We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

il pozzo e l'ulivo - a slow living style -

Catania
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johnny J
Slangerup, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We are coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This place has it all. Sicilian charm, good location, beautiful garden and excellent hosts!

We stayed in one half of the apartment, as we where just two people. Everything was in immaculate condition after a recent restoration of the house.

The kitchen is very nice and spacious, with the internet router in close reach.
Bathroom is fairly small but well made and look/works great, plus it was extremely clean.
The bedroom is cozy and nice, with an aircon system that was less noisy than normal.

Outside there is a nice porch with a good amount of shadow and a pretty little garden with hens.

Location wise it is out of Catania city, but only 20 minutes by bus, or 10 minutes by car to get to the center, perfect.

Alessandro and Zuska are great hosts and really care about their guests. Both of them are fluent in english, which is a huge bonus for foreigners like us, and very good at helping tourists :-)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: It is really hard to pick one thing, but the perfect condition of everything is hard to beat.
Liked least: That we only spend one week there.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jordi C
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay, to recommend for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fantastic week in il pozzo e l’ulivo. Thanks, Alessandro and Zuzana !!

The house was located indeed in a very convenient location, in a quiet and very safe area in the uptown of the city of Catania, with private free parking space (that is very welcomed in the busy August). There is a bar with incredibly good & cheap pastries and a small supermarket at 1 min walking distance.

The kitchen and the rest of the house had all what we needed and everything was very clean and new. The 2 bedrooms were quite large, both with TV and AC. Perfect for travelling with children or for 2 couples. And the garden that Alessandro takes very much care is simply lovely: full of Catania atmosphere, with a little bit of aromatic herbs …

Alessandro and Zuzana were fabulous hosts. Well, more that that I would say :) . They live in the upper apartment and were always more than happy to spend some minutes with us giving really useful recommendations on best places to visit, real Sicilian restaurants frequented by locals to go or simply chat in the garden about Sicilian living style. We really appreciate their care and advice. If you travel with young children, trust his advice on how to visit the Etna!

For us, a family of 4 with 2 young daughters looking for a nice, spacious & relaxing place as a base camp to discover Catania, that week in Il pozzo e l’ulivo was one of the vacations we’ll remember for a long time and for sure we would recommend.

Another good point for Spanish people, Alessandro is fluid in Spanish!

Elsa, Sofi, Gema & Jordi

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Alessandro and Zuzana are great hosts
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Bratislava
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Merlot200...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Big apologies to Alexandro that it has taken so long to put on the review (work and son's wedding took over as soon as I returned from holiday).

We have never stayed in a holiday rental before but decided to do something different this year - and enjoy a relaxed holiday in Sicily. That was the best decision we have made as the holiday was first rate from first to last.

Firstly - Alexandro and Zuzana are absolutely first rate hosts. We had a late arrival so they met us at the airport and Alexandro came with us in our hire car to make sure we had a trouble free trip back to the house which set us off to a very good start.

The house is lovely - very old outside but modernised inside to a high degree of finish, particularly the bathrooms which are extremely good.

The garden was delightful and one of the reasons we booked. Alexandro has very nice chickens in the garden (not running around) and we could have fresh eggs whenever we wanted (I still miss the eggs - and the chickens).

The house is in a little village with local shops :
> A bakery for fresh bread ready twice a day
> A wine shop where you take in a bottle and it is filled (our favourite was Etna wine - 1.55 euro a litre!)
> We had a large pizza from the pizza take-away - cooked in a proper pizza oven and better than most I have had in restaurants in England. But just order a standard - we ordered large and it took 3 days to finish it all.
Lovely bakery with delicious pastries/cakes and ice cream + wonderful granita
> There was also a supermarket which was a short drive away (3 km) - we could have walked it but for heavy bags.

We loved exploring Sicily, we found the countryside and the people delightful. We don't speak Italian - most of Sicilians do not speak English but everyone is very good at doing their best to be helpful and friendly. We tagged along on a trip to Mount Etna and we were amazed at the scenery and flowers. Visit as much of the country as you can when you come. You may not want to drive in Catania - its a free for all. Outside the city is fine - there still do not seem to be any rules but not so busy :)

Alexandro made us very welcome and showed us the best Sicilian hospitality. They are probably two of the nicest people we have ever met and just want people to have a lovely time on holiday. They will help you plan your trips, give you tips or leave you alone - it is up to you.

I have recommended the house and the country to everyone I have spoken to since returning from holiday.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The garden - but liked everything
Liked least: The pillows - they were ok but we like big fluffy pillow at home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Canadiantraveler
BC, Canada
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Rooms 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Prague
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Ragusa
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$122
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Alessandro P
Speaks English, Spanish, French, Italian
Listed since : Dec 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing