We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous well located apartment, great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzu Stidda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Catania
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzu Stidda
Save
You added Palazzu Stidda to your Saves list
Vicolo della lanterna 5 | Angolo Via Auteri 40, Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous well located apartment, great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Giovanni and Patrice were exceptionally welcoming, lovely hosts, nothing too much trouble. The apartment was beautifully furnished, with great quirky style and vintage finds. Two balconies offered lovely views and a choice of places to sit for a beer or breakfast. A huge welcome basket of fruit in the fridge, all basics provided, we could easily have stayed more than two days. Would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
45
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Another awesome B&B type experience. Actually, you get your own flat which makes it even more of an authentic experience. The flat is spacious, clean and has two cute balconies. The whole building is owned and maintained by two awesome hosts! They showed us around the entire building, which they have renovated over the years. We were provided places to eat, a map and suggestions on what to see. Everything was within walking distance. We truly felt at home at this wonderful B&B and would absolutely go back. Giovanni and PAtricia welcomed us with open arms and made our stay even more awesome. Centrally located, clean, big, accomodating and all the modern amenities. We actually rented a car and Giovanni helped us with directions and parking. don't think twice, stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York, Usa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Spent two nights with family. We checked in on 12/26, the day after Christmas. Many restaurants were still closed but Patricia prepared potato gnocchi so that we can cook in the room. Giovanni (her husband) was very helpful and willing to make our stay better. Room is simple but tastefully decorated. Strong WiFi and plenty of hot water. If you are looking for expensive furniture and 24 hrs room service, this is not for you. But if you enjoy dealing with wonderful people to feel the real sense of area, just email them to reserve a room. They are very easy to communicate in English and good at returning emails.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We just came back from a 10 day vacation in Catania with our 18 month old twins and we are already missing it. The appartment was super cute and perfect for us:
- great location to walk around, to do food shopping and also to go by bus almost anywhere from Piazza Borsellino
- full equipped kitchen and a washing machine
- 2 cribs and 2 highchairs for the kids
- a chest full of toys!!!
- Giovanni & Patricia are such nice people and helpful hosts

We'll definitely stay there again next time we visit Sicily

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nothing short of amazing. The apartment is incredible and Giovanni is extremely helpful and talented. Together with his wife they renovated all the apartments from the ground on up. Creating comfortable and spacious rooms with a boutique style interior. Their keen eye for detail, craftsmanship and hospitality make Palazzu Stidda a wonderful experience and visiting Catania a treat.

Make sure to walk around the fish market and ask Giovanni for the best eateries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in catania,taormina and syracuse. catania and these apartments were the highlight.hope to return somtime.you need at least 3 or 4 days here. longer if you want to do tours outside catania.lots of local shops and right beside huge market.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We could not find a better place to stay whilst in Catania, unfortunately it was only one night.

What I really liked about the location is, that it is not in the middle of the city and on one of the big streets, but a bit on the side and still easy to find.

The apartment we had was perfect. Every little detail was thought of to perfection. Instead of a noisy air-con there was a special designed fan which made no noise at all.
In the little kitchen we got a basket with bread and fresh fruit when we arrived.

We are 200% sure that when we are in Catania again that there is only one place to stay for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzu Stidda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzu Stidda

Address: Vicolo della lanterna 5 | Angolo Via Auteri 40, Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzu Stidda Catania-Palazzo Stella in the Sicilian language-is an authentic and contemporary Italian Guest House of XIX century located in the Vicolo della Lanterna.Evocation of Sicily's various faces,this Boutique Home-Hotel consists of three different apartments:Amuri Flat n°1,Incanto Flat n°2,Odissea Flat n°3.The accomodations provides to its guests a relaxing and comfortable call,combining charm,beauties and functionality,alongside with the quality and care of a personalized hosting. The cozy flats are born out of the dream of a couple of sicilian and french artists who have recreated the place in them Atelier open to the guest. There is only a five-minutes walk to the Piazza Duomo,the Pescheria's,the Castello Ursino.The main sights are all at a walking distance as well:Via Crociferi,Greek-Roman Amphitheatre, Museo Belliniano,Opera Bellini. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzu Stidda Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzu Stidda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.