We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel in central Catania for work or holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Liberty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel in central Catania for work or holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a pleasant 2 night stay in early June. Our room was beautiful with enormously high ceilings, giving a great sense of space, and an elegant decorative style. The plumbing was good quality although the shower was a bit of a squeeze. No room service but when we arrived late the first night they helpfully sorted a pizza delivery. The breakfast is the only downside, the food is quite average and they play a tacky promotional video on a beamer against the wall advertising day trips to Etna. Outside of that though we'd be happy to stay there again as the staff was helpful and friendly throughout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gelatomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the Liberty Hotel and it was very nice. Francesco and Salvo gave us excellent service. The room was lovely and the ambiance is historic and very warm. We missed breakfast because our flight was so early, but we had a cappuccino before heading out which was perfect. The hotel is in a great location, you can walk everywhere and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you for the kind hospitality!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed five nights in a suite in early June. Beautiful, spacious bedroom and sitting room. Hotel lounges elegant and comfortable, staff absolutely charming, helpful and efficient. Excellent breakfast.
Everything spotless, nothing too much trouble.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the touristy areas and one result is that there are few tourists around in bars and restaurants and hence we found the Italians to be that bit friendlier and prices a bit lower than down the hill in the tourist areas.

Room Tip: Some suites have the sitting room down-stairs from the bedroom. You may or may not prefer this arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was a delightful oasis of peace after the challenging driving conditions of Catania itself. Being Brits we thought it was us but the staff assured us they felt the same. We were also upgraded to a beautiful suite and given excellent tips on what to see and where to eat. No where was more than 15 mins walk away. We would strongly recommend the Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943 - the story of WWII in Sicily good for kids and adults alike.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9928545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and were upgraded to a beautiful suite. Staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Breakie was plentiful ( heating a little too high in the dining room) Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livvy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a short break. Very nice, quality hotel and the staff, especially Francesca, couldn't have been more helpful. Easy to walk around and got good recommendations for restaurants. our favourite was Il Mare.

Room Tip: Stay on first or second floor so you can open the window, otherwise the window opens directly on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasher_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived in Catania early in the morning and walked from the bus station to the Liberty Hotel. The hotel lobby is the first hotel lobby I've actually ever wanted to hang out in -- beautiful decor and good wifi. And, our room was also full of character, with a little balcony and very nice tiled bathroom. The staff has been really helpful, printing off schedules and stuff, and also I loved the breakfast. Before this stay, we were in the Hilton in Palermo, which was nice, but really this was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellascat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#2 of 49 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#3 of 49 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#6 of 49 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#10 of 49 in Catania
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#7 of 49 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: Via San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#1 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing