We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swordfish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce

A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce
Near Piazza Curo, Catania, Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Shopping in Catania
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Rijeka, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Swordfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

5 minutes from Una hotel, go early in the morning to see nice fisk market with lot of fresh fish and clamshell. Also lot of big tunas and swordfish.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    28
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local Spices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

What a great experience to go down to a genuine market and get in the mix of it, bargaining, tasting and living the sicilian market life for a little while.

Bought huge bags of bayleafs, oregano stalks and tons of spices for dirt cheap. I mean, less than 2 euro each ( think large ziplock size bag).

It was a bit tense as we had small kids and felt the eyes of pickpockets around us. So if you go, travel light and be ready to move fast. People approach you fast and from all sides. Also bring a pack of ziplock bags

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fascinating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

.. loved the fish market, browsing the stalls. There is an amazing quantity and variety of fish but a lot of fresh produce too. There are butchers, delis and restaurants. Wish we had done our homework and chosen a good restaurant. The one we ate at (outdoors facing the fountain) served the most indifferent meal we ever had in Sicily....

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A must-see if you're traveling to Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Ballaro market of Palermo is fun. The fish market of Catania is unforgettable. I've never seen anything like it, and I loved it. It surprised me that a street market like this thrives with such intensity in 2013. Thank goodness. I really can't put into words how incredible it was. Men yelling about their fresh fish. Others cutting them up. A big crush of humanity. Fish you've never seen before. Vegetables, meat and cheese displayed in ways you've never seen. The market is immense and extends into tiny streets near the main site. Don't overlook them.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomezia, Italy
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Do you want to understand Catania? Come here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Is Catania a town on the sea? Is Sicily famous over the world for fish? Are you coming here to visit the town and understand its citizen?
Then, somply, come here. Years and years ago it could have been a place of ill fame, where you have to avoid to go if you want to come back home with your money. Well, literally it's still the same: if you come here, you will have to control yourself to not buy everything! Now the risk to be robbed is reduced (of course it's always a market area, so as in all other cities in the world you have to keep 4 eyes opened), but the vendors are used to the tourists and are happy when you will take a pictures.
You will enter in this vortex, and you will leave it with a great, genuine experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce also viewed

 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.