We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a huge disappointment!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Palace to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Catania
Dubai, UAE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a huge disappointment!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked this hotel because it had such great TripAdvisor ratings, unfortunately we were really disappointed.
We visited Catania to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday with friends. We booked the hotel for five nights for a party of five (ourselves and our 3 children).
We were very specific about requesting a room that did not face the Via Etnea (a very busy road) and on a high floor. The hotel send us written confirmation that our room would be on the 5th floor and not facing the busy road. On arrival, our room was on the 2nd floor and faced Via Etnea. The hotel manager showed us several much smaller rooms that did not even have enough room for our whole family, or rooms that required us to split our party up. Essentially, the written confirmation we received was wrong, the 5th floor inside room was simply not available and no other rooms were able to accomodate us. My husband slept poorly the entire time we were there, due to the noise from the road.
We asked the hotel if they would reserve a couch seating area for our party of 6 on my husband's birthday during the cocktail hour. They refused to allow us to reserve this small area. When it became obvious that the hotel had no way of assisting us with the room problem, they said they would allow us to reserve a couch for our party. By this time it was too late as we had made reservations elsewhere.
On checkout, we received a bill for about $900. This was nearly half of what we were expecting and we asked the checkout clerk if there was a discount due to the problems with the room. The checkout clerk assured us that our bill had been discounted because of the room. We signed a single credit card receipt.
On arrival at home, we discovered that our credit card had been swiped twice for the same amount and there had been, in fact, no discount. Moreover, when we issued a complaint through the hotels website, we received an email from an individual who stated that the matter would be investigated. Four weeks later, we have heard nothing from the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept the room until you see it. Rooms facing Via Etnea are very loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    354
    57
    8
    5
See reviews for
148
368
36
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Simply put, this hotel is a amazing in every way!! The hotel is very clean in all areas and the staff are truly attentive to the needs of their guests. They struggle a little with English but they try their hardest to communicate with their guests and go out of their way to to make you feel welcome.

The rooms are fantastic and the hotel itself is based right in the centre of town. Throw in the amazing rooftop bar which provides breathtaking views of mount etna, and its fair to say that I enjoyed my stay at this hotek in every way. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and if I was ever to visit Catania I will definitely book in to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your nice review and sharing your pleasant experience on Tripadvisor, so that you highly recommend it to the worldwide travellers, because you can find by us of the UNA world, all the ingredients for an amazing stay.

We do our best to take care of our guests, proposing an innovative concept of hospitality, based on the care details, quality services and exclusive ambiances, such as our Etnea Roof, panoramic location where you can spend delicious and unforgettable moments.

Undoubtedly your feedback help us to monitor the quality of our services and to improve if necessary, in order to make sure that your expectations are again and more fully satisfied the next time you choose stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at UNA Hotel Palace but also in the other hotels of our “made in Italy”chain.


Kindest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Qulaity and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

When walking in to this hotel it is like a little gem hidden from the city.
The hotel is stunning to look at, very clean and the staff although they struggle a little with English tried their hardest to make you feel welcome without being too pushy.
The buffet meal up on the balcony was divine and for the price of € 10 with an alcoholic drink included nobody could grumble at the price.
If I was ever to visit Catania I would certainly book in to this hotel at a total cost of €126 a night for an executive room that has all the facilities you could wish for.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Madame,
thank you for choosing to stay in our Italian design UNA hotel in Catania and sharing your fresh experience with Tripdavisor travellers worldwide community.

As you perceived during your stay, it is really counts for us to make you feel very welcome and at your ease, so that you appreciated both our made in Italy hospitality and the services that we offer to our guests, who like you can enjoy stunning locations and glamour ambiances, such as our Etnea Roof top, having a delicious happy hour or even more, as the typical delights of our special Sicilian breakfast or our prime courses, like the tasty “Pasta alla Norma” and more and more, from our panoramic terrace, which really enchants your senses, especially during these days of November, with the Etna majestic eruption, so experiencing now even its natural live show.

So, there are a plenty of good reasons for coming here at UNA Hotel Palace. Indeed, we are really glad that you have already expressed your intention to stay again and we hope that you will have the chance as well to visit the other hotels of our chain in Italy.

Very best regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is on Via Etnea, which leads through the city with a spectacular view of the volcano at the end of the street. The Duomo and the roman sites (amphitheatre and theatre) are within easy walking distance and it's right in the middle of the shopping area. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the hotel was very comfortable. I would very happily stay there again. The soft amaretti biscuits at turn-down were a real treat too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Madame,
we truly appreciate your taking the time to write about UNA Hotel Palace in Catania on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and your kind comments regarding your recent stay are very important to us.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us especially appreciating our hotel central location in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania.

Moreover, we thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our staff. We do genuine care about the well-being of all our guests and always do our best to make every stay as enjoyable as possible, because UNA takes care of you.

Our hotel chain's philosophy is to provide an exclusive experience also through care of details, an emphasis on the local traditions, so that the little almonds biscuits that you find in your room during turn over are a little attention for our guests with a typical and traditional Sicilian product.

And if you would like more and more tasting the typical Sicilian delights, we also propose to our guests with a only little supplement, the special Sicilian breakfast on the Etnea Roof. An exclusive service where savory and sweet specialties such us the cannolo with ricotta cheese or Arancino are made at the moment by our chef the cuisine.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future both here and in the other UNA hotels.

Warmest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We traveled with a group of seniors on a tour of Sicily and found this hotel to be commodious and the staff very professional. There were 27 of us and the staff handled us with care and seemingly effortlessly.

Breakfast was good. Alas we never had dinner here. But the rooftop bar is a great place for a drink with a great view of Etna. Don't miss the bar experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location with short walk to two amazing pastry, ice cream cafés and across from the city garden. And a nice manageable walk to the duomo. Perfect modern rooms with great bathrooms and linen. Included breakfast was the best of our stay inSicily. What is not to love about ricotta filled donuts! Rooftop lounge has great deal at. Happy hour with 10 euro drinks and an extensive spread of meats, cheeses, verges, etc. Enough for a meal. Don't miss. Or the view of mt Etna if there arnt clouds. We would always stay there if there is another stay for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame,
thank you so much for sharing with the other Tripadvisor's travellers your “happy hour heaven” experience in our Italian design hotel hotel and your intention to stay here again.

It is really nice to read that you enjoyed its central location,as well as the comfort of your room and its facilities and above all, our services, such as either our first floor continental buffet breakfast or our happy hour, with tasty snacks, appetizers and delicious cocktails at the seventh floor terrace, the "Etnea Roof" exclusive location, with amazing view both to the baroque city centre and the majestic volcano.

We look forward to having you again in UNA Hotel Palace as our kind guests and we hope you will have also the opportunity to stay in the in other centrally and strategic located hotels of our "made in Italy" chain.

Kindest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The UNA Hotel Palace is only 2 minutes from the Piazza del Duomo. We had a nice room, enough space, a very good bed. You have to shower in the bath, that's a minus. The shower is one of those "eco" ones, that give a very soft stream of water, which is nice for a spring rain, but not to wash your hair and body. The breakfast is okay, as long as everything gets replenished. The personnel is very friendly. Now, the restaurant. We had diner there out of convenience, but it's overpriced, for not very good food.
We spent our last few hours of sunshine on the terrace of the Etnea Roof Bar and that was a splendid way to end our short stay. Sun going under, terrific view on the smoking Etna, Prosecco and some tidbits of the "Happy Hour" buffet. Perfect. I would stay here again, but dine outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.