We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bianca B&B and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bianca B&B and Apartments to your Saves list
Bianca B&B and Apartments
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Piazza San Placido, 3, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 225 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
alkmaar,holland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We only had one night in this great B&B. It is in historical building and the B&B is on the 3d floor. Wat a nice accomodation. Beautiful designed with all nice details in the rooms. Lea and Francesco are so helpful and they had a good suggestion for a restaurant( Il Mare). Great place to go. The beakfast is sweet and European( so with cheese and ham). Very well prepared. The location is perfect o explore the highlights of Catania. Perect for us, because we had only one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    38
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
142
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koblenz, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Bianca's gives you a great location, a spacious, lovely room, a very good breakfast (changed to suit your taste if you wish), free internet, and all at a very fair price. Also, Lea and Francesco are very friendly, very helpful hosts, ready to provide information about bus and train times for your trips, and reliable recommendations for restaurants (the Royal Ceres in particular). Why stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: We were in Room 1 (see the pics on the website), at the back of the building. Spacious, bright and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a very nice two nights at this b&b. We booked a room with it's own bath and it was very clean and spacious. The owners of b&b were very pleasant with us and our small daughters. It's just 5 minutes from Duomo square or Bellini theather. So if you go to Catania - this place is very nice for staying. Although I can say that the mattress was too soft and the breakfast was a little bit poor (may me it seemed to me after Dusseldorf) but the same was is always in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Because the Bianca B&B had really good reviews on TripAdvisor, is really central and very well-priced for a B&B in Catania, I booked it. A really great choice in accommodation. We were given what I would deem “a suite” rather than a room: it had an entryway, a separate bathroom, a nice living room - complete with table & chairs, a comfortable couch and a small balcony, a very comfortable bedroom, with TV (local channels only?), desk area and two small balconies with shutters that block out most of the light, if not all the noise, at night. For a building that is centuries old, the tasteful yet colourful décor gives it the look and feel of a much more modern apartment; WiFi is free and you can ask to use a DVD player. With regards to setting up the B&B, Lea, the host, has done a great job. She is also a delightful host – very knowledgeable and with excellent English. Her partner, Francesco, is equally friendly and personable, if not as extroverted.

Just after we arrived, Lea gave us a map of Catania and highlighted places of interest and restaurants as well as informing us of the best ways to get around Catania and from Catania to Agrigento (cheap, frequent buses, so we don’t need a hire car at all!) Their Italian breakfasts – fruit, yoghurt, pastries, bread & jams, coffee/tea – were plentiful and really, really nice. The bells from the nearby church got to be a little annoying at times (my husband reckons some drunk, hunchbacked monk had gone to town as they kept going off at what, to us, seemed like very odd times…e.g; 10.22am) There is also a very strange noise from the plumbing that begins about a minute after every time you flush the toilet (well, it is a VERY old building). However, these things did not detract at all from the character or the experience we had at this charming B&B. The WiFi connection was strong and fast when we arrived and in the morning although we couldn’t get a connection at all from Sunday afternoon onwards. (Perhaps the router has Sundays off?) Overall, Bianca B&B deserves 5 stars..it is “bella, bella, bella” and a wonderful base for exploring Catania.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The location is very central, with most of the important locations within walking distance. Easily accessed by public transport, and, if you are brave enough to drive in Catania, parking is possible as well (with small measure of luck).
The hosts, Lea and Francesco, welcomed us really nice. The breakfast was quite rich, more than enough for us to last all the way to the dinner, having some small snack for lunch. As a bonus, we were provided tons of useful advice about the city and its attractions.
The room was really spacey (in fact it was a suite) and comfortable.
Bottom line, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, close to the main duomo in Catania and bus station.
The hosts were very warm and welcoming. Our flight got in late and they waited for us without a problem.

The breakfast was amazing (the hosts woke up just to make everything for us- it was such a treat).
Bianca is the name of their dog :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Bianca B&B in February, our last stop in Sicily before returning to a cold London at the end of a wonderful week. We stayed in fabulous B&Bs in Sicily and so had very high expectations when we arrived in Catania. What a beautiful B&B, it was just fabulous in every way and we will definitely be back to stay again when we return to Catania.

The location: 10 minutes walking from the bus and train stations. A few minutes to the main square where you will find the Duomo and the bustling market is just seconds from there. Catania has strings of narrow streets that are flanked by bars and restaurants and there are plenty within a 5minute walk from Bianca.

The B&B: Superb! The building is just stunning and we absolutely adored the decor inside the B&B, very homely and colourful. Our room was awesome. A large bathroom with a great shower, a small balcony opened out onto the front of the building looking directly at one of Catania's many churches. The bed was comfortable and the room was always warm and cosy. The breakfast was brilliant: LOVED the coffee and the fresh pastries.

The hosts: Lea and Francesco: WONDERFUL! We left feeling like they were friends and we know that one day we will return and revisit them. Lea is amazing. Nothing is ever too much trouble, she is friendly and chatty and always looks after you. She recommended the most incredible restaurants to us and we will never forget the amazing cafe that sells the best Arancini in Catania! We would never have found it without Lea' help. We experienced an awful Etna trip whilst here (booked ourselves, nothing to do with the B&B). When we arrived back Lea was genuinely concerned about us and made us hot tea and came to our room to ensure that we were ok. Just wonderful: like a friend.

It has taken me ages to get around to writing this review, mainly because we just couldn't find the words to express how wonderful Bianca B&B, Lea and Francesco are. Well now I've written it, or at least tried. I would suggest that you book a stay here and go and experience their hospitality for yourself; you will not be disappointed. Thanks so much! See you guys soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bianca B&B and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bianca B&B and Apartments

Address: Piazza San Placido, 3, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bianca B&B and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The b&b Bianca is located in the historical center of Catania, in Piazza San Placido square, next to the dome and very close to all the most important monuments and interests of the city.The apartment is on the 3rd floor (with elevator) of a 700 century building. The view on the etna, and sea, the architecture and history of the building make it special and charming. The rooms are all bright and wide, equipped with every comfort.Bathroom, air condition, internet wi-fi in every room.Lea, Francesco, Bianca e Memole will welcome you at home.They will always be happy to talk about the city, give you informations and help you with organizing tours on the etna or cities around Catania (like taormina, siracusa etc. )They will take care of their guests and prepare a good breakfast every morning, the right start for a good day in Sicily! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bianca B&B and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bianca B&B And Apartments Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bianca B&B and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.