We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Save Saved
You added Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 102 hotels in Catania
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, lovely room and to cap it all, the friendliest hotel receptionist on planet earth. Catania is a great place to stay for a few days. There are some fantastic sites and great restaurants. The wonderful receptionist recommended an amazing fish restaurant called Antica Marina. Trust me, if you like fish and your feeling adventurous, then you should go. Beware, you need to book as it is very popular.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    83
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
168
29
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This wonderfully decorated warm and friendly hotel was a breath of fresh air to us after the journey from Salerno via Messina

Take the time to enjoy the atmosphere the wonderful and extremely helpful staff
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Catania

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norrway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This simply is a great hotel for those of us who want a cosy, well working place to stay. The setting is perfect with traditional Italian, tasteful decorations in all rooms. The rooms were not the largest and somewhat dark but the charm and comfort was there as was the cleanliness. There was no wifi in the rooms, only cable that worked well.
The staff needs to be complimented. They really worked hard to make our stay successful and they made it. We needed recommendations for restaurants and attractions, which the staff provided with dedication. And then the small things that make a difference; once you sit down in the lobby, the staff brings you your coffee or your tea. You don´t have to ask, they offer you and remember your choice next day.

Try this hotel next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

There is literally nothing bad I can say about the Liberty Hotel, it is absolutely perfect. The hotel itself is a work of art, a beautifully preserved piece of Italian history and architecture. The hotel staff bent over backwards to make sure that we had a good stay, from providing us with restaurant and sightseeing recommendations, to printing out train schedules, to not just calling a taxi but waiting outside with us and providing the taxi driver with our destination in Italian. The room was classically beautiful, the bed sheets crisp and freshly ironed, and the mosaic tile bathroom....breathtaking. The last point I'll gush about is the breakfast. The pastries were the best I've had in Italy. Absolutely incredible. There is nowhere else I would stay in Catania but the Liberty Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

First time I rate a hotel that high, but my stay in Liberty Hotel was simply fantastic. Highly recommended!!! I stayed here one week ago, for 4 nights.

Hotel: The building as such is just gorgeous. It is a beautiful mansion from the belle epoque. Especially the bar / reception area is mind-blowing. So are the rooms. Everything is so Carefully and beautifully restored and well kept. Also, super neat and clean.

Staff: The staff is very attentive to their guests. Service is excellent and everybody speaks perfect English. Super friendly and helpful. Outstanding!!

Location: 10 minute walk from all happening places, still in a quite neighbour hood. A super market is just two corners away.

Breakfast: Great italian coffee, small but good selection of breakfast items, but still more on the average side. One point to consider: This hotel as we found out is often frequented by business travellers. Under this aspect, I wouldnt expect a huge buffet. Still, The lady taking care of the breakfast was very friendly, she provided fantastic service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Liberty Hotel in early February 2013, in spite of having read some not very positive reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice and comfortable and the breakfast is plentiful and delicious. The hotel has nice sitting/reading rooms, terrace and feels warm. A very nice experience, close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have traveled to Catania with my family during the New Year period and we have spent in this hotel 5 days in total. Great place! First of all - very friendly people working there, they are always ready and glad to help with every problem or question that you may have. When we just arrived we have to wait some minutes for our rooms to be prepared (we have arrived couple of hours before check-in time) and have received a complementary delicious coffee with small desserts.
It is possible to book tours of the island (incl. to Etna) from the hotel. For the dinner it is possible to book pizza (as well as other food) into the room - and they will be delivered from some restaurant nearby. Delicious and not very expensive.
Rooms are beautiful and clean, maybe a bit dark though (as well as the foyer) - but it didn't worsen our overall opinion. In rooms there's a satellite TV with many channels in several languages.
Location was good on average, close to the city centre - though the district nearby seemed to be a bit dark and charmless, but not dangerous.
Most of all we all liked amazingly friendly and helpful people working in the hotel. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily
Address: San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#1 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel has 7 suites, 10 twins and 1 single, all characterized by a "name" that, in some measure raises the feeling that they inspire, from different décors, furnished with precious stylishly pieces and embellished by textiles that resume original liberty drawings made by Hofmann in 1911, and bathrooms with precious marble mosaics, game of mirrors and precious pieces of furniture, all equipped with independent control air-conditioning, electronic safe, two telephones, satellite TV, minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.