We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can” 1 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Antico Teatro

B&B Antico Teatro
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Antico Teatro to your Saves list
B&B Antico Teatro
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 32, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 225 Catania B&B and Inns
Kensington, MD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

As a solo female traveler I did not enjoy my stay here and in fact left early to instead stay at Hostel Rooms Catania less than a kilometer away.

Pros:
Big room and clean, but with a glass opaque door. So as a single woman I would feel uncomfortable with people walking by my door in the hallway.
Close to city center
Shared kitchenette area

Cons:
Owner speaks virtually no English
Long walk from train station
Noisy day and night. Too difficult to sleep even with windows shut tight.
Bathroom is in outer hallway and has an awful sewer smell
Wifi does NOT work
Must pay cash... no internet connection
Poor breakfast

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
2
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

As a basic clean cheap hotel/ hostel room this was fine.

However, the management of it is appalling. We reviewed trip advisor and other sites before choosing it so were prepared in terms of locating the door and that we may need to phone rather than ring.

There are what look like new signs on the main door and street corner which is good but it is not obvious that you have to phone the manager.

We emailed to say we would be arriving at 10. We arrived and rang the bell and then rang the phone number, no answer. Then we rang the phone number again, and again. It became a little worrying. Eventually it was answered, the manager turned up 5 minutes later and apologised for not having heard his phone ring. 20 minutes from when we arrived we got to our room.

During the week we heard numerous people ring the bell, and were embarrassed as we left for our evenings out, to refuse entry to these other guests and try and explain the system as they tried to get hold of the manager. We also heard evidence of double bookings and poor logistics in general, one day there was no breakfast, another it ended an hour early.

His friend/ assistant had very little English apart from! "Cafe, Breakfast, YOU PAY NOW" (shouted) and "card machine broken", the latter seemed very well practiced.


So expect to call, expect to wait, expect to pay in cash and whether you get breakfast in the hotel or a limited version in the cafe opposite or not at all is just a gamble.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. If not ask for a room with a window. The photos do not include images of the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

To say it short - if you want to ensure you stay where you booked and get what you payed for - don't go to this B&B and rather choose something else. Otherwise you risk end up on the street or in the awful accomodation which you never'd like to book on purpose.
Below is the whole story .
I've intended to stay there. I booked it with the prepaid non-refundable option, and didn't beleive other reviews who warned about double bookings there( I thought, everyone could make a mistake once). However, when arrived, I was told that there are no rooms, no matter I have pre-paid reservation, and was send to "another property". It was 1 km away, and was like a worst hostel, worth not more 20$, not 60 that charged.
I don't know if it is a bad luck, or if owner doesn't have enough skills to maintain his property and avoid double bookings, but for me it looks like fraud and the scheme to sell awful accomodation far overpriced.
Choose other accomodation and stay away from this frauds. Do not support their business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I made a reservation online for the Hotel Teatro Antico, and I have the confirmation e-mail, but when I arrived, couldn't find the hotel, and called for help, the receptionist took no time to check for our reservation, just said, "I don't have that reservation. We're full tonight," and did absolutely nothing to help me. He left me and my friend, two girls in their twenties, with no place to stay at night in Catania. I re-checked all my reservation information, and there was no mistake, he just lost our reservation, and did nothing to help us at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We arrived in Sicily after a long train journey. We had some difficulty finding the Bed and Breakfast., due to bad directions from local people, who didn't speak english. When we arrived at the Antico Teatro, We had to wait for a while for Giusseppe (the owner) The B & B is on the 3rd floor and there is no lift, so It' wouldn't be suitable for people with mobility problems or a lot of luggage.

Once inside the B & B it was very clean and comfortable, and fresh towels were provided. It is located just off the main street. very close to lots of bars and restaurants and fabulous piazzas and beautiful buildings.

The owner Giusseppe was lovely, very friendly and helpful. He also speaks a little english.

Breakfast is served is a small cafe, 50 metres away. We had coffee, savoury and sweet croissants and fruit.

When we leaving we decided not to take the bus, which is just down the road, so Giusseppe rang a taxi for us. the journey was 15/25 minutes and cost €25.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Very near to center of Catania (at only 5 minute walking to Dom) Very friendly and cheap. Rooms are nice, modern and very clean (every room has its own bathroom - even if it is outside of tehe room) Owner - Giuseppe, a really one-man-show is always available and in the last day has offered to take us to the airport. The two times we needed to book rooms in other locations (Taormina and Syracuse) and practically hi did everything. Breakfast is included, but is basic (as in all of Italy) and is served at a bar across the road (beware Sunday opens at 8:30) However coffee (espresso) and the croissant (a choice) included are wonderful.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Antico Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Antico Teatro

Address: Via Santa Maria delle Grazie 32, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Antico Teatro 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Antico Teatro is ideally located centrally in one of the most beautiful cities of Italy: Catania.Located in a historic building, now thanks to the valuable work of rebuilding the structure, we can speak about the "Antico Teatro" as an exclusive, stylish accommodation in the city center. We treatedall to ensure that your stay is memorable. Comfortably furnished , modern but with class, the Antico Teatro offers spacious rooms kept with care, and really convenient and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your B&B Antico Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Antico Teatro Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Antico Teatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.