We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katane Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Katane Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Katane Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Finocchiaro Aprile 110, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Catania
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good bang for buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Not a palace but a solid place to stay in a very sketchy city. Staff and parking were awesome. Also the restaurant is FIRST CLASS. I had the best hotel food I have ever had at this restaurant. The free minibar is smart and nice touch. Breakfast runs out so arrive early.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    183
    69
    17
    10
See reviews for
46
196
31
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed on two occasions at the Katane Palace Hotel. We made our choice based upon Trip Advisor reviews.
The hotel is clean and well appointed. The rooms are of a very generous size and the soft drink mini bar is free.
English is spoken by all key members of staff. The location is about a 10 minute walk from both the central city and the bus terminal.
Our only complaint is on the first occasion, the room given had a bathroom set up for a disabled person. The shower head was one of those hand held jobs. Very difficult to cleans yourself with such and because the shower recess is designed for wheelchair mobility, water gets splashed everywhere! We asked for a room change, but got the impression that our request was unwarranted. However, we were given another more suitable room.
The dining room is absolutely excellent, but remember, this is not budget accommodation. My wife and I both agreed that the quality of the food was unequaled of that we tasted in Sicily, and we did have some good ones!
No problems in recommended Katane Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure that the bathroom suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A quick way to explain this hotel from very first impressions is: Under promise and Over deliver.
We were not too sure regarding the free parking nearby and we were allowed to park just in front of the hotel entrance.
Booked a Room Only and breakfast was complimentary included.
Mini bar was free and refilled daily.
Lovely looking hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Specially one of the male breakfast waiters working on the 10th of April in the morning, who was treated quite rudely by one table of four and he kept cool under pressure all thorough out, a massive well done to him.
Breakfast was brilliant first thing in the morning (If you are waking up early for Mount Etna visit as we did) fresh and big offer. But if later on the morning items become unavailable ect, worth to go as early as possible, big difference.
May need a soft refurb soonish, but is a nice looking boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Although The Katane Palace is not a palace, it is a clean, quiet and comfortable tourist hotel. Although not directly located in the center, all attractions and transport points can be reached by foot. The rooms are very large and comfortable but might need a fresh coat of paint and a general upgrade concerning electronics, ie tv. The breakfast is included and delicious. The fresh orange juice press is wonderful. The extra bonus: minibar drinks are free!! And refilled.
Good choice before or after a Sicily tour

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed 4 sleepless nights at this hotel. I couldn't close my eyes because of the constant and horrible noise of the very old AC system, even with earplugs. We tested 3 different rooms but no change.
We should have left the hotel in the first palace although we appreciated the small courtyard and the staff was quite nice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I'm giving this hotel and extra star for accommodating me even though I showed up a month before the actual booking dates: yes, they did so for the same low price that I booked the room. The hotel is more of a 3.5 star hotel (perhaps 3 star by American standards) but it does have a very good bar (managed by Elias) with plenty - I mean plenty - of snacks to go with any drink you order for EUR 8 or more, and the restaurant also has a good reputation. Rooms are nice: spacious, well equipped, with nice "classic" interiors although I'd like to see a few colors other than the brownish gold that seemed to dominate my room. Nice outdoor terrace and a good location that is only 300m from the main train station. Even better, they were very understanding when I took the room key (the old fashioned kind) with me to Greece (I mailed it back). Hotel exteriors are very, very, very unassuming so you must keep an eye out for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Katane Palace was our choice in Catania, where we decided to spend a couple of days in the beginning of our trip around Sicily.

The good:

- Location was quite good. While it is not in the middle of the action, it is just 10 minutes away from Via Etnea (Giardini Bellini) and less than 10 minutes walking from the bus station. This location meant that the hotel was very quiet. Tip: if you want to get from Catania's airport using puic transportation, take ATM Alibus #457 and get down at Piazza G. Verga (it costs 1 eur per person)

- Our booking included free mini bar consumption, though it was quite basic and restricted to non alcoholic drinks.

- The bathroom looked modern, judging from the overall appearance of the hotel. However, the room's decoration looked -and smelled- old.


The not so good:

- While doing our check-in late in the evening, we found out that a baby cot had not been installed in our room (as per our request). What made it worst was that the person in the front desk said that 'we had to mention this special request in our booking'. 10 seconds later he checked our booking, and he realized that this had been clearly specified. There were no apologies, however, and we were told that 'nothing could be done about it until the following day'.

- The breakfast provided was nothing special. By the second morning, the limited spread was quite noticeable.

- The key provided is huge and it complicates things if you want to keep it when going out. Hotel management should realize that it's time to switch to cards!

In summary: Katane Palace has the potential to be one of the best hotels in Catania. I would consider this hotel if staying again in Catania, but an update in the rooms' decoration and improved attention to customer would be much appreciated. For me this was a 3.5 over 5, but I decided to round down due to the lack of baby-cot upon out arrival, and the attitude of the person at the front desk about this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katane Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katane Palace Hotel

Address: Via Finocchiaro Aprile 110, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#11 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Katane Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Catania the Katane Palace Hotel is an elegant, prestigious building where even details are thought as elements of a complex and harmonious architecture. Comfort as well as leisure opportunities are offered to our guests. In all our quiet, functional and elegantly furnished rooms you find an intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Katane Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katane Palace Catania
Hotel Katane Palace
Katane Palace Hotel Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katane Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.