We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Etna 2x1 Offer
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stratford ON
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice restaurants close by 5 minute walk.
Free Wifi but only works in the lobby.
Staff was very helpful and shuttle service from airport was very good. For four people a taxi to airport costs the same as using the hotels shuttle

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Michael H, we are happy to read you appreciated our helpful staff.
We advise you that our wi-fi works not only in the lobby but also on each of our five floors, in the breakfast room and in all the meeting rooms. In the lobby we also have 4 sockets for wired connections. All connections are for free and unlimited.
We hope to host you again soon.

Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    272
    59
    6
    5
See reviews for
121
198
29
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
donegal ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

on 21st sept 2013 our group of 15 stayed at the best western Catania, we found staff very very helpful, rooms clean , great air conditioning, near aerport. and about 10 minute walk to Bellini's Statue which is very near via etna.Thank you to all at Best Western .Hilary

Room Tip: rooms to the front had balconys, 503 on 5 th floor had views of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear hilarymcmenamin, thanks for your review about our Hotel. We appreciate that you mention the positive points you enjoyed: our staff, cleanness, air-conditioned, central position.
We hope you come back soon to stay with us.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We go to western med twice a year very good excellent service very helpful and they provide you even excursions . Well this time we missed going there cause it was full and we regretted it so looking forward for next time . I suggest this hotel 100%

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thak you Vella32 for writing about us even if you could not stay here because we were fully booked at that time.
Next time you decide to come to Catania, please contact us earlier and we'll definitely make a reservation for you.

Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Truly satisfied with our stay at the hotel, so we will definitely visit again sometime. The rooms are very clean, breakfast is amazing with a vast variety of food and the staff are really helpful. The hotel is situated in a very central area and parking is convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you missylis0384 for your nice review. As you express to visit us agian soon, we wait for your next visit.
Regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I don't and can't understand why this hotel has such great ratings. Upon arriving at the hotel I was told that my room was not ready, mind you I just done with a 17 hour work day and was extremely tired, after expressing my frustration and desire to go to another hotel a room magically appeared. The rooms are very dated. Looks like a hostel or military barracks. It was noisy, street noise, banging and slamming of doors most of the day.
The gym is very out dated but I tried to make do. They keep the patio door open because it is extremely hot in the gym, I guess theres no AC. By the time I left the gym I had about 10 mosquito bites all over my body. I expressed this to the front desk and she didn't even seem concerned. I would advise staying somewhere else if you can..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Melshary we are sorry to read about your disappointment for your stay at our Hotel.
When you arrived at front desk there where two Receptionists. One of the two was taking care of the check-in of the crew you travelled with. As soon as she heard you speaking to the other Receptionist and realizing immediately that you were part of the crew, she immediately gave you the key of one of the room already allotted for you. In fact you didn't have to wait any time. We apologyze anyway for the fact that the other Receptionist didn't realize at once that you were part of the crew we were waiting for.
As for our Fitness Room, we advise you that it is equipped with perfectly working Air Conditioned system. Maybe the guest who had just used it, preferred to have natural air from outside and opened the window. Next time you'll fly to our Hotel with your crew, we invite you to ask for the assistance of our Staff to switch air conditioned on and avoid keeping the window open.
Please, ask also for a room not facing the road but rather an internal one. We usually put all the rooms of the crew as close as possible, therefore as for the slamming of the doors, you might ask your colleagues to do it more gently.
Best regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathfield, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and we were very pleased with the whole experience. My parents stayed in a superior room and the extra space was well worth the extra price.
The only improvement for this place would be to have a hotel restaurant. Otherwise it was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you Vanessa C for your nice review about our Hotel although, as you write, we have no internal restaurant. There are some in the area anyway, including a family run "trattoria" very close to the Hotel.
We hope to host you soon again.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

As a Best Western you know what you are getting. Rooms are spacious, clean, modern as is the whole hotel. Breakfast is "free" as part of the stay and there is lots of it but it is the same each day. We were told that it was American! But it was definitely continental. For a holiday, you can cope with cake for breakfast. The catering is for a local clientele, don't expect the range and standard that you would get in the UK at a Premier Inn. The hotel was a 10 minute walk from Via Etnea, up hill. This can take much longer in the full heat of the day. There are nice restaurants locally on Via Plebiscito, which of of a budget type. Loads of good food very cheap but the nicer eateries are all on the fish market end of Via Etnea. So eating out is a walk each evening. The area that the hotel is in, looks edgy, especially if you turn left out of the hotel. But the locals are all very friendly. Contrary to looks, I think that this is the Posh end of town. We got a lot of information from the reception staff, some was incorrect. We were given an incorrect timetable for the Ferrovium Circumetnea train, it was out of date. We had to wait for 2 hours in a dead end part of town, with nothing to do. Thank God there was a Cafe - it was a scorching day. Also, the train didn't do a full circumnavigation of the volcano, so we had to get off at Adrano and wait another two and a half hours. This is a very quiet!!!!!! Mountain village, we didn't even find a shop. But the trip was great. On another day, we were given a bus timetable to go to Acicastello, this bus never came, we waited another 2 hours. This is not the hotels fault - this is Sicily! Timetables are flexible.
If I went to Catania again, I would choose to stay centrally on Via Etnea. Nothing against the hotel. We enjoyed are time there.

Room Tip: As high as possible, off street level and if you could get a back room it might be quieter ( the hos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you Paul84Lurcher for sharing your travel experience with others. We read that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms. Regarding our breakfast, which you found to be abundant, we are sorry to read that you expected an American breakfast service; anyway we state everywhere that it is a continental buffet (see our web site, under Services -> Breakfast).
As you correctly wrote, in 10 minutes walking from the Hotel you reach the main road, via Etnea, and there you find a great selection of Restaurants you can choose.
We are sorry if the information we provided to you concerning public transportation turned out to be incorrect. We consult the companies' web sites and we hope that timetables they provide are updated, but evidently sometimes they are not. Thanks to your remarks we can correct wrong information.
We hope to see you soon again.

Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#5 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#7 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.