We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eh13 B&B

Save Saved
You added Eh13 B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eh13 B&B
Via Sant'Euplio 13, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Centro Catania)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 186 Catania B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a find! Stylishly decorated rooms, a wonderful breakfast, great views of Etna from the balcony, but most of all, Salvatore, the most friendly host you will ever meet. Find him and go there! Keith & Zoe, London

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
57
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mas de Barberáns, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We've been in a room with a slow bed, I didn't like it but it was fine. The elevator is very small and it broke down twice during our stay, 5 floors. Its location is good. You can hear the noise from the street. He gave us a bottle of wine because of my birthday, a nice detail. The breakfast was good, different sweets and jams. Salvatore helped us very much and he booked for us another B&B for the next day and a tour to the Etna.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The rooms are fully modernised and well equipped, the breakfasts excellent and the host, Salvatore, was brilliant in every respect. Attentive, helpful and knowledgeable and makes a great cup of coffee!
When the weather is kind, the view of Mt Etna from the room's balcony is stunning.
With your own car you do need to find local on street parking or go to a nearby parking station but while we were there we were lucky to get a spot right outside the door of the building.
We would recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I almost don't want to tell you about this one, keep it for myself as a little secret. Its a B&B with really lovely decor and absolutely central to Catania.
The jewel is the owner Salvatore, he is so kind and helpful. He booked us in at a lovely restaurant where we got tasty and not expensive local food. Ask him to go to Mama Rosa's if you are interested. Its on a back road but its very lovely and Mama Rosa hand makes all the pasta. Its said to be the best pasta places in Catania. Then we wanted to visit Etna, so he booked us on a fantastic tour with a man from Milian called Andre, he was so interesting and very well informed. Included in our discounted price was a fantastic meal at Etna base camp. We only stayed at EH13 one night, but it was great. Very clean, very chic, breakfast was fresh pastries, scrambled eggs, bread, jams juice, coffee tea... Very nice. Yes, I'd stay there again, and yes I recommend it to you

Room Tip: Not many twins, so ensure you ask for one if you need it. There is a balcony on one side so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you're looking for something a little different to your average boring hotel room, want a friendly host (Salvatore!), who goes out of his way to make sure you enjoy your stay, and a room with a view to Mount Etna, then stay at Eh13. It also is centrally located and offers a great breakfast to start the day with local pastries too. Salvatore will give you a list of excellent places to eat (all good!) and some of his personal contacts who can give more customised tours. We booked this based on Tripadvisor reviews and it lived up to its high rating, mainly because you got a personalised experience you just don't get at large hotels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Eh13 was the first B&B for us in Sicily when we arrived in Catania. The first thing that showed how welcome we were, was that Salvatore meet us down on the street. The B&B is located on the 4th floor.

Salvatore then showed us how everything worked. Starting with how to operate the elevator, using the door locks, TV and finally how to operate the hairdryer... Must say Salvatore is the most friendly hotel landlord I ever met!

Salvatore organized our tour to Mount Etna, gave tips about which restaurant to visit and arranged a rental car for us.

The breakfast is typical of southern Italy, rather sweetish for Scandinavian palates, but you get enough.

The room was nice and spacious, clean and big enough for us two and the luggage. there's a balcony with view towards the park.

I do not hesitate to recommend Eh13 to anyone going to Catania. The location is excellent with short walking distance to good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina Franca, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Eh13 two nights based on TripAdvisor reviews, and we are so glad we did. It's in a great location just a block off Via Etnea and right around the corner from the bus stop for the airport bus. This is a lovely B&B with a friendly and helpful host whose recommendations were spot on. Salvatore provides a terrific breakfast every morning. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit salad and yogurt, and the marvelous selection of typically Sicilian pastries. The bed was comfortable and the shower is wonderfully cavernous. A most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eh13 B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eh13 B&B

Address: Via Sant'Euplio 13, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Eh13 B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eh13 B&B Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eh13 B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.