We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see for history buffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943

Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943
Viale Africa, Piazzale Asia | Le Ciminiere, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)
+39 095 401 1929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 129 things to do in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The "Allied Landings in Sicily Museum" (Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943) is housed in one of the buildings forming the "Ciminiere" cultural centre. The museum narrates the events that took place in Sicily from 10 July to 8 September 1943. This period is still recent history, only seventy years have passed and many senior citizens can still recount the experience. Everything that we have forgotten is now conserved in this museum which aims to protect our most precious asset: peace. The museum is arranged on three floors covering an area of 3,000 square metres, including a temporary exhibition area. By means of reconstructed settings the museum has tried to recreate the conditions of life before, during and after the war, using simulations, projections and original exhibits.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Must see for history buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have visited history museums in other European cities and this one is definitely one of the better ones. We only had about two hours to visit this museum. We could have spent half a day.

The museum is well-curated. Some highlights: You can experience being in a bomb shelter while bombing occurs overhead and walk into a bunker. Additionally, there are life-size figures of men who played critical roles in Sicily's history during WW II. There are a collection of uniforms worn by the soldiers from various countries. A relief map with an overhead projector shows the day to day advancement of the Allied Forces.

Should we return to Catania, it would be worth our time to revisit this museum.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SDAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    84
    8
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent museum illustrating Sicily during WWII”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well-located and easily reachable (just a couple of hundred metres from the train station in Catania), the Museo dello Sbarco is definitely worth including in any visit to Catania. The prescribed route through the museum starts off in a reconstructed "piazza" which could be have been located in any small Sicilian town of the 1940s. Passing through a bunker, in which you get to experience what it would have been like during one of the raids, you exit into the "same" piazza after it has been destroyed by the allies bombs. It's a stark impression.
After that, the route takes you through the well laid-out exhibits, clearly labelled and displayed, and detailing some fascinating aspects of the second world war in Sicily. There is some fascinating and poignant black and white footage and plenty of maps and photographs to explain the course of events.
The route through the museum finishes with a haunting reconstruction of a war cemetery and scrolling display of the the "roll of honour".
I visited with two ten year old boys who already had a keen fascination for the topic, were inevitably wrapped up in the 'guns' and who had heard much about the stories of the war from grandparents who lived through it. However, the poignancy of this final room gave them pause for thought and they sat, immovable, for a full ten minutes just reading the list of names of the fallen.
It was an excellent visit and got the thumbs up from all of us. We stayed about an hour and a half - which was perfect for the boys - but I could have stayed at least as long again and still been absorbed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Milazzo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Learning Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really enjoyed the learning experience. Never completely understood the impact of what took place in Sicily. Great learning experience. But as others have said, this museum provided more. What it was like to live in Sicily. What Italians' went through. I was more interested in the order of battle, but the museum was wonderful across all educational levels. Well worth the visit!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DAKonop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Nebraska
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice museum, but a long time standing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A nice museum that covers the history of the Sicily landings well, including a nice model that illustrates the progress of the campaign. You spend a lot of time standing listening to a detailed guide presentation, which is okay but not great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I did not expect the museum to be so detailed and innovative, it can take hours to explore it all and covers all sides of the conflict. A must see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943 also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing