We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Liberty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Catania
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cosy place with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have traveled to Catania with my family during the New Year period and we have spent in this hotel 5 days in total. Great place! First of all - very friendly people working there, they are always ready and glad to help with every problem or question that you may have. When we just arrived we have to wait some minutes for our rooms to be prepared (we have arrived couple of hours before check-in time) and have received a complementary delicious coffee with small desserts.
It is possible to book tours of the island (incl. to Etna) from the hotel. For the dinner it is possible to book pizza (as well as other food) into the room - and they will be delivered from some restaurant nearby. Delicious and not very expensive.
Rooms are beautiful and clean, maybe a bit dark though (as well as the foyer) - but it didn't worsen our overall opinion. In rooms there's a satellite TV with many channels in several languages.
Location was good on average, close to the city centre - though the district nearby seemed to be a bit dark and charmless, but not dangerous.
Most of all we all liked amazingly friendly and helpful people working in the hotel. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    113
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
240
36
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the Liberty Hotel after flying back from the US. We were impressed from start to finish with both the physical facilities and the courtesy and attentiveness of the staff.

Our room on the 2nd floor included an elegant bedroom and a hall leading to a sitting room with a desk. The marble molding in the bathroom and the tile floors and showers create an sense of elegance. The trim in the rooms is artistic and detailed; indicative of a high quality early 20th century construction. The heater was housed in a varnished lattice trimmed box for subtlety of design. Since we were there on cold days the efficient heater and quiet operation kept the room serene and toasty.

Every detail, from the monagrammed sheets and hand towels, the bedroom slippers and the thick fluffy bath towels, makes you feel pampered. And the desk personell were over the top at every opportunity.I asked "What time does the bus leave?" And the clerk replied "I will print the schedule and have it for you when you return." And he did. How nice is that?

The breakfast was complete and they offered freshly squeezed "blood orange" juice, a Sicialian specialty. The Liberty exceeded our expectations and will be a part of our next trip to Catania. It is hard to beat.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A little shabby streets surround the hotel, but the staff welcome and helpfulness throughout the stay made it very easy. Wi-Fi only worked in the main reception area which was a little inconvenient if you are on business. If you are there for the sights, the hotel is in a good location, certainly within walking distance of the various sites. Receptionist gave me the name of several restaurants and I took him up on the Antico Marine, near the fish market, which was absolutely fab. All in all a good stay, in an old classic building with clean facilities. The reception staff made the difference to me. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our six-night stay at this hotel could not have been better. The staff at the hotel are very warm and welcoming - they also gave us great restaurant recommendations and public transport advice. The morning breakfast was good, and the server, who was always pleasant and efficient was what made it even better. Our room itself was clean and elegantly decorated in an classic Italian style. The Liberty is also perfectly situated for walking the city, or to go to the two bus stations for the many wonderful day-trips outside Catania. It is also close to the airport - about ten minutes by taxi. A special thanks to Francesca! Grazie mille!
6泊の滞在でしたが、どのスタッフもとても親切でいろいろな町の情報を教えてくれたり、市外への小旅行の旅程について調べてくれたりしました。クリスマスシーズンということもあり、館内のデコレーションがすべてクリスマスっぽく、非常に楽しめました。部屋は清潔で、バスルームのタイルデコがとても素敵です。リーズナブルで、ぜひまたお世話になりたいホテルです。夫婦や友達同士、カップルにおススメです。

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

i have spent a very nice time in this special,quite and charming hotel situated in the heart of Catania. People are charming, nice and always ready to help. Great thank to Roberta and Gianpaolo for their suggestions on restaurants and special places in Catania.

many thanks to you all and i highly reccomend it to anyone looking for the real essence of this incredible city.
alessandra

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Catania. Staff told us where all the best restaurants and sights were. They also organised a great trip up Mount Etna. Breakfast was nice and the rooms good. The highlight was the mosaic tiled bathroom!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 6 nights at the end of October and can't fault it - except for the mosquitos, for which you can't really blame the hotel and as soon as we told them it was a problem they put a repellant device in our room. The location is peaceful (ignore the run-down appearance of the street) and convenient. We loved the art deco style and quiet elegance. Our suite was spacious (bed a little too hard) and we loved the bathroom. The typically European breakfast buffet was of good quality and plentiful. Gracious and helpful staff who spoke excellent English (we Brits rather arrogantly always expect others to speak our language but it's so welcoming when they do). They made some excellent non-touristy restaurant recommendations and were helpful with bus timetables. If you don't like great big commercial hotels with all the flashy extras, we'd thoroughly recommend the Liberty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: Via San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.