We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean central hotel with very good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added UNA Hotel Palace to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Catania
Msida, null, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean central hotel with very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located and the staff were very helpful. The rooftop restaurant offers a good menu at very reasonable prices. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Catania.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for posting your review of UNA Hotel Palace on Tripadvisor and recommending it to the other travellers.

Your feedback regarding our facilities and service is extremely important to us and allows us to monitor continually and improve in our daily work.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us especially appreciating our hotel central location in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania and that you were impressed with our staff and found it to be wonderfully helpful. We do genuine care about the well-being of all our guests and always do our best to make every stay as pleasant as possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in UNA World and please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any further information or assistance.

Kind regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    331
    51
    8
    4
See reviews for
136
346
32
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel was a really good surprise for my friends and I. The room were clean and had a lot of space. Bathrom was great. Could maybe change the shower head.
The staff was helpful and very polite. But I missed the "Welcome" part, the "enjoy your stay" part and the "welcome back" part. Upon check out there wasn't any question about how we liked our stay or not. So maybe that's something they can work on. Other than that, the staff was excellent! :)

When it comes to the breakfast, I must say that it was very poor of bread types. One day, they didn't have any other than white bread, and that's not really healthy.But instead, the were A LOT of sweets and desserts. I don't think that that belongs on a breakfast buffet, a little bit maybe, but not that much. Maybe it's the culture..I don't know.

The wifi here is not free (only the first hour), which is a really big minus.
And the beds, was so hard. But it was ok!

Overall, the stay was a pleasant and we enjoyed it! :)

Love from Norway

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Miss,
greetings from UNA Hotel Palace in Catania and thank you for sharing your feedback of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write about your and your friends holidays experience. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and your comments regarding your stay are very important to us.

Our goal is to deliver high-quality hospitality to every guest on every stay, starting from your arrival at the hotel until departure and that ‘s is why we have already pointed your notes and suggestions. Through honest opinions like yours, we are able to monitor our service and make the necessary corrections and improvements, as we personally talked during your stay, while suggesting and assisting you during your Sicilian trip.

We hope that future travels will bring you back here and also to the other UNA Hotels and Resorts.

All the best and warm regards from Sicily,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here on our last night of our Sicily trip. The hotel is located at the city centre where all the shops are. The room is modern and spacious (executive room). The breakfast is average. They have a garage which costs 20 Euro per day. We parked not far from the hotel on the street which was fine and cheaper. The hotel is not far from all the main attractions in catania. I love the market. If you have time, do check it out in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame ,
thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind words.
Here at UNA Hotel Palace, we try our hardest to give our guests the best service possible. It gives us an enormous pleasure when the guests notice it and even share their opinion with others. For us it is a well done and makes us even more enthusiastic about striving to make it even better.

As you have kindly noticed, the location of the hotel is marvellous because everything is walking distance and our guests can enjoy the city attractions and relax at the same time.

Once again, it was a pleasure for us having you has our guests.
Should you have any questions, we remain at your disposal. We are looking forward of welcoming you again soon again.

Kindest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro ATL
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location is great – right on the main shopping street and very close to the main attractions. Our GPS took us right to it.

Parking was not a problem. We pulled up in front and the hotel and the staff took care of our baggage and car from there.

The reception staff was wonderful, providing a map, suggestions as to the most important points to see first, and a few suggestions for dinner.

The room was comfortable, clean and good sized. We elected the upgrade which included a free mini-bar and good Wi-Fi reception.

We enjoyed cocktails on the rooftop terrace our first evening, and breakfast the next morning. We felt it was well worth the 10 Euro per person supplement to be able to order from a menu, have a selection of freshly prepared foods, and experience excellent service, all while enjoying a view of Etna. You should try the sweet ravioli because it is not what you would expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame,
many thanks for your recent stay at UNA Hotel Palace and for your positive remarks.
First of all, we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable time and that we could meet and even exceed your expectations.
Your comment regarding our staff is highly appreciated and we are happy to hear that you also took advantage of our good location and enjoyed our high quality and why not also tasty and special services, such as our Etnea Roof Breakfast, during which you can enchant your senses in an exclusive ambiance with delicious sweet and savoury Sicilian delights, from the original cannolo stuffed with fresh ricotta cheese or arancino, fried rice ball with meat sauce or cuttlefish ink, all made in Sicily!

We hope to be able to welcoming you back soon in the UNA world and wish you all the best.

Warmest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Best location in the heart of the city, via Etnea. Close to most major shops and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful in arranging a tour to Mt. Etna. The breakfast was great with lots of choice, freshly squeezed orange juice.

Room Tip: Executive room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Madame,
first of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay in our centrally located Italian design hotel and for having taken the time to write such a nice review on TripAdvisor.
Your feedback with regard to our facilities, location and services is extremely important to us and allows us to continually monitor and improve our services.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay's experience with us. In particular, thank you for your very positive comments regarding our location and especially our service in providing you assistance also during your tour to Etna .

Our goal is to deliver high quality of hospitality for every guest on every stay. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back here as well to the other hotels of our " Made in Italy "chain and that your stay will be just as enjoyable and great as your last.

Warmest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to be able to explore the center of Catania. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, making reservations and checking out opening hours for some of the attractions (not all of those have anything useful in english...). The room was spacious with a decent sized bathtub and shower. The view from the rooftop bar is not to be missed, it is great to see the sun set behind mount Etna while enjoying an aperitif.

Room Tip: As this is located on a busy street, either try to take a room high up or not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sir,
we appreciate very much your comments regarding your stay with us in our Italian design hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive opinions and to know that our guests can enjoy their stays and our exclusive ambiances, such us in our location Etnea Roof terrace with stunning city view .

We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will give encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your great experience with Tripadvisor’ s travellers and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one not only here but also in other UNA hotels that you find in the most important cities and beautiful and strategic Italian places.

Warmest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Whilst the hotel itself is pleasant I am extremely annoyed that I am still waiting for a refund after five weeks even though it was the hotel who overcharged me. I am waiting for a reply after enquiring why I am still waiting and do not find the staff helpful. Booking.com tried to speed things up but unfortunately they were unable to. The staff are helpful until the moment you leave or if something is unsatisfactory (I am starting to doubt whether I will even get my money back and presume they hope that with time I will forget about this). CHECK YOUR BILL VERY CAREFULLY WHEN YOU LEAVE!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Madame,
thanking you for your feedback, we would like to explain you more that owing to a temporary problem of the booking system interface, it was incorrectly charged the amount of €. 56,90 that you paid at check-out.
That was an uncommon mistake out of automatic controls, for which, we apologize once again.
We always recommend to our guests and to check your bill at check-out.
After getting your request during the following days your departure, we reassured you by email that we were working for the activation of the reimbursement process, whose conclusion does not depend only on us, because the management interbank services time is generally quite long. Besides, as per our previous correspondence by e-mail, the repayment has been already performed and we are confident that as soon as possible you will be reimbursed.
We regret, however, that your positive stay also expressed during your check out at the colleagues, it has been revised considering the fact that we have immediately assumed our responsibilities and confirm you the reimbursement also supporting and speeding the bureaucratic accounting management’s time.
We really hope that you will re-evaluate your opinion, not limiting your experience exclusively on this inconvenience and we really look forward to having you here as our kind guest to change your idea, which really counts for us and in the meantime we are at your disposal for any further information you may need.

Best regards,
Rita Monfrini
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.