We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Palace to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Catania
Bendigo
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was a fantastic experience. Central location made the experience of Catania even better than expected. The staff were amazing, friendly and willing to go out of their way to assist any query we had. We were very lucky to all be upgraded to a Junior suite. They were large rooms with a small sitting area. Bedding was comfortable. There was a large variety for food for breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice that you did yourself, to bacon and eggs. After a long trip from Naples it was fantastic to arrive at this accommodation. I would recommend anyone travelling to Catania to stay at this fantastic accommodation. I will now be looking at other Una Hotels in the future when travelling.

Room Tip: Any room will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,
first thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us and with the other Tripadvisor’s travellers and also really appreciating our attentions and assistance.

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests and to obtain their perspective of the hotel, one of the best ways for us to know more about our services’ performance, through the eyes of those who have visited us. Therefore, we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we were successful in making your experience more fantastic that you expected to be. Comments like yours truly inspire all of us here to work harder every day and to try to exceed our guests' expectations.

Your support is greatly appreciated and we thank you in advance for choosing us and all UNA Hotels for your future travels.

So looking forward to welcoming you soon in the UNA world,

Warmest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    353
    57
    8
    5
See reviews for
148
368
36
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

From Valentina at the the front desk to the wait staff at breakfast and the barman on the roof terrace, service was extraordinary and efficient. Sophisticated hotel with a strong Italian design aesthete, this chic hotel delivers much more than I had hoped for.

Room Tip: Quiet. Faced interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,
many thanks for your recent stay in our Italian design hotel and your positive rating on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time and that our hotel was more than you hoped for, thanks to our team efficiency and great service. The colleagues from the food and beverage department and Valentine thank you too for your nice comments.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon, why not enjoying more and more our gorgeous Etnea Roof restaurant and delicious Sicilian breakfast.

Kind regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We picked-up this hotel based on the reviews we read @ tripadvisor and we didn't regret. Good location (nearbyRoman Anfiteatre) and walk distance from Piazza Duomo, this looks like a boutique hotel. New rooms, good breakfast and facilities. The Etna roof restaurant, located in the 7th floor (top) is really good and offer a great dinning service and wine list. Highlight also to the hotel staffing! everybody really helpful and kind. Martha, from the front desk, gave us very good tips on where to eat and also to where buy Italian wines. Negative point is that once this is a Palace, a swimming pool is not available. Whenever I return to Catania, this will be our place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have too much luggage, go for the big rooms. the standard one is really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location - close to shops, transport to almost anywhere, great reasturants close buy (any budget), very helpful staff, especially the breakfast ladies - always smiling and cheerful. Good service, great view from rooftop bar. Expensive inside hotel - lots of reasonable choices close buy for food and bars. Easy walking to most sites. Supermarket nearby and small fridge in room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The rooms are UNA are small, at least our room was. It has a balconette overlooking a central courtyard. The rooftop restaurant has lovely views of Mt. Etna and breakfast is served here. We also utilized the gym, which was small but sufficient.
The hotel has a fairly central location, so very easy to access restaurants and shopping, but otherwise Catania was just a stopover for us to go hike Etnea. The city itself lacks the charms that the smaller towns or villages that Sicily has to offer. The valet parking was helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Madame,
thank you for your comments on this website. Your observations and opinions are appreciated as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities, we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

We are sorry that you were not charmed by the baroque ambiance of Catania city and that you consider your booked classic room small. Most of our guests like this room type, as it is 20 mq. Anyway, we understand your point of view and on this matter, we take the opportunity to propose you our upgrade formula "Seven Heaven in your room" and you can get much more : upgrade to a bigger superior room with free internet and minibar, for just 12€ .

Hoping to have the great pleasure to host you here again for a longer stay, so that you can more enjoy also the city attractions and not only,

Very best regards,

Rita Monfrini
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just checked out of the Una Hotel Palace and were given an upgrade. Thank you. Everything went well at check in and had a good 1st nights sleep. We woke up to find that the A/C drain had backed up and dripped brown water on my wife's white pants and water on a bunch of other cloths. This is when the service team at a hotel shows it stuff or in Una Hotel Palace did and could not. We left the pants at the front desk and left for the AM. They promised to have the pants back in the afternoon before 6PM. When we returned they asked us to switch rooms as they determined the room required significant work. Hey stuff happens. We moved rooms right next door with their help only to find that the carpet in the room was likely the dirtiest carpet I have seen in my 32 adult years of travel with average of 100 nights per year. Since we had already packed and dropped the stuff we said oh well. It is only 1 night. At 5PM we checked with the front desk to find out the pants would not arrive in the afternoon but when after the shopped closed at 7PM. This did not happen either and we left for dinner at 7:30PM. We were promised the pants were going to be in the room when we returned. They were not. So at 10:40 PM I called the front desk and the person seemed surprised. I told them we were checking out in the AM and we needed the pants tonight. Next was a scene from Abbott and Costello. 2 people arrived at our door with 2 different sets of men's white pants over the next 10 minutes. It was then time for my wife to take over and call the front desk and after another 15 minutes the pants arrived with spots removed.

The hotel is very nice, roof top part is amazing view and great breakfast and the staff on the roof is excellent. But when things go wrong and can happen it is not handled professionally nor efficiently, and the fact the carpet was that dirty and was not considered was when they moved us should have been considered. We were offered no compensation at check and no apology for all of the mistakes. I will not repeat using this hotel nor likely the hotel chain

So if you think nothing will go wrong great place with great people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Direttore at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feed back. This will help us to monitor the quality of our services.

We really apologize for the inconvenience occurred during you stay and we were pleased that you also pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards.

Your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our services, in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you choose stay with us.

Best regards,

Massimiliano Torre
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville KY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for a few days on business trip so I really didn't get out and try to enjoy things. The room was nice. It had a good TV and a micro fridge. I wound up not eating there, but there was a nice restaurant upstairs with a good view of Mt Etna. There was a good amount within walking distance if you know what time to go out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sir,
we would like to thank you for sharing your business trip experience in UNA Hotel Palace with the huge Tripadvisor's community .

We are pleased that you enjoyed things, while staying here and that you noticed our exclusive Etnea Roof terrace, where our guests find both our American Bar and panoramic Restaurant, experiencing "the Made in Sicily " suggestive environment and tasty specialities.

Then, we hope you will come here again in the near future and stay also in the other Italian design hotels of our chain, sure that your expectations will be fully satisfied, the next time you choose us for your vacations too.

Best regards,
Rita Monfrini
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Escapio, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.