included. 2 computers in the foyer which you had to pay for. HOWEVER, I only used on my final day and they did give me a free login without me asking but only one of the computers would work & it was slow.

So if you are a gym rat or want to be glued to an ipad etc not great.

Went up to the rooftop on the first day but not after. Was very nice up there with good views.

BTW no tea/coffee in the rooms. This is an Italian thing apparently vs the hotel not providing.

I would recommend Una Palace

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor in room 618. Was nice as it had an outside area - not a balcony, more like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for spending your precious time to review our hotel hence living all readers a good source of information. We are very happy you appreciated our location, right in the heart of the city centre, also hotel cleanness and furniture, and last but not least kindness and professionalism of our staff who is always ready to fulfil all guests needs.

We understand you were fully satisfied about your stay, and we are flattered about it. On the other hand we are sorry you experienced some difficulties with our gym because of the multigym. We regret to inform you that this machine, in particular, has been broken and it is out of order until we will receive the replaced piece we ordered to fix it. Moreover I would like to specify that unfortunately we do not have enough space in the gym in order to add more gym machines. We try to maximise space with generally more used gym machines in order to fulfil general needs.

As per internet connection, in our hotel this depends on room type: we offer, in fact, a 1h free for Classic standard room while all inclusive (wi-fi and Minibar) in all other room type.

All things considered, we invite you to come here again in order to give us the opportunity to fulfil more and more your expectations and please do not hesitate to contact us for any additional info you may need and why not suggesting our special packages and offers including additional benefits and services.

Very best regards

Valentina Lanza
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Fastbooking so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.