We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Liberty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Liberty for 2 nights in conjunction with a Rick Steves tour of Sicily. We had a nice sized twin bed room on the third floor. It was very clean and comfortable, especially the bed! The room was on the darker side, as the window was small. But the window did open (a big plus for me!). All the staff we encountered during our stay were helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was adequate - we enjoyed the savory croissant sandwiches. The hotel is nicely located - close, but not too close, to the noisy city center and an easy walk to the park (which is lovely). You won't go wrong staying at the Liberty.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    123
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
250
38
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has a traditional feel about it. The rooms are spacious, clean. The ceiling in our room was magnificent. The breakfast offered a wide choice of food. The hotel staff where wonderful and couldn't have done any more for us. We will definitely return.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perhaps not quite as central as I would have liked, but an extra 5-10 mins walk us worth it for this really clean, smart and very well furnished/decorated hotel. Lovely staff, very helpful and friendly. Rooms very warm and comfortable. Breakfast was fine. Would recommend. Decent restaurants and shopping fairly close on Via Etnea, and some interesting barbecue/street food just round the corner. In the summer i expect the nearby park will be a lovely place to go, but it was a bit chilly to sit around in this time of year!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed of similar size and even though ours faced a street there was not a lot of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a 4 night break with my husband and two teenager children at the Liberty Hotel. It was my husband's 50th birthday and the hotel had written him a personal letter to wish him a happy birthday and there was also a bottle of Sicilian wine, both waiting for him in the room on arrival. The hotel staff, without exception, were absolutely excellent. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble. Everyone spoke to you, and seemed genuine in their attempts to try and make your stay at the hotel and Catania, the best it could be.The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the 'centre' but well-placed to almost everything. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning on a visit to this area.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room that was a bit dark due to the shutters on the large windows (which could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed in Catania because it's were the airport is and booked the hotel based on its reviews.
Having been there we now rush to tell the world GO to Catania and stay at the Liberty. The room we stayed in was gorgeous with an amazing domed ceiling and Tiffany lamps, the stuff was exceedingly friendly and the interior design amazing.

Room Tip: ask for 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

A magical place, leave the 21st century at the doors and step back into an era of elegance, art, welcome and luxury. Stimulate your senses with the décor, colour and ambience. Rest and revive in the comfort, calm and quiet.

This is a place that defies superlatives.

Room Tip: I cannot believe there could be a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We spent our first two nights here and were very well looked after by Jusy. The hotel was very quiet and we had ample opportunity to admire the fabulous decor - fabric lined walls! Exquisite!

On leaving, to drive to Syracuse, we were carjacked in Catania and had all our important stuff stolen - cards, money, passports, phones, ipads, travel documents. REMEMBER to lock your car doors!
Whilst we waited 4 hours at the police station, I returned to the Liberty and received an enormous amount of help from Valentina and, eventually, managed to contact Visa to cancel our cards and arrange for new ones to be sent. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: Via San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.