We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Catania” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Save Saved
You added Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 103 hotels in Catania
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    98
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
206
33
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Khobar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013


We booked this hotel 6 months in advanced. Got a package ..flight and hotel with Expedia. I checked reviews among TA community and it was mixed. As described, its quite a walk up hill from the bus stop to the hotel with a heavy luggage. However, when we found the hotel, we got all excited. The reception desk was very friendly, took our luggage to our room! (You don't see that hospitality anymore.)..then when we got into our room....wow! It's really awesome, with really tall ceiling and baroque style. Hotel is 4 star but has 5 star amenities. Breakfast is good, the hotel manager and all the staff were attentive and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The decor is elegant and the rooms are large and very well maintained. The staff is extremely helpfull, professional and courteous.There is no languague problem the staff is fluent in english. Our stay of 7 days was very comfortable

Room Tip: If you can arrange a room with a balcony it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotel based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews, and wasn't disappointed - in fact it exceeded my expectations! The area wasn't that 'run down' at all, and an easy few minutes walk into the centre of Catania. We had a very warm welcome when arriving, including drawing sights of interest and restaurants on a map. We found that the attitude and friendliness of all the staff was really excellent, and went a long way to making our stay so special. The hotel itself is beautiful, with Art Deco style and antiques, and our room was large and very quiet, with excellent air conditioning. We found the breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice in cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurts and pastry - and the coffee was excellent! I would certainly stay here again, and have no problem recommending the Liberty Hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, N.Y.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were in Catania for one night in order to catch our flight early the next morning. The hotel is
perfectly located for walking to the center of town to see the sights.
The Liberty is a beautiful hotel with old world elegance and modern conveniences. People working there are most helpful. We needed to leave the hotel an hour before they begin to serve breakfast. They were so kind to set up a beautiful small table, fine linen and all, in the gorgeous lobby so we could have something to eat befor our flight. So thoughtful. If you are in Catania
this is the very best place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed two nights at Liberty and was very pleased by the friendly and helpful service. The location is great but seems a bit odd at your firts glance. The street is pretty rough but I felt completely safe and the old town and Dome Square is a pleasant 10 minutes walk away. The rooms are big and comfortable. Still a bit overpriced considering the average pricelevel on Sicily.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms at Hotel Liberty are large and well laid out. It is easy to walk to nice restaurants and good shopping. And the staff and service we received was excellent. It was no trouble for them to arrange a small breakfast for us at 04:20, and the taxi was there on time to get us to the airport for an early flight. All of our requests were handled cheerfully and professionally.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel has 7 suites, 10 twins and 1 single, all characterized by a "name" that, in some measure raises the feeling that they inspire, from different décors, furnished with precious stylishly pieces and embellished by textiles that resume original liberty drawings made by Hofmann in 1911, and bathrooms with precious marble mosaics, game of mirrors and precious pieces of furniture, all equipped with independent control air-conditioning, electronic safe, two telephones, satellite TV, minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.