We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Catania; superior service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romano Palace Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Romano Palace Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Kennedy, 28, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in Catania; superior service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had the pleasure of staying recently at the Romano Palace, my second such stay and my place of choice in Catania. The hotel is very majestic yet the customer service is incredibly friendly and efficient. The reception team and concierge met my every need and request, they are superb. The lounge is elegant and friendly. My room was extremely comfortable and clean and the internet worked very well. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I want to pass my special appreciation to Sabrina, Elvio, Santo and Carlo: thanks to each of you for your wonderful hospitality and kindness!
Grazie! I look forward to returning as soon as possible! Thank you

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    47
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
19
49
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

First the good points: nice, functional room; lovely outdoor dinner patio; good breakfast. Now the bad ones: dismissive receptionists (especially the one in charge); access to beach is questionable at best; not near any of Catania's sites; recommendations from the staff to see a nearby beach was hilarious... I actually think they sent me to a harbour on purpose. Why would they be so vindictive? The power went out in our wing of the hotel for quite a while, with no one able to do anything about it. As well, the wifi simply does not work. When I complained about the wifi and the power outage the next day, the hotel reception couldn't have cared less. There was no apology, nothing. What a shame because I think this hotel would fare much better if they taught their staff some courtesy and manners. This point in our trip was the lowest! Oh why didn't I ask about where to stay, I was so determined to find a beach hotel... don't be fooled, this hotel isn't it! Book in Taormina instead! I wish I had asked around about where to stay on the east side of Sicily... Taormina is a dream!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The hotel is clean, modern and quiet if strangely decorated. This is more a place for business travelers or people needing to be very close to the airport. Do not think that this is the place to take a seaside holiday - the neighborhood is not good and the beach is lousy. Catania has many better beaches you should explore. Here, you will find lots of empty places and downright depressing surroundings once you leave the gated hotel property. You will need a car if you stay here. DO visit Catania city center, though, and especially Siracusa.

The hotel grounds are nice but stray cats are everywhere. The property felt like a ghost town during our stay - we never saw another guest. For that reason, it was very, very quiet. The room was clean but we booked a double and only had towels for one (no such thing as a washcloth here, FYI, the housekeeper was very confused by this request and showed me all her towel choices). On the second day, we again had to request more towels. The breakfast was adequate but lacking any real protein. It was mainly just an elaborate display of coffee and breads.

The valet was a miserable, surly African man who made it unpleasant each time we had to request our car. We dreaded having contact with him. The front desk evening staff were always friendly but on the day we checked out it was a different experience - the women staffing the desk during the day were shockingly rude to us and one of them short-changed my friend. There was no more "absolutely, madam!" and "no problem, madam!" The cash problem might have been an accident, perhaps, but given their overall attitude it seemed more like an attempt to take advantage of a foreign tourist.

Also, I sent out laundry through the hotel and when it came back many of the prices on the order sheet had been altered by hand making four items of very casual clothing (plus 1 underwear and 1 socks) end up as €45 - outrageous, especially considering the area.

Overall, it is an adequate hotel if you have a vehicle and can get out of the neighborhood or if you just need a comfortable place to stay very close to the airport.




Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I visited this hotel during late September / early October 2014 for a business trip. Overall the hotel grounds and reception area are lovely & are really the attraction for this hotel. Rooms are a bit small, but that is expected for a European hotel. Each room on the 2nd Fl has a balcony & they rock. I sat out on the balcony several nights w/ wine, cheese, bread & oil.
The courtyard is a great place to hang out w/ friends / colleagues, have a drink or two to unwind and socialize. Hotel staff is great.

The hotel is located in the "lido playa" area - Catania's beaches. The hotel provides passes to a beach that is about about 200m to the right of the hotel down the road. Nice beach. The hotel itself is a little remote from the rest of Catania & about a 15 - 20 min cab ride from the airport. You can get to the City center by taking a city bus (D-line?) right outside the hotel. The D-line bus does not run late at night though.

The lido playa area is a little run down. I did not feel threatened by the people around there but did feel threatened by the wild / stray dogs that came out at night & followed me looking for food (I'm not joking).

The hotel restaurant is OK - nothing spectacular but still good food. The outdoor dining area is beautiful & recommended. The restaurant across the street "Arcoaballeno" (Rainbow) is actually very good and very reasonable. Fresh fish, good pizza & they open before 8:00 PM.

Social activities can go on to the wee hours though. My poor colleague was kept up all night long due to a wedding reception or something in the outdoor restaurant next to his room.

Room Tip: Upper (2nd) floor is better & away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The hotel is situated in a dilapidated, inaccessible area which, according to the reception staff was not safe to walk after 8pm. Arrived hungry mid-afternoon but no chef available to make a club sandwich. Alternative available was a very poor toastie which we took onto the verandah only to be pestered by whining feral cats. The ground floor room was extremely dark as was most of the hotel, cats paraded the verandah and due to the poor plumbing the smell of raw sewage filled the bathroom and bedroom. Having been offered an upgrade we were moved to a first floor room which was smaller and overlooked a scruffy staff car park. We were eaten alive by mosquitos coming off stagnant water in the adjoining park. There were no tea or coffee making facilities, the storage space was totally insufficient for a week's stay, consisting of 1.5 single wardrobes and no dressing table, no iron, very dark, tired exterior, Had to request air conditioning to be switched on in the room 3 times as staff controlled it. Breakfast reasonable but one morning every glass was chipped. Staff did not offer tea or coffee and we had to ask. Pool bar was never open, no staff came to the pool area. So called "private" beach was unclean, open to the general public, constantly pestered by vendors and hypodermic syringes were floating in the sea. No refreshments available. This is a transit hotel, certainly not a holiday location and you can't walk more than 500 metres either side safely. "Free wi-fi" never worked in the room with limited accessibility in reception area. 5 star is utterly laughable. Reception staff excellent under very difficult conditions.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere, not in this area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

As per the other reviews the staff are the only saving grace of this hotel. This hotel is a max 1 overnight stay for your connecting flight. My family and I had the most disappointing experience in all our years of traveling.
1) no drinking facilities included in your room
2) no service available at the pool at any time. If you want a drink you have to go back through the hotel into reception to get to the bar.
3) bar menu was limited and they couldn't even put together a club sandwich plus the quality was nothing better than roadside food.
4) cats everywhere and are allowed to scrounge for food at the restaurant.
5) The shuttle bus has limited space and times vary greatly.
6) the private beach is the biggest sham of all, it's a few lounge chairs on a small patch 8 minute walk away and has absolutely no food or drinking facilities.
7) the beach is dirty and unkept.
8) the room is a good size but the towels were so hard and old they exfoliated you every time you dried yourself.
And finally 9) the hotel is based in a commercial/ industrial zone not a pleasing environment for a social stay.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

A mixed experience. The staff at this hotel are superb. Very professional and very friendly. Unfortunately the services are very poor. We were offered a connecting taxi from the airport that never turned up and amazingly access to a private beach that had nobody there to meet us and all the beach chairs chained up. Lovely swimming pool at the hotel saved the day.

Breakfast staff are lovely.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIUSEPPE R, Proprietario at Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear traveler,

Thank You for choosing us and appreciating our staff. It's a pleasure to read that You also liked our swimming pool.
We regret that You had problems with the private beach, but I assure You that it should has been a single episode, because the Lido Excelsior is one of the best beaches in Catania. You could have told us, we would have taken measures. We are always present and available to satisfy our guests' needs and expectations.
We really hope to host You again, It will be a big pleasure for us.

Kind regards,

Cristina, public relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romano Palace Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romano Palace Luxury Hotel

Address: Viale Kennedy, 28, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Catania
#3 Green Hotel in Catania
#7 Business Hotel in Catania
#7 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Romano Palace Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romano Palace Luxury Hotel rises in an ideal location on the seafront of Catania. Immersed in 25,000 square metres of private gardens, where the arabics fountains and a swimming pool with Jacuzzi create a charming and relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is an enchanted oasis between the Baroque of the city and the sea, overlooked by the great and magic presence of Mount Etna .Just a few minutes far from Catania historical centre and Vincenzo Bellini airport, both easily accessible with the free shuttle service of the hotel and only three minutes away from the touristic port and motorway junctions. Romano Palace is the best place where to enjoy the attractions of Catania and the beauties of Sicily in absolute freedom and privacy.The style of the hotel is the result of a long search between West and East, thus creating a unique mixture of Arabic atmosphere that crowns in a huge Hall. One hundred and four are the rooms and suites, each with its own style and the top of all modern comforts.Outdoors and indoors spaces are all multifunctional, meant to reach the guest’s comfort and care his privacy. The gardens and the fountains, the lounge bar, the swimming pool with its bar, the summer restaurant “Tokai Garden” and the panoramic roof garden “Papavero Blu”, the gourmet restaurant “ Coriandolo”, with its intimate and refined atmosphere. The “Posidonia” restaurant ideal for banquets, gala dinners ,and business lunches.A great balance between elegance and modern technologies in the plenary meeting room with a capacity of 330 seats and control room. Exhibition areas, and eight break out rooms all equipped with blacked out modular panels , modern and comfortable in their style.Romano Palace hotel is the ideal place where to satisfy your wishes and needs: Come and find out the pleasure to be cuddled in a luxury Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Romano Palace Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romano Palace Luxury Catania
Hotel Romano Palace Luxury
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano Palace Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.