We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel in the Heart of the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Save Saved
You added UNA Hotel Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 103 hotels in Catania
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant Hotel in the Heart of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

While our time here was very brief--one night, we would definitely stay here on future trips. Staff was outstanding and location could not have been more central. Parking was made easy (staff did it for us) and because of the recommendation of the staff, we ate at probably one of the best pizza restaurants ever, on Via San Filomena. Also, the room was very hip and grand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a week for our first visit to Sicily.

Perhaps a week was too long in Catania but we didn’t want to drive and bus services from Catania allowed us day trips to Taormina and Syracuse plus an excursion to Etna. So not bad for a taster.

Now getting to the hotel…

We arrived and were swiftly checked in and provided the key to the room (an executive suite). We walked in and immediate impression was it was a little dated. Nothing really major although seeing an old CRT TV (as opposed to flat screen) and wear and tear on furnishings etc. I had asked for a quiet room and the room was exactly that. However, on pulling back the curtain the view was awful. Given we were staying for a week we agreed that we didn’t want to look at an ugly the rooftop of some other building. We asked to move to another room with a better view. The hotel was fully booked but they agreed to move us the next day. The staff were professional and polite in dealing with this request.

The next day I asked to see the room before we moved. We were duly shown the room that overlooked the main street (with a small balcony) and also told that there would be noise from the street so if we wanted a quiet stay we were probably better off staying where we were. After some debate between us we decided to move to this new room.

Yes there was noise but to be honest we were out of the room for virtually the whole day and the street quietened down at night but it’s definitely not silent, so expect some noise. Note, that although it’s on the main street there is no traffic outside as there are restrictions for that part of the street. You’ll hear some cars, buses, emergency vehicles etc.

The room itself was laid out differently to the first room we had – this one had a separate shower and dressing area but not a separate living area like the first room. As I said we preferred it.
Now the niggles, again there is wear and tear, the shower screen didn’t fully close leaving a half inch gap at the bottom of the doors. The carpet was extremely dirty – we requested slippers. It was definitely in need of a super deep clean but better still, fully replaced.
The beds are very hard, but we got used to it.

In terms of facilities, the selection for breakfast was fine, however some improvements can be made. When ordering tea I had to specifically as for a pot of hot water and would have to walk over to the buffet for tea bags and milk – I was never given a small jug of milk. The fruit selection wasn’t great. Fresh pineapple, fresh cherries, prunes and canned pears. I would have expected to see fresh berries, peaches, watermelon which were available in abundance in the markets. Hot food consisted of scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon. We tried to order omelette but were hit with a language problem so not sure if this would have been available if we had overcome that. Cappuccino, espresso were offered when seating us. On the plus side there was an amazing selection of pastries.

We didn’t eat at the restaurant for dinner, menu options looked good but very pricey. We did use the bar a number of times – for 10 EUR you could have a drink and limitless arancini – great idea. The staff were always pleasant, polite and helpful. There were some vegetarian aranchini items too so I didn’t end up with just a plate of olives. And as mentioned in all the other reviews the views from there are great.

Internet access was slow - this could be down to their regional networks and not the fault of the hotel. The room we had included unlimited access but we did have keep requesting passwords which expired after 3 days (and sometimes didn't seem to work). But the computer linked to the printer needs its system date updated!! Beware this may cause you issues when trying to do online check-ins or anything else reliant on the system date.

The gym was functional, but could use a swiss ball, some small free weights and exercise mats to make it much better.

In all it’s a hotel I’d use again. But there is room for improvement so I can’t give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma, california
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First, Catania is a wonderful old city with wide streets and beautiful old buildings built out of volcanic rock. My husband was reluctant to visit the city as he thought we would find it unappealing. It turned out Catania was one of our favorite cities in Sicily, though it did not have an abundance of restaurants to choose from.

Second, UNA was once of our favorite hotels in Sicily. We asked for a quiet room and we weren't disappointed. Yes, the view from the room was into an alleyway, but it was dead silent and we had a great sleep.

Yes, the room was a tad dated - mostly I felt it could have used a fresh paint job. It was still a very comfortable stay and the room was attractive.

Breakfast was good, though Espresso/Cappuccinos would have been nice. They did have American coffee. The pastries were good and you could squeeze your own fresh OJ. There were cheeses, ham and salami as well. They did serve eggs and bacon - all runny and under-cooked, but we really appreciated the effort.

We arrived at the hotel and dropped off our bags. The valet will park your car in the hotel parking garage (I don't believe they will allow you to park it yourself). It was actually a nice feature rather than struggling to find a parking place or garage like we did in many Sicilian cities. The cost of the parking is 20 euros a day.

We would stay here again if visiting Catania.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main street/front of the building. We were on an alley and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

UNA hotel is a great place to stay, all good reviews are accurate. We stayed
in a suite that was two levels, living room on the lower level with a toilet
and bedroom and full bathroom on the top level. Room had a balcony with views
of Etna and the town.
Mini fridge is nice to store your own drinks and picnic makings. The
breakfast is the usual buffet, mix of hot and cold items. We took
recommendations of other TA reviews and didn't pay extra for the breakfast on
the roof. One night before setting off to walk around we had drinks on the
roof. Really nice views as the suns sets. We had drinks but thought the
price was extremely high. We had planned to partake in the happy hour buffet,
until we found it was 10 Euros per person. We assumed it would be free as the
happy hour at our last UNA hotel in Venice was free.

There is a small local shop close by to buy water and other beverages, and a
large supermarket about 10-15 min walk. ( The beer and wine in the supermarket
is really cheap). If you find it's too late to go to any of the shops, you
can buy drinks at little stands/huts, just down from the hotel towards
McDonalds. You'll see this all over, the beer ones look like mini bars, you
can take away, or drink there. Local beer was 1 Euro.

Most important is the bus station, after a day or so in Catania you'll have to
find other places to go. The bus station is about a 20 min walk, make sure to
get good directions. You have to find the bus office to buy a ticket, then go
to the bus station. Old town Saracussa is worth a trip or two.

Just down from the hotel is Central Pizza, this is a must see. 2 guys work
here, one taking the orders and the other doing the cooking. Most expensive
pizza is 4.80 euro. Pizzas are cooked in a stone oven, taste great and you can't beat the price. If you can, get a seat
at the bar and watch.

Room Tip: If you can, pay for a upgrade with a balcony and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a huge classy hotel. We were very happy with our welcoming and the room was very clean and nicely decorate but for the price we have paid, we would have expected a free WIFI access... 1,50 euro for half an hour... come on ! The same for the turkish bath ... not free.
Me and my husband decided to go to the top roof restaurant, the view is amazing: it overlooks Catania's town and you can see the ETNA really well. The restaurant was very classy too, prices very expensive ( 18euros for a tomato mozzarella) so we expected nice dishes. Finally we were very disappointed as the antipasti were extreamly expensives and not very nice: the tomato was not mature ( green) and not even nicely decorate in the plate. A real joke.
Our main dishes were nice but the price was definitly too high for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time in order to write your feedback about your stay in our hotel that has a great appeal for worldwide travellers, as per tripadvisor and other website reviews and index approval, especially for our high quality and guest oriented services.

We understand that your experience at our hotel is absolutely positive based on your comment which appreciates our welcome and rooms and hotel standard. On the other hand we are sorry you were disappointed about internet charge, which depends on room type choice, generally not included in classic standard room, although we are very flexible giving 1h free wifi, while all inclusive wi-fi and minibar for all other room type rate.

As per your experience in our Etnea Roof restaurant, we will absolutely take note of your opinion, which is highly important for us However, we would like inform you that our restaurant is one of the most renowned in Catania both for the courses' quality and service performance which justify our menu prices, absolutely reflecting same high level standard hotel restaurant in town.
A part from personal taste in terms of food, your comment, anyway, gives us the opportunity to continue to improve us in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you eat in our panoramic restaurant, maybe by choosing one of our menu offers which, for example, give our guest the opportunity to enjoy a meal and a breakfast in our Etnea roof.

We invite you to come here again in order to give us the opportunity to fulfil more and more your expectations and please do not hesitate to contact us for any additional info you may need and why not suggesting our special packages and offers including additional benefits and services.

Very best regards
Valentina Lanza
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay in the Una Hotel palace. They were kind enough to upgrade our room. It was very comfortable. It is situated on Via Etnea which is the main thoroughfare so it is a relatively short walk to most attractions. The rooftop terrace has amazing views of Mount Etna. they do great cocktails also!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is pretty much the perfect location to base yourself to see Catania. You can walk to all the sites and there are plenty of good restaurants and shops in the adjoining streets. The Via S Filomena is just 2 minutes away and is a great place to go for dinner. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and we were most impressed with the efficiency in booking us in for a tour at short notice. I booked this hotel months earlier partially because of the glowing reviews about the rooftop breakfast location. It seemed like the arrangements had changed and the standard breakfast is now on the 1st floor and one has to book and pay extra for the rooftop. We did this one morning and the views and setting and breakfast were all very special but the standard buffet on the 1st floor is also very good. The room itself was a good size and well furnished with a good bathroom. A pillow menu was provided but the mattress was extraordinarily firm. I thought it might be too hard for a good night's sleep but it was not a problem and I have since found that very firm mattresses are the way they roll in Sicilian hotels. The one flaw of this hotel is its technology. 1 hour of wifi is provided for per day with a cumbersome system of a new password being provided by reception (what a waste of the staff and customers time). Then there are the two pcs in the lobby which require a different password again and are on dial up system (yes, dial up, in 2014). It took about 20 minutes to print out a boarding pass, what a pain. So 1 star has been deducted for the poor IT set-up, otherwise this is a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.