We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel in central Catania for work or holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Save Saved
You added Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 103 hotels in Catania
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel in central Catania for work or holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a pleasant 2 night stay in early June. Our room was beautiful with enormously high ceilings, giving a great sense of space, and an elegant decorative style. The plumbing was good quality although the shower was a bit of a squeeze. No room service but when we arrived late the first night they helpfully sorted a pizza delivery. The breakfast is the only downside, the food is quite average and they play a tacky promotional video on a beamer against the wall advertising day trips to Etna. Outside of that though we'd be happy to stay there again as the staff was helpful and friendly throughout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    102
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
199
32
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the Liberty Hotel and it was very nice. Francesco and Salvo gave us excellent service. The room was lovely and the ambiance is historic and very warm. We missed breakfast because our flight was so early, but we had a cappuccino before heading out which was perfect. The hotel is in a great location, you can walk everywhere and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you for the kind hospitality!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed five nights in a suite in early June. Beautiful, spacious bedroom and sitting room. Hotel lounges elegant and comfortable, staff absolutely charming, helpful and efficient. Excellent breakfast.
Everything spotless, nothing too much trouble.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the touristy areas and one result is that there are few tourists around in bars and restaurants and hence we found the Italians to be that bit friendlier and prices a bit lower than down the hill in the tourist areas.

Room Tip: Some suites have the sitting room down-stairs from the bedroom. You may or may not prefer this arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was a delightful oasis of peace after the challenging driving conditions of Catania itself. Being Brits we thought it was us but the staff assured us they felt the same. We were also upgraded to a beautiful suite and given excellent tips on what to see and where to eat. No where was more than 15 mins walk away. We would strongly recommend the Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943 - the story of WWII in Sicily good for kids and adults alike.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and were upgraded to a beautiful suite. Staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Breakie was plentiful ( heating a little too high in the dining room) Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a short break. Very nice, quality hotel and the staff, especially Francesca, couldn't have been more helpful. Easy to walk around and got good recommendations for restaurants. our favourite was Il Mare.

Room Tip: Stay on first or second floor so you can open the window, otherwise the window opens directly on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived in Catania early in the morning and walked from the bus station to the Liberty Hotel. The hotel lobby is the first hotel lobby I've actually ever wanted to hang out in -- beautiful decor and good wifi. And, our room was also full of character, with a little balcony and very nice tiled bathroom. The staff has been really helpful, printing off schedules and stuff, and also I loved the breakfast. Before this stay, we were in the Hilton in Palermo, which was nice, but really this was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Quiet, Romantic...
Show More
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#2 of 103 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
Centro Catania
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#3 of 103 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
Il Principe Hotel
Il Principe Hotel
#5 of 103 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#4 of 103 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
#9 of 103 in Catania
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
#15 of 103 in Catania
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel has 7 suites, 10 twins and 1 single, all characterized by a "name" that, in some measure raises the feeling that they inspire, from different décors, furnished with precious stylishly pieces and embellished by textiles that resume original liberty drawings made by Hofmann in 1911, and bathrooms with precious marble mosaics, game of mirrors and precious pieces of furniture, all equipped with independent control air-conditioning, electronic safe, two telephones, satellite TV, minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.