We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High tech hotel in Catania” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Romano House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Romano House to your Saves list
Hotel Romano House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giovanni di Prima nr. 20, 95100 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tasinge, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High tech hotel in Catania”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights in warm Catania in this hotel. The staff was very attentative and friendly - both at the desk, the bar and the restaurant. The first room we got was dark and with no aircon. We were given a new good room at once the next day. The position of the hotel was very central and nice. The quality of the internet can be improved.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    128
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
24
166
16
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for a week, it is a great value for your money, the room is beautiful, the food is good and the staff is the best. Antonella from the reception is super kind and attentive, I had no problem communicating with her in Spanish (fluent). In general, this is a very very good option if you are thinking about spending time in Catania

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel is greatly situated in the heart of Catania. However, when you leave, always go left. Never go right. To the left, you will have access to many Trattorias, Bars, Shops, Cafes - beautiful. To the right, a more shady area with red light ambiance begins and I walked there during daylight only. I would recommend to keep it that way or avoid the area at all. If you simply always leave the Hotel to the left side (left when walking out), you will have a wonderful time. Everything you need (nightlife, restaurants, sights to see) in walking distance.

Other than that, the Hotel Romano House is a great place to stay. Very modern, nice design, clean, spacious rooms, important: great bed, good breakfast, nothing to complain. I stayed there for 4 nights, only one night (Sunday) there was (terrible Euro-House)-Music noise from around 8pm to midnight sharp. But you should be out on the streets of Catania anyway. And wireless Internet was great, also important. Staff very friendly and helpful, room service the way you want it: you don't notice them at all. Overall a recommended place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romanohousehotel, La Direzione at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Epapa100,

thank you for your kind feedback, for having spent some of your time to leave your precious comment on Romano House Hotel.

Customer satisfaction is a primary goal of Romano Collection Hotels.
We are satisfied that you have appreciated our hotel and services, all our Staff is trained to establish a friendly relationship with the Guests.

Wishes to have you again our Guest, I send you my best regards.


Simone Messina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, and were disappointed by most things about the hotel. The hotel tries to give an appearance of a high end designer hotel, but fails by too many cheap details that don't work. The glass door in our room to the miniscule balcony had three large cracks from top to bottom, we were just waiting for the glass to shatter, I'm sure this must be a health code violation, but in Sicily, who cares? The room was incredibly small, with child size fixtures in the 2 sq M bathroom. Breakfast was OK, but packed into too small a space, made moving to your table difficult. The only good points was a brilliant staffer at the reception desk named Marco, he was more than helpful, and the close proximity to Etna Blvd, but not enough to make up for the disappointed stay at Romano house.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romanohousehotel, La Direzione at Hotel Romano House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback!

Our hotel is totally safe for all legal standards.
We offer different kind of rooms: classic, superior, deluxe in a special floor, junior suite and suite; maybe some classic rooms are a little smaller than the other , but always in quality standards. Also , before your check-in, our staff invites you to choose our room upselling promotion. In this way, upon availability, with a small price , you have all included free minibar and a larger room.

Please accept our most sincere apologies having unfortunately not satisfied your expectations, hoping that in future you will give us the opportunity to show you our professionalism and accuracy of our Hotel.

Best Regards

Simone Messina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

The staff of the hotel welcomed us nicely (I was traveling with a colleague for business). The rooms we were given were both very good, up to the four stars they have, very clean, high ceilings, comfortable beds, a bit minimalistic in the furniture (although the rooms facing the street might be noisy because of the night traffic). Bathrooms are a bit small, but you can make it. The location is close to the Catania main street, Via Etnea, few minutes walking.
Hotel common area interiors are well designed. Breakfast is served close to the entrance where there is the hotel main restaurant. Croissants with chocolate or cream were extremely good.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Il Riccio, where the staff was impeccable in recommending us the right choice. The catch of the days was perfect as well as the Mediterranean flavours pasta.

Room Tip: Try to be given a room with the internal courtyard view as they are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

The friendly and very helpful staff sets this hotel apart from the other Catania hotels that I've stayed at. Restaurants and bars are within easy walking distance. The rooms are what I've come to expect when traveling in Italy and throughout Europe. The breakfast was more than plentiful, eggs, meat and cheese, fruits, pastries, and cereals. The hotel bartender, Chiara, was very friendly and took care of our group each evening with plenty of antipasti to tide us over until dinner time.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Romano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romano House

Address: Via Giovanni di Prima nr. 20, 95100 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Family Hotel in Catania
#4 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#6 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romano House 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located in the heart of baroque Catania, is a harmonious cross between historical 17th century architecture and the most contemporary and exclusive design. Precious 17th century art rooms combined with the most sophisticated design. Charming suites and comfortable luxurious rooms, each with an ad hoc atmosphere and typology, catered to your wishes.House Bar and "Il Riccio Restaurant" is part of Romano House Luxury Hotel, a place where tradition meets innovation. A rich Sicilian, and in particular Catanian traditional "cuisine", reinterpreted and modernised with complete respect for territory inspired flavours.To complete the offer, guests can find many modern meeting spaces.WiFi internet access is free in all rooms and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Romano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Romano House Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Romano House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.