We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant & helpful staff, great location! おススメです!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Liberty Hotel to your Saves list
Liberty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Catania
Kobe, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely pleasant & helpful staff, great location! おススメです!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our six-night stay at this hotel could not have been better. The staff at the hotel are very warm and welcoming - they also gave us great restaurant recommendations and public transport advice. The morning breakfast was good, and the server, who was always pleasant and efficient was what made it even better. Our room itself was clean and elegantly decorated in an classic Italian style. The Liberty is also perfectly situated for walking the city, or to go to the two bus stations for the many wonderful day-trips outside Catania. It is also close to the airport - about ten minutes by taxi. A special thanks to Francesca! Grazie mille!
6泊の滞在でしたが、どのスタッフもとても親切でいろいろな町の情報を教えてくれたり、市外への小旅行の旅程について調べてくれたりしました。クリスマスシーズンということもあり、館内のデコレーションがすべてクリスマスっぽく、非常に楽しめました。部屋は清潔で、バスルームのタイルデコがとても素敵です。リーズナブルで、ぜひまたお世話になりたいホテルです。夫婦や友達同士、カップルにおススメです。

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    103
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
221
34
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

i have spent a very nice time in this special,quite and charming hotel situated in the heart of Catania. People are charming, nice and always ready to help. Great thank to Roberta and Gianpaolo for their suggestions on restaurants and special places in Catania.

many thanks to you all and i highly reccomend it to anyone looking for the real essence of this incredible city.
alessandra

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Catania. Staff told us where all the best restaurants and sights were. They also organised a great trip up Mount Etna. Breakfast was nice and the rooms good. The highlight was the mosaic tiled bathroom!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 6 nights at the end of October and can't fault it - except for the mosquitos, for which you can't really blame the hotel and as soon as we told them it was a problem they put a repellant device in our room. The location is peaceful (ignore the run-down appearance of the street) and convenient. We loved the art deco style and quiet elegance. Our suite was spacious (bed a little too hard) and we loved the bathroom. The typically European breakfast buffet was of good quality and plentiful. Gracious and helpful staff who spoke excellent English (we Brits rather arrogantly always expect others to speak our language but it's so welcoming when they do). They made some excellent non-touristy restaurant recommendations and were helpful with bus timetables. If you don't like great big commercial hotels with all the flashy extras, we'd thoroughly recommend the Liberty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

So glad I read a previous review that said don't judge the entrance. I might have bolted. It is not situated on a picturesque street, but it is a good value within walking distance of the sights.
We were passing through Catania and it was an easy taxi ride to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

My wif and I stayed at the Hotel Liberty on October 7 th and 8th. We had a wonderful experience. The staff greeted us warmly, we're extremely helpful, and could not do enough for us. They recommended local restaurants ( that were outstanding and probably undiscoverable if you we're not a local) and attractions -- all within walking distance of the hotel.

On our last day, we had a 7 AM Flight so we had leave the hotel prior to serving breakfast. The staff offered to and deliverd a personal continental breakfast to us in the lobby at 4:45 AM. It was great.

If anyone is traveling to (or through) Catania, you should try the Liberty -you won't be disappointed. We certainly will.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

There's not much more you can ask of an hotel. Great service, pleasant rooms, beautiful decor; and a decent price.

I'll add my voice to the others recommending this place.

We were looking for a semi-romantic break near Etna, but above all wanted peace, quiet and a stress-free experience. Liberty Hotel hit the spot. Perfectly.

It's within walking distance of all the main sights in Catania. We usually walked down to the main squares in the evening, which took 10 - 15 minutes, depending on how much window shopping we did on the way.

On the way back, going uphill and after a glass or two of wine it may have taken a little longer, but we never really noticed.

It is very close (5 min walk) to the Bellini Gardens which makes for a pleasant walk in the shade, and the supermarket by the entrance to Bellini catered for any immediate needs.

So the location is just fine. The staff were fantastic. We advised them of our flight arrivals (on the Easyjet from London) and they made sure there was a taxi to meet us and that our room was ready when we arrived (a couple of hours before normal check-in time). Internet access was included in the price and it just worked.

When leaving it was the same story. Our flight was about 9pm, but they allowed us to check out a little late, then looked after the bagss and booked a cab to the airport. They also let us use a downstairs meeting area and threw in an extra couple of hours internet time while we waited for the taxi after an afternon down in the town.

During the stay we sought advice on places to eat; on using buses on the best way to get from Catania to Syracusa and the advice was all good. Except possibly for a couple of the eateries.

Breakfast was great - good bread, with cheese, salami, ham as well as cereals, croissants and cakes were included in the room rate; cooked eggs, bacon and suchlike for a couple of euro extra.

The aircon was effective and quieter than most.

There was absolutely nothing to fault during our 4 day stay at Liberty. We arrived stressed and with shredded nerves and left relaxed and at peace.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: San Vito, 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#1 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel has 7 suites, 10 twins and 1 single, all characterized by a "name" that, in some measure raises the feeling that they inspire, from different décors, furnished with precious stylishly pieces and embellished by textiles that resume original liberty drawings made by Hofmann in 1911, and bathrooms with precious marble mosaics, game of mirrors and precious pieces of furniture, all equipped with independent control air-conditioning, electronic safe, two telephones, satellite TV, minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;