We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service with a Smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Etnea 316

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Etnea 316 to your Saves list
Hotel Etnea 316
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Etnea 316, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Borgo-Sanzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Catania
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb Service with a Smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Marco and his team made our trip to Catania very special. At the Hotel, which is very clean and neat, all requests were met with a smile and a super efficient service. Marco also runs excursions as a fully qualified tour guide which we took advantage of and we thoroughly enjoyed for the passion, knowledge and enthusiasm Marco had for each place (Mount Etna, Toamina, Syracusa, Piazza Armerina, Villa Roman de Casale).
The hotel is one of the few grand old houses that survived the Allied bombs of 1943.
Catania had plenty of places to explore for history and archaeology as well as architecture and art.

Room Tip: If you want a grand room overlooking the Via Etnea (rooms 1,2,3) then you obviously get the busy roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    79
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
108
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

As far as I´m used on some standard where value match services in middle and western Europe, I cannot recommend this "hotel" showing itself as 3*** in real match 1*. Location is quite nice in the middle of the main street Via Etnea, 10 minutes by walk to anywhere. Rooms are placed in the 2nd floor of old building with many stairs without any lift - and mention about this you don´t find. I stay in the hotel for a week during November 2013, even I had a room no. 6 faced into the small street, it was so very noisy, that every 20 minutes someone wake me up even windows was closed every day of my stay :-( Room was dark and not cleaned well. Twice I found in new towels and bed clothes alien hairs, which is stinking. Bathroom was very small and on the shower bath was very visible that it´s cleaned only so-so, not properly for the very long time, ventilator was very noisy. Wi-Fi free which is quaranteed in all parts of hotel, never work in the room, only in the reception hall. Even I told it owner, he don´t mind and only was wondering why I´m sitting in the hall with laptop and meanwhile during he has quests inside the hotel he painted walls in reception. Breakfast only sweet as is typical Sicilian. I think the biggest advantage of this "hotel" are staff - Gaetano and Shahim? - who are very helpful, smile and trying provide a good service to quests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco p, Direttore at Hotel Etnea 316, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello Radka, thanks for your comment.
You have booked an hotel in the center , it's normal to hear some noise.
Our rooms are clean and disinfected every day, our linen agency is one of better, it' strange to find hair ( i will present ) .
The vacuum-cleaner is not a fun, work very well.
Wifi zone is around the hall, but the signal is very high and comes in many rooms.
Thanks for our staff compliments, but dear Radka it was better to spoke with us at the reception, ( 24 h service ) for your best accomodation.
If you told us this small problem we could help you and improve.
Thanks for your preference................HAPPY NEW YEAR......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We can recommend this place, staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was large, and the location was excellent, both for the airport bus and strolls around the centre of Catania. We had a room facing the Etnae avenue, so it was a bit noisy, but no problem with closed window, and we could observe the life in the street below. The only downside was the sweet breakfast, which is something of a norm in Sicily, it would seem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you're sensitive to street noise, request a room in the rear. Marco, Gaetano and Shalim will do all they can to make your stay as perfect as they can. They are truly dedicated professionals, eager to help, knowledgeable about many subjects and super pleasant, to boot. All of Catania's main sights are easily within walking distance. We parked on the street, not too far from the hotel and the rates were very reasonable. Marco's recommendation to dine at Tratoria da Peppino was spot on and we dined there two nights in a row.

Room Tip: See review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had an OK experience with this hotel. Location is good. Rooms are pretty big, but one of the rooms that we were given was right in the breakfast area. This was very odd. We could not sleep from 6 AM since they were preparing for breakfast. So make sure you are not given that room. In addition, we were promised a parking spot, but when we arrived, we were informed that they gave to someone else and they could give it to us only the next day. Their parking is very small area inside and it is really a hassle to get in if you have little bigger car. We paid for the rooms with the credit cards but were told that city tax and parking charge should be in cash only and no receipt was offered for this payment. In addition, they tried to charges double for parking because we occupied two rooms even though we had only one car. When we questioned this, they agreed for only one charge. There is not much help that you can expect in regard your sightseeing since both clerks that we met did not speak English very well. But taking all this in consideration, I would say it is still good value for money, however if you can pay little more, try something else.

Room Tip: ask for the room that is not in the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We really loved our stay at Hotel Etnea 316, fabulous location in a beautiful building with lovely friendly staff to welcome you each morning and evening. When coming to Catania to explore the very Lovely city of Catania and its surroundings I can highly reccomend this great hotel. Thank you to all the staff for such a great stay :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Really good hotel; well positioned; friendly and helpful staff; very comfortable and clean. Got the holiday off to a fantastic start. Extraordinary open air food market just round the corner. Good base for excursions, which the hotel can arrange.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Etnea 316? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etnea 316

Address: Via Etnea 316, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Borgo-Sanzio , Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#5 Business Hotel in Catania
#5 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#6 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Etnea 316 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Catania, not only as a visitor, this is the philosophy of Hotel Etnea 316. A prestigious location, downtown Catania, offers the possibility to exploit the real Sicilian tradition. Thanks to the staff's helpfulness, the guest will live in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Romanticism , history and functionality are indispensable details, that produce an extraordinary harmonious result. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Etnea 316 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Etnea 316 Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Etnea 316, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.