We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in central Catania's main shopping street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added UNA Hotel Palace to your Saves list
UNA Hotel Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in central Catania's main shopping street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

UNA Palace Hotel in central Catania is located right on the main shopping street. It is a 10 minute walk from the main square, with lots of restaurants around. There is also a very nice park around the corner to enjoy on a sunny day. Hotel reception staff both helpful and friendly, with very good English. Restaurant food very good. Buffet breakfast good by Continental standards. Many add-ons capable of purchase at the hotel - internet, turkish treatments, etc. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir ,
thank you very much for having chosen UNA Hotel Palace for your business travel and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor recommending it to the travellers' world.

We are delighted that you had a great experience at our Italian style hotel. Our goal is always to exceed our guests expectations and you took advantage of our great central location and our overall services.

It would be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you our "Made In Italy" hospitality and superb service, for which we are known throughout the world.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and we also invite to stay in the other UNA Hotels.

Best regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    372
    66
    10
    5
See reviews for
160
395
39
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brunei
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We checked in around midnight. The check in service was prompt, hotel and room were clean and impeccably decorated. One of the best hotels during our stay in sicily. Must definitely have the breakfast on the rooftop. Excellently bargain and cooked to perfection!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame,
it is really nice for us and as well as for the huge TripAdvisor's community to read your positive review and impressions for your stay in our hotel, as your are providing us with a valid source of information about our service's quality and which is also useful for our future guests, looking for an advice for their holiday or business trip.

Therefore, we are delighted to be an excellent choice for you and we hope to be the same for the rest of tomorrow's savvy global travellers, because we provide you with "Made In Italy" products and services that meet your needs, so that to shape exclusive stay's experiences, in which every Guest feels cared for, valued, and respected, being like at home, in comfortable and unique ambiances, design locations and why not tasting excellent Italian food

Please feel free to contact us anytime if you may need suggestions or information for your next stays in the other UNA Hotels & Resorts, the best hotels during your future visits all over Italy.

Yours sincerely,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A gorgeous hotel, from the moment you enter its cathedral ceilinged lobby until you visit its rooftop bar and lounge. The 'happy hour' buffet equals any good restaurant meal. At breakfast the next morning from our outdoor table was displayed Mount Etna in all its glory. Our room was sparkling and the spacious bathroom had every convenienct and comfort.

Room Tip: It was very hard to find, coming from the airport in our rented car. We finally hired a taxi at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Madame,
thanking you very much for your nice feedback about your glamour and comfortable experience in our, as you defined it, gorgeous hotel, we are really delighted to read that you especially appreciated our tasty services, such as the Happy Hour and the Etnea Roof breakfast, then enjoying not only delicious cocktails but also typical Sicilian delights and snacks, in an exclusive location as our roof top on the7th floor.

Moreover, during these summer days we also propose to our guests the "Original Sicilian Granita" tasting service, everyday from 03:00 to 06:30 pm and only with a little supplement, you can enjoy both flavoured ices with chocolate, almonds or lemon and delicious brioches, so called with "the little round hut " and stunning view go on in making your senses being enchanted.

So we invite you to come back here sooner and we hope you will also have the chance to visit the other Italian design UNA Hotels.

Very best regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in May. The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and tourist attractions. We had a problem with an airline ticket and they called Alitalia and made the corrections for us without hesitation. The rooms were good size and clean. The hotel is in walking distance to all the places you will want to see and it is in a very safe area as well. We loved having drinks before dinner on the rooftop terrace. The bartenders were very nice. The breakfast was better than most with plenty of options.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, one in the front of the hotel and it was a little noisy, our other room was up on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame,
first of all, we would like to thank you for having taken the time to write such a nice review on TripAdvisor about your great stay’s experience in our centrally located Italian design hotel.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular, thank you for your very positive comments regarding our amazing roof top terrace and the other F&B services, characterized by a wide range of high quality Italian products.

According to our “Made in Italy “chain’s philosophy, our goal is to propose you a new hospitality’s concept, where the care of details and the attentions to our guests are our priority, so that to provide you comfort, emotions and wonder in exclusive ambiances and locations and make your stay as you noticed, full of great value.

Looking forward to welcoming you here personally again in the near future as well as to assisting you here with your flight tickets, if necessary, we wish you a nice summertime.

Warmest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at the UNA Hotel Palace and had a lovely time. The location is great for seeing the attractions in Catania. We had dinner at the rooftop restaurant twice. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The maître d was very well informed regarding celiac's and not only directed us toward gluten-free selections, but volunteered to have the chef make a special sicilian dish of risotto with swordfish and cherry tomators that was outstanding. We had an executive room with a large balcony overlooking via Etna. The room was well appointed, spacious and clean.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame ,
thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your nice words and your amateur photos.

Here at UNA Hotel Palace, as well as in the other hotels of our "Made in Italy "chain, we try our hardest to give our guests the best service possible. It gives us an enormous pleasure when the guests notice it and even share their opinion with others. For us it is a well done and makes us even more enthusiastic about striving to make it even better.

As you have kindly noticed, the location of the hotel is marvellous, because everything is walking distance and our guests can enjoy the city attractions and at the same time attentive service in exclusive locations, like our Etnea Roof restaurant with delicious Sicilian food and breathtaking view to the city centre and the volcano.
Once again, it was a pleasure for us having you has our guests and both our maitre de hôtel Marco Sozzi and our Chef de cuisine, Marco Trepiccione are really willing to go on in prosing you delicious choices as per your preferences.

Should you have any questions, we remain at your disposal and feel free to contact us at anytime We are looking forward of welcoming you again soon and in the meantime all our team wish you “eine schöne Sommerzeit”.

Kindest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterinburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in UNA Palace Hotel before our wedding in Sicily, all provided assitance with preparations was perfect, all our high demands were realised.
We defenitely enjoyed fresh orange juice on breakfast and fresh bakery.
Also, we had a Wedding Dinner at Etna Roof restaraunt, all dishes were incredebely delicious.
In Sicilian chaos, UNA Palace was a small island of perfectness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and sharing with the big community of travellers your perfect experience in UNA Hotel Palace, especially during such an important period of your life.

Indeed, we propose to our guests a new hospitality concept, based on efficiency, emotions and wonder, so that our team's attentions, our exclusive locations and Italian design interiors, our care of details and high quality service make your stay not only comfortable but also memorable.

So waiting for your next visit in our "island of perfectness",

Best Regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and i have just got back from our Sicilian Holiday at the Una Hotel Palace. From the moment we walked in the hotel till when we left, the staff couldn'tdo enough for us. Hotel is very central, right in the heart of Via Etnea which is full of shops and a few minutes walk from the daily market. Lots of cafes and pizzerias close by so you are spoiled for choice. We upgraded to an executive Suite while we were there and that was a good move. Hotel is spotlessly clean and the Breakfast has got a good variety of choices. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel . I am hoping of going there again in the near future. Tante grazie a tutti gli impiegati a questo albergo specialmente a Martha( reception), Katia(housekeeper) e anche la cameriera che mi prende sempre un espresso al colazione

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to an executive suite, more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,
thank you very much for sharing your fantastic experience in our Italian design hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are really happy that you appreciated our hospitality as well as our central location in the heart of the historical and shopping centre of Catania city.

All our team looks forward to welcome you here again especially Martha, Katia and Ornella, they thank you too for your very nice Italian “ringraziamenti”.

Yours faithfully,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#3 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#4 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNA Hotel Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.