We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location poor room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Etnea 316

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Etnea 316 to your Saves list
Hotel Etnea 316
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 316, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Borgo-Sanzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Foshan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location poor room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel after reading the reviews. The location was great, most of the sights are within walking distance and lots of cafes right by doorsteps. The room was very disappointing, it was really dark, the beds felt dirty and old. The worst thing was the bathroom, the toilet seat cover would not stay up so when you sit it'd rest on your back! Yikes! We only stayed for 1 night.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    86
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
126
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Calabria, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We chose this hotel after reading other reviews and went there with high expectations, which were sadly not met. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Catania but that is about all. The service, although reasonably efficient, was not particularly welcoming or friendly. The room was in need of a clean (the floor was very dirty), there were gaps between the windows and the floor allowing dust and noise into the room, and, despite the large windows, it was quite dingy. Finally, breakfast was really not up to par: no variety of pastries, a poor selection of watery fruit juices, and coffee (an espresso) that would have been sent back at any of the nearby cafés.
We only stayed one night so perhaps we just caught this hotel on a bad day, however, we certainly wouldn't return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco p, Direttore at Hotel Etnea 316, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Oliver, I was expecting a nice comment from you, you've been very kind friendly throughout the day.
Upon receipt we helped you with the check-in.
We have helped with our luggage up the stairs, we gave you the best advice for visiting the city for lunch and dinner.
We were very cordial and present, you have been very cheerful and friendly, I did not think you had been bad !!!!!
Our rooms are cleaned and disinfected daily.
The hotel is built in a very old building of Catania (about 250 years), windows, doors, floors and ceilings of the rooms are d'epoca
The location, the service and staff are wonderful!!
The breakfast is very appreciated by our guests, is an Italian breakfast on request satisfied the most demanding customers.
Next time if you are not satisfied with the room and service, application receipt, we are here for the full satisfaction of our customers. We work for you !!!!
Just the other day we had free rooms and you could choose yourself where to stay.
Thank you for your preference and your friendship, you have been very expensive.
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our first time in Sicily was May 2014. We are a couple in our early 60's. It was our first time time in Hotel Etnea. We stayed three nights Hotel Etnea has clean rooms and is centrally located, with a beautiful park very close by. Our room was at the side of the hotel and was quiet.Marco and Gaetano were very helpful, they spoke English and had loads of information about what to see and do if we needed it. Marco offered us a guided trip to Mt Etna with his own tour company-it was really good because Marco is very familiar with the local area. I would highly recommend booking other trips with Marco. Trattoria 'Da Peppino' Via Empodocia, is a lovely place to eat authentic food and is within walking distance.Marco booked a taxi for us and we got a train to Letojanni-another little gem of a place. Sicily is fabulous. Tim & Eve

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for just one night and it was certainly good value and a nice location. When you first arrive, it doesn't feel too welcoming, an intercom then through huge grey doors into a courtyard. Next, up two flights of stairs (no lift) but then you go inside and it's bright and quirky. All good after that, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, decent breakfast for the price. We only had a few hours to explore Palermo but the hotel was in walking distance of the major sites so that was good. On checkout my bag was carried down for me which was much appreciated. We had planned to get the bus to the airport and this was one of the reasons why we chose this hotel because the bus stops quite close by. However, it was a Sunday and we hadn't checked the bus times in advance so after waiting 20 minutes, we decided we'd better get a taxi. Back to the hotel intercom, a short conversation with the staff, 2 minutes later a taxi pulled up. Fantastic service and only 23 euros which we felt was pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you are a first time visitor to Sicily and speak little or no English, this is the perfect hotel.
Marco, the owner, made our trip a great success by taking us wherever we wanted to go and telling us the history of the many ancient sites along the way. From giant Greek theatres to volcanos to ocean side restaurants, his guidance and advice were invaluable.
Thank you, Marco!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Catania and had a great experience there. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is gracious, helpful and accomodating. They all spoke good English. The hotel is centrally located and is within walking distance to the major sites in Catania. Marco was a fabulous host., funny, intelligent and informative.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

So far, in Catania have I stayed at around six different hotels. I find Hotel Etnea 316 to be best of all of them in the class of medium-price hotels. Among many other reasons, that was due to the kindly and helpful personnel. Moreover, it was the first hotel in which it was really easy to communicate in English with each personnel member. I liked also the fact that the Wi-Fi signal usually reached my room even though it was supposed to work in the lobby only. I stayed in a room from the backyard which is why I was able to sleep very well.

Room Tip: Rooms from the backyard are quiet. You may ask for them if you stay for more than a few days. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Etnea 316? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etnea 316

Address: Via Etnea 316, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Borgo-Sanzio , Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#5 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#6 Family Hotel in Catania
#9 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Etnea 316 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Catania, not only as a visitor, this is the philosophy of Hotel Etnea 316. A prestigious location, downtown Catania, offers the possibility to exploit the real Sicilian tradition. Thanks to the staff's helpfulness, the guest will live in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romanticism , history and functionality are indispensable details, that produce an extraordinary harmonious result. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Etnea 316 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Etnea 316 Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Etnea 316, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.