We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liberty Hotel's great reviews are justified!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Save Saved
You added Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Catania
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Liberty Hotel's great reviews are justified!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the Liberty Hotel after flying back from the US. We were impressed from start to finish with both the physical facilities and the courtesy and attentiveness of the staff.

Our room on the 2nd floor included an elegant bedroom and a hall leading to a sitting room with a desk. The marble molding in the bathroom and the tile floors and showers create an sense of elegance. The trim in the rooms is artistic and detailed; indicative of a high quality early 20th century construction. The heater was housed in a varnished lattice trimmed box for subtlety of design. Since we were there on cold days the efficient heater and quiet operation kept the room serene and toasty.

Every detail, from the monagrammed sheets and hand towels, the bedroom slippers and the thick fluffy bath towels, makes you feel pampered. And the desk personell were over the top at every opportunity.I asked "What time does the bus leave?" And the clerk replied "I will print the schedule and have it for you when you return." And he did. How nice is that?

The breakfast was complete and they offered freshly squeezed "blood orange" juice, a Sicialian specialty. The Liberty exceeded our expectations and will be a part of our next trip to Catania. It is hard to beat.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    102
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
215
34
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A little shabby streets surround the hotel, but the staff welcome and helpfulness throughout the stay made it very easy. Wi-Fi only worked in the main reception area which was a little inconvenient if you are on business. If you are there for the sights, the hotel is in a good location, certainly within walking distance of the various sites. Receptionist gave me the name of several restaurants and I took him up on the Antico Marine, near the fish market, which was absolutely fab. All in all a good stay, in an old classic building with clean facilities. The reception staff made the difference to me. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our six-night stay at this hotel could not have been better. The staff at the hotel are very warm and welcoming - they also gave us great restaurant recommendations and public transport advice. The morning breakfast was good, and the server, who was always pleasant and efficient was what made it even better. Our room itself was clean and elegantly decorated in an classic Italian style. The Liberty is also perfectly situated for walking the city, or to go to the two bus stations for the many wonderful day-trips outside Catania. It is also close to the airport - about ten minutes by taxi. A special thanks to Francesca! Grazie mille!
6泊の滞在でしたが、どのスタッフもとても親切でいろいろな町の情報を教えてくれたり、市外への小旅行の旅程について調べてくれたりしました。クリスマスシーズンということもあり、館内のデコレーションがすべてクリスマスっぽく、非常に楽しめました。部屋は清潔で、バスルームのタイルデコがとても素敵です。リーズナブルで、ぜひまたお世話になりたいホテルです。夫婦や友達同士、カップルにおススメです。

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

i have spent a very nice time in this special,quite and charming hotel situated in the heart of Catania. People are charming, nice and always ready to help. Great thank to Roberta and Gianpaolo for their suggestions on restaurants and special places in Catania.

many thanks to you all and i highly reccomend it to anyone looking for the real essence of this incredible city.
alessandra

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Catania. Staff told us where all the best restaurants and sights were. They also organised a great trip up Mount Etna. Breakfast was nice and the rooms good. The highlight was the mosaic tiled bathroom!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 6 nights at the end of October and can't fault it - except for the mosquitos, for which you can't really blame the hotel and as soon as we told them it was a problem they put a repellant device in our room. The location is peaceful (ignore the run-down appearance of the street) and convenient. We loved the art deco style and quiet elegance. Our suite was spacious (bed a little too hard) and we loved the bathroom. The typically European breakfast buffet was of good quality and plentiful. Gracious and helpful staff who spoke excellent English (we Brits rather arrogantly always expect others to speak our language but it's so welcoming when they do). They made some excellent non-touristy restaurant recommendations and were helpful with bus timetables. If you don't like great big commercial hotels with all the flashy extras, we'd thoroughly recommend the Liberty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

So glad I read a previous review that said don't judge the entrance. I might have bolted. It is not situated on a picturesque street, but it is a good value within walking distance of the sights.
We were passing through Catania and it was an easy taxi ride to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#1 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel has 7 suites, 10 twins and 1 single, all characterized by a "name" that, in some measure raises the feeling that they inspire, from different décors, furnished with precious stylishly pieces and embellished by textiles that resume original liberty drawings made by Hofmann in 1911, and bathrooms with precious marble mosaics, game of mirrors and precious pieces of furniture, all equipped with independent control air-conditioning, electronic safe, two telephones, satellite TV, minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;