We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden, central spot, friendly owner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Barbero

Save Saved
You added Casa Barbero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Barbero
Via Caronda 209, 95128 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Borgo-Sanzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 186 Catania B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Lovely garden, central spot, friendly owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great B&B with nicely decorated and very clean rooms. Great capuccino in the morning - breakfast in courtyard garden which was delightful! Spacious rooms with aircon and comfy bathrooms. We decided to come back to Catania and stay another night at Casa Barbero because it was so nice! Also extremely good value for money. I would totally recommend staying at Casa Barbero. Antonio, the owner, was extremely helpful and very nice, and if I'd be in Catania again, I would definately stay at his place again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    123
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
175
36
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was a great find after several "misses" with B&Bs in Italy. The owner was extremely helpful! Beautiful rooms with courtyard entrance. The pictures are a true reflection of the facility. The courtyard was peaceful and rooms quiet. I echo a lot of the positive comments shared here by other travelers.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinoMilano, Proprietario at Casa Barbero, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank a lot!
you know my address!!
See you soon,
monica e antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We loved this peaceful, hidden-away gem with its 6 rooms set round a delightful courtyard garden. Our room was was tastefully decorated with a large comfortable bed. The shower room was beautifully appointed. The buffet breakfast was varied and generous. Our host, Antonio was charm personified.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very personal and friendly staff. Rooms and the complete set up is made with passion and you do feel good being there. It has a quiet patio and is a great place to relax after running around in Catania. Absolutely recommendable. The only thing is that the rooms are all having a door towards the patio and you might happen to have other visitors that are somewhat noisy! Otherwise nothing to complain.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a great place for a stop over in Catania. We stayed for one night after arriving late in the evening. We were collected from the airport and shown to our room by David who was very friendly and helpful. Reception isn't manned all the time so we were given a key and pin codes for the outer doors - all very relaxed and informal. Lovely terrace outside for breakfast which was simple but fine for what we wanted. Antonio was very welcoming and arranged a trip to Etna with Enta Sicily Touring which we would highly recommend. Overall this is not luxury but good, clean, comfortable and honest accommodation which we would definitely use again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

At the end of our week-long travels through Sicily, my wife and I spent our final night at Casa Barbero in Catania. From the moment we entered the b&b's lovely, peaceful courtyard, we were sold. Truly a modern oasis in a great location convenient to the best attractions of Catania's historic center. The room was immaculate and very stylishly designed. Antonio, our host, did a wonderful job orienting us to the city and gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant for dinner that was not in any of the guidebooks. Our only regret is that we didn't have time to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I admit that I've nicked another reviewer's comment that it is an oasis, but that's a pretty good description, of how the B&B relates to its surroundings. Catania is pretty rough and ready, and there's a lot of traffic, so we did appreciate somewhere cool and peaceful to get back to. It's conveniently located, about say 7mins by bus to the centre and Antonio and Monica coudn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Barbero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Barbero

Address: Via Caronda 209, 95128 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Borgo-Sanzio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minimal elegance of contemporary approach, will make your stay a unique experience in Catania. Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Catania Sicily.Free WiFi in all BB, rooms and courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Barbero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Barbero Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Barbero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.