We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Restaurant with Good Food + Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Sale Art Cafe'

Il Sale Art Cafe'
Via Santa Filomena no 10, Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)
095-316-888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 650 Restaurants in Catania
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro Catania
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Restaurant with Good Food + Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I visited Il Sale twice during my time in Catania, and both times left very happy. It is on a small, lovely street off of Via Etnea, and since it is not on a street with traffic you get to avoid the cars driving next to you when seated outdoors. The service was good and helpful--they bring you an ipad when you sit, so you have a virtual menu with pictures of all of the food. The pasta (I had "niuru cu niuru" or "black with black") was excellent, and the pizza I had on my second visit was also very good, and large enough to share between two people. I also had the octopus, squid, and baccalà appetizer, which completely blew me away! The seafood was cooked to perfection and marinated really well--it wasn't chewy at all, which is really difficult to achieve.
This place isn't necessarily expensive, but definitely upper-end for Catania. If you're dining on a budget share a pizza and get a nice glass of wine, otherwise try the tender homemade pastas and artistic twists on Catanese classics.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    317
    95
    49
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Serves one of the best pizzas in Catania”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We been there twice but ate only once. First time we had two really tasty pizzas and some nice red vine, which mades us to go there again, but it was great disappointment as pizzeria was so busy, we got a table in some kind of corner inside the pizzeria. At first we felt were exclusive, but after 15 min waiting for the order to be taken we kind of felt forgotten and the waiter never came, so we just left. But because of the good food pizzeria is recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fancy, but Snotty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Outstandingly fancy restaurant, with an imaginative (too much so?) menu. Maitre d who seated us was a surly, snarling character who made no one feel welcome. Waiters clearly wanted to move us along so more spendthrift patrons could be seated. If you are impressed by snottiness, go for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitstable
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“would certainly visit again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice restaurant tucked away in a small side street off Via Etnea
Good service, great food and reasonably priced
More local people than tourists dining when we were there, which we normally view as a good sign

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great pizza and huge portions. Lots of choices and we were all very happy with our selections. Would advise splitting the pizza's and sharing so you don't waste your money.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Sale Art Cafe' also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Il Sale Art Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Sale Art Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.