We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Palace to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Catania
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A great hotel in a handy location in Catania close to shops and most of the main sites. The bus stop to the airport is right across the street too.

Paid for the (fairly nominal) fee for the upgrade to superior room and we were provided with a double room corner suite (with two balconies) that was so big I could do the shuttle run beep test from one end of the room to the other!

Superior room upgrade also means unlimited free wifi and minibar which is restocked daily - a few cokes and other soft drinks, water, cans of beer and juices - well worth it.

As others have mentioned, breakfast on the terrace for the extra ten euro is far superior to the buffet which is served downstairs in the hotel and the views are amazing! Also don't miss happy hour - 10 euro per person for a cocktail with antipasti buffet. You will order more than one drink though!

Staff were superb as well.

Just brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    354
    58
    8
    5
See reviews for
148
368
36
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great location, near all important sites in Catania. Great rooms, very good breakfast and beatiful restaurant on the roof top with a view to Etna volcano. Strongly recomend! However, it's provided only one hour of free internet wi-fi. This is unacceptable nowadays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
greetings from UNA Hotel Palace in Catania and thank you for sharing your UNA experience in our Italian design hotel, on Tripadvisor.

We truly appreciate you took the time to post your review, which is a valid source of information regarding your stay and helps us to monitor and improve the quality of our services. We have close to our heart to provide the excellence of the Italian hospitality, with new and original guest services, based on efficiency, emotions and innovation and so, it is pleasure for us to read that you really enjoyed an excellent experience, so that you have recommended us to the other travellers.

Your opinion really counts for us and therefore, we also propose to our guests special packages on our website, where WIFI is also included as an additional benefit.
Then, you can book the special weekend package and if you are looking for much more, you can choose our upgrade formula “Seven heaven earth in your room” and get a superior room, including minibar and unlimited internet access, only with a little extra.

We stay at your disposal for any further info you may need and in the meantime, we hope we will host you soon here and the UNA Hotels and Resorts.

Kind regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having arrived late in the dark and never visited Catania before it was a huge surprise to see so many lit up shops and there was our hotel in the middle. At the reception we were upgraded to a two storey suite. WOW! Very stylish lounge and bathroom downstairs - bedroom, bathroom, changing room upstairs with views onto the main street. We unpacked, changed etc and popped up to the Etnea rooftop bar and restaurant. WOW! We were shown to a table outside where we had a perfect view of Etna and firework displays in the distance. The food was fantastic and the service great. Next day we had breakfast upstairs too and saw the amazing daytime views of Etna and Catania. Then off to shop and sight see. We found the fantastic design park, the market and several good places to eat and drink. But such shame we could not take this wonderful hotel around with us on ours travels.
If staying in Catania it must be the ONLY place to stay. Shall look up other Una Palace hotels in Italy in future when travelling. Thankyou so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame,
we appreciate very much your comments regarding your stay in our Italian design hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive review and to know that you enjoyed your stay experience appreciating both our services quality and our exclusive ambiances, such us our Etnea Roof terrace with amazing view both to the highest active volcano in Europe, the Etna, and the baroque city centre.

We will share your comments with our team and we are happy that our Italian hospitality also exceeds your expectations so that, you consider us a huge surprise.

Thank you again for sharing your great experience with Tripadvisor’ s community and for choosing UNA Hotels for your future stays all over Italy, why not discovering not only the Italian beauties but also the excellence in the "made in Italy" cuisine.

Very best regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Una Hotel Palace was just lovely. When I got there, I realized that I hadn't gotten a room with a balcony, which I wanted so I paid 12 euro to upgrade and it was worth it. The rooms are large, clean and beautiful. Make sure to eat at the rooftop restaurant - or at least have a drink and enjoy the very inexpensive happy hour buffet. Also, the breakfast was quite good and had many different food and beverage offerings. I can't wait to go back. It is within a few blocks of all of the major sites in Catania. Plus, as a single woman traveler, I felt very safe there. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a balcony. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thanks to the very friendly and helpful manager Rita Monfrini whom I contacted prior to our stay notifying her of my allergies and specific needs, we had the most perfect stay during our 4 nights in an executive room with balcony and amazing views of Mount Etna. Although our room was overlooking the main shopping street, we did not hear a sound thanks to the double glazing. The hotel is in a prime location which cannot be beaten and is within easy walking distance of the main square, cathedral and all other main attractions. There are bus stops only a few yards from the hotel and a Tabacchi a few doors down where you can buy bus tickets from the lovely lady which cost 1euro and are valid for 90 minutes. Remember to validate them at the start of your travel. There are lots of lovely cafes, gelaterias and shops along the main road and the mad main flea market which lies in the square behind the hotel is a definite ‘must experience ‘whilst in Catania.

The room was large with a seating area and extremely clean and comfortable which exceeded our expectations in this regard. The enormous bed was luxurious with a pillow menu to choose from. I have a neck problem so rarely sleep well but had absolutely no complaints during our stay. In fact I had some of the best nights sleep in a long while especially after a long hike up and down Mount Etna. The little almond cookies left on the pillows during turndown service is a lovely touch.

The buffet breakfast was plentiful with a wide selection of food to choose from. It wasn’t all cakes and pastries but there was a good selection of fruit, breads, cheeses, cereals, hot and cold drinks. We did not feel the need to pay for the traditional Sicilian breakfast on the roof terrace as the buffet breakfast was more than adequate for our needs but did go up to the terrace to take some photos and relax. The breakfast staff were very attentive and greeted everyone with smiles, even remembering who you were the following day. It did not feel like you were being rushed or watched over like in some hotels which can be off putting. Breakfast at the hotel was a lovely relaxing and luxurious experience.

Check in was quick and efficient and all members of staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. As for Rita- the brilliant Rita! She truly went out of her way to help her guests. We needed to know about the bus times to Mount Etna- no problem. We were having difficulty finding details for our coach to Agrigento –no problem. We needed to find a supermarket- no problem. I needed to try a different pillow for my neck –no problem. Rita is a real gem and it is her genuine warmth and interest in her guests as well as her kind heart and generosity that adds to the overall superb experience of staying at Hotel Una. Rita epitomises excellent customer care and there are plenty of front line hotel staff we have encountered during our travels who can learn from her. Thank you for all your help Rita and making our stay at Hotel Una special! Keep up the good work and keep smiling that wonderful smile of yours!

We would highly recommend this hotel to others and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Definitely paying a bit extra for a room with balcony and views of Mt Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location is perfect!
Staff is very kind ane helpful! I liked the design of room - white with elements of sicilian style. Restaraunt on the roof is highly recommended to visit especially at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.