We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Del Bosco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Del Bosco Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Bosco 62, 95125 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Malta
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Located in Catania, we were travelling with cars, so I was looking at a hotel with a good reputation and with no problems of parking, so I opted for this hotel, and I'm glad I did.

Parking is easy, either opposite the hotel or round the corner. We had booked a quadraple room, and what we were given was a surprise. They gave us the gold suite, a beautifully designed room with bar area, bid bathroom with rain water, round bed, large tv and an amazing terrace that includes Jacuzzi. For what we paid, this was a deal of a lifetime. The terrace needs some refurbishment, especially on the parque, however it's still beautiful, a perfect place to relax, with a good view.

Breakfast was very good when comparing to other hotels in Italy. It included cheese, ham, cured ham, cereals, juice ecc. They also offer a selection of sweets like cornetto, crostata and others, and the sweets here are delicous, much more than I expected. The rooms were clean and the hotel offers fast connection free wi-fi.

Staff was helpful whenever we asked for something.

The hotel also has a restaurant, and altough not bad, I wasn't impressed with the quality they offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    147
    61
    32
    28
See reviews for
77
162
16
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed one night at Villa Del Bosco on a tour. There are two main buildings: original and new modern. Both have guest rooms. The foyer, seating areas, small bar, and restaurant are the original and tastefully decorated. I loved the view of the sea from the restaurant. Guiseppe, bartender, was very friendly and efficient.

My room in the new section had a jacuzzi tub and modern sink. The room was in palettes of black, gray, silver, with a silver metal wall. Very different. I had a problem with a lack of outlets for charging electronics. None worked with any of my assortment of converters. However, they are quick to ask to change my room, but I had already unpacked and settled in for one night.

Room Tip: Decide if you prefer a modern or Sicilian decor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Villa del Bosco is just a perfect place for holiday in Sicily . good position to travel around the country and Catania, cosy rooms in contemporary and vintage style , great service, perfect food in the Michelin star restaurant ,<please try the Mezzaluni con pistacchi >, very friendly and helpful staff. We booked this place again for this season ...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, null, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Liked everything, I highly recommend this hotel.very convenient location, excellent service, design, cozy rooms,good food, friendliness and responsiveness of the staff is great! it was an absolutely fantastic experience.Next time only in this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Rooms on upper floor had no windows. They had a skylight that my husband had to stand on a chair and use a hanger to open it. Once opened we went to put our bag on the bed and there were bugs crawling all over the bed. We were told by the staff they couldn't move us because there were no rooms. We called our tour director and after looking at our bed he told the staff we could not stay in that room. They moved us to a small building across from the front of the hotel to a horrible room with no shower. Bathing was a real challenge. No bugs in that bed. A week later we met a couple in Rome that had just come from that hotel and they stayed in a different part of the hotel. They also had bugs in their bed. The hotel would not give them another room and just sprayed the bed and put new sheets on it. The staff kept saying their hotel was clean. If you don't want to bring bugs home with you stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel was in a very good position to travel around Catania.
Gentil staff... Specially the receptionist Antonio and the waiter Gian Luca.
Very good restaurant for a hotel.
The rooms were a bit dark, but very modern as described on hotel's website.
Not big but beautiful pool.
Amazing international breakfast, I think is the only hotel that serves you eggs and bacon for breakfast in Sicily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived at the end of a busy tour which had included two or one night stays in a variety of hotels. This one was easily the best. We were in Room 201 on the ground floor(!) which was beautifully decorated in a style which matched the overall ambience of the hotel. Large bathroom, comfy bed sound sleep. Dinner on the roof terrace, excellent breakfast and service of a very high standard with special praise for Giuseppe Torrisi the barman.
I asked for help with on line check in and was loaned a laptop together with printed notes containing passwords etc.

Room Tip: 201 is fine,though you may be disturbed by trolley noise from early rising guests on their way out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Del Bosco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Bosco Hotel

Address: Via Del Bosco 62, 95125 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#7 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#10 Business Hotel in Catania
#11 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Bosco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Hotel, two souls: the charm and the contemporary design… Situated at the top end of Via Etnea, the major street of the city, is a unique structure for character and atmosphere, the expression of a perfect blending between the opulent luxury of an old 19th century house and the more up-to-date area combining every comfort and exclusive design.Hydromassage tubs or showers, LCD TV, internet wi-fi and Sky pay-per-view are the standard for the 52 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Del Bosco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Bosco
Villa Del Bosco Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Del Bosco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.