We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not deserve 4 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Del Bosco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Del Bosco Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Bosco 62, 95125 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Catania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Does not deserve 4 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located on the upper side of Catania, in a quiet area, at about 25mn by bus from the historical center, and 30mn from the airport by car through an easy road. The view on the Etna from the breakfast room terrace is impressive. Take a moment to sip an espresso while admiring the giant volcano dominating the roofs of the city in the fresh air of the morning. Too bad the dinner is served in the basement, in a room without any charm nor windows.. when the villa has so many beautiful salons decorated in the opulent Sicilian 19th century style. It could have been a nice stay if our bedroom were not so poorly isolated from the surrounding noises. It felt like our neighboors were taking their shower in front of our bed, and some of them woke up very early to catch their flight I suppose. I guess it should not be a problem with every room, however this is not acceptable in a 4 stars hotel. When we mentionned the issue to the front desk, they acted like they felt sorry for us but nothing in particular was offered to compensate the issue.

Room Tip: Ask specifically a room well insulated from the noises in the surrounding bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    129
    55
    28
    28
See reviews for
71
149
16
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

really controversial hotel.! it is really clean and the whole decoration of the hotel reminds style of the 19th century. the hotel staff are hepfull and ready to give any advice, especially one of the most remarkable people is the barman Giuseppe who is willing to service and answer at any question. from the other side there are some negative things, not all of the rooms are connected ( especially there are 3 different buildings) with the new one having been decorated really scary with black colors, in addition the location is really bad and the expectations of a 4star hotel are not covered (pour breakfast, small areas to service all of the costumers). it's difficult to determine wether or not to stay at this hotel, but before you take any decision think it enough.!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a party of three and Guiseppe and the staff were kind enough to get us connecting rooms in this lovely villa with incredible furnishings, paintings and tapestries in common areas and very modern decorated rooms. The lounge/bar has a wonderful grand piano and very comfortable chairs to experience the beauty of the décor.. The property has two sections with an outdoor pool and lounge area between them. We ate at the hotel restaurant in the basement which was furnished in the classic style. Parking is available on site for a fee, but it is well worth it. We had to leave early in the morning and the staff was kind enough to prepare breakfast "to go".

El Tigre and "the Protaganistas"

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you're looking for a hotel with great character and exceptional staff.. this is the place to go!
The building has a beautiful exterior, classic interior and was very clean. My boyfriend and I stayed in the gold presidential suite and it was stunning. The large terrace with great views was breathtaking and the room was great in itself. The attendant filled the jacuzzi on our arrival when showing us to our room.
We had dinner in the restaurant, it was absolutely delicious, and we were treated with a gift from the waiter of some additional red wine while we enjoyed our meal.
Later that night, when looking for a late night snack, the bar man Giuseppe went out of his way to drive us to a nearby bar once his shift was over.. thank you again Giuseppe!!
The bed was comfortable and the room was quite.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.. we had a great experience.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Gold Presidential Suite to everyone.. well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We have stayed here two years ago and we loved this "mignon" hotel, with its unique rooms, but it seems that something happened since then. First, you should know that the location is quiet, but far from any interesting spot, so you have to move by car or bus.
Then, even if the rooms are clean and the staff do their job properly and is kind and helpful, Villa del Bosco seems to gain an obsolete air. The common areas and the rooms have outdated and worn carpet and in the elevator you can see unpardonable drawings. Wifi signal was quite poor in our room. If two years ago the (very) small TV set ago could be considered as vintage, I think it is now time to be replaced.
We dined very well at the restaurant inside, which has a very charming and welcoming staff.
The buffet at the breakfast is rather poor for a 4 star hotel: without tomatoes, peppers nor any veggies, ham and dairy products quality was below average.
So, I think next time we will stay elsewhere in Catania. But still, we will take a look, hoping that to see again the luster of VdB.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Charming boutique hotel with a baroque architectural line, a beautiful garden and outdoor pool. It is located on a hill outside the city center, but in a quiet area close to bus stops. Rooms are located in 2 different buildings separated by the courtyard and pool area. Some are smaller but they are beautifully decorated and comfortable. What makes your stay delightful is the warmth and friendliness of the staff, the spectacular views from the rooftop breakfast room and the renowned parties they held on every weekend. Many thanks to Maurilio for his recommendations and to the rest of the staff for being so helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Nice hotel, bad location thankfully we had a car, stayed for 2 nights booked because of reviews but cannot agree with the great staff reviews... no chat or smiles from them, rooms small all italian tv channels. Thought there was a rooftop jacussi, but only if you had booked presidencial suite ..had looked at hotel photos too fast! Near nothing within walking distance, wouldnt stay here again... no ambience about the place unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Del Bosco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Bosco Hotel

Address: Via Del Bosco 62, 95125 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#6 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#8 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#10 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Bosco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Hotel, two souls: the charm and the contemporary design… Situated at the top end of Via Etnea, the major street of the city, is a unique structure for character and atmosphere, the expression of a perfect blending between the opulent luxury of an old 19th century house and the more up-to-date area combining every comfort and exclusive design.Hydromassage tubs or showers, LCD TV, internet wi-fi and Sky pay-per-view are the standard for the 52 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Del Bosco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Bosco
Villa Del Bosco Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Del Bosco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.